Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mirkwood Elf Army
This is the 8th LOTR/Hobbit set that I (Aged 39) and my daughter (Aged 7) have purchased. Once again bought in the sale as licensed Lego ranges tend to be a bit pricey. At 276 pieces it is one of the smaller mid-range sets but the number of mini-figures (6) would usually be found in a 60+ set so good value here.
My daughter loves the minifigures most of all so I'll...
Published 6 months ago by Bish-10

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only the minifigs and warg is good..the structure/wall is mediocre
I was eagerly waiting for the “Hobbit : Desolation of Smaug” sets and was excited when I took this from a local toy store day before yesterday. But now that I have finished assembling it, I’m not fully satisfied.
This set contains six minifigures, one Warg and a small structure/wall.
The minifigs in this set are four elves and two orcs. The...
Published 7 months ago by Attidude


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mirkwood Elf Army, 17 Feb 2014
By 
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey 79012: Mirkwood Elf Army (Toy)
This is the 8th LOTR/Hobbit set that I (Aged 39) and my daughter (Aged 7) have purchased. Once again bought in the sale as licensed Lego ranges tend to be a bit pricey. At 276 pieces it is one of the smaller mid-range sets but the number of mini-figures (6) would usually be found in a 60+ set so good value here.
My daughter loves the minifigures most of all so I'll start with them. As the set name suggests you get the basis for your elf army here, you get the king Thranduil, 2 Elven archers and an Elven swordsman. Thranduil is a good figure with good detail and a good hairpiece, as is the swordsman. The swordsman has an elven sword but Thranduil has the standard longsword. The archers are identical in every way with hoods instead of hair but that doesnt really detract from the detail and quality. They have elven longbows.
The 2 Orcs have the same head, body and legs but one has some body armour. The orc weapons are a crude scimitar and a spear but best of all the orcs have a Warg (a large wolf type animal with a saddle). There is great detail on the warg and an opening mouth. The orcs also have a ladder to scale the wall with.
The main part of the set is the tree and the wall.
The tree is not huge (about 15cm high) but the top does rotate and there is a catapult at the top to launch your attacking elves. The top of the tree splits in 2 to enable the elves to fly through the gap.
The wall is, in all honesty, a bit low. It could have been a couple of bricks higher (and I may modify this myself). As it is, it is barely higher than a minifigure. The wall is fairly standard and not particurlarly of "elven" design but these are wood elves rather than their Rivendell cousins so it is probably to be expected. There is a "flicka" missile launcher and a couple of attractive elven shields on the wall. A small weapon rack completes the set.
Best bits, for us, are Thranduil, the elf launcher and the warg.
No bad bits but the wall could have been higher.
Overall a good set once again, especially for the elf friends amongst us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good buy, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey 79012: Mirkwood Elf Army (Toy)
My older son loves the hobbit and is thrilled with this set. Lots of fun building and playing with so a good value buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic lego set, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey 79012: Mirkwood Elf Army (Toy)
My boy loves the set. He has read the Hobbit, and the Lego sets are really excellent! He is 11!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Little set for my Son, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey 79012: Mirkwood Elf Army (Toy)
Bought this for my 9 year old son.

Good little set, my son loves it.

Got it 7 quid cheaper on here than a certain catalogue based store
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good collection of figures but..., 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey 79012: Mirkwood Elf Army (Toy)
It would have been better if there had been more wall pieces so that it was longer and taller. I have other models in the Hobbit/Lord of the Rings, range which are bigger (when you consider the scale of them) and cheaper in price. You can expand it if you buy multiple sets, which would be OK (as it isn't that expensive) but that would mean I would have multiple Thranduils. I wouldn't mind have more of the other figures, though as they are pretty generic and would build up an army. I espeaically like the Warg. I might buy some generic lego blocks and see if I can redesign the wall to make it more impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Adaquate set, great minifigures, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey 79012: Mirkwood Elf Army (Toy)
PROS:
Fantastic Minifigures (Thranduil, elves and Gundabad orcs)
decent mantelpiece display

CONS:
Not much playability
Duplicate minifigures
not a great build to make frankly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value for money, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey 79012: Mirkwood Elf Army (Toy)
My son bought this with his birthday money. He is twelve and spends hours building and playing with lego especially Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey 79012: Mirkwood Elf Army (Toy)
Of course, the boys loved it. Perfect for Christmas present. Easy to put together with instructions. Great buy for kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey 79012: Mirkwood Elf Army (Toy)
My grandson liked the bit that fired an elf best, and he also liked the wolf included in the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome set with all the features have bought Lego sets ..., 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey 79012: Mirkwood Elf Army (Toy)
Awesome set with all the features have bought Lego sets before which was rubbish but this is worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews