Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb for changing little ones onto "proper" lego, 21 Jun 2014
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Juniors 10672: Batman Defend the Batcave (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a nice 150 piece build aimed at the 4 to 7 year old child(ren) range.

There are 3 mini figures:

- Batman - 2 faced (lob-sided grin and stern/angry) - blue bat cape - very nice torso printing which includes a rather wide six pack, yellow and black batman symbol (in case he forgets who he is) and yellow utility belt - some printing on the reverse to continue "muscle" tone and utility belt -facial printing is covered by the famous eared mask - this is the same mini figure that you get in the "Super Heroes" sets except that the blue is lighter and much more vivid.

- Robin -2 faced (smiling and screaming with fear) - green tights, bright red torso, green eye mask and short yellow cape - there is some good printing on the torso (yellow utility belt, "buttons" and a yellow "R" in a black circle - I guess he has alter ego memory problems too) - body printing is the same as the more recent "Super Heroes" version - the yellow cape is a short version rather than the usual long ones which I have and it has a straight edge along the bottom not the scalloped edge which was in the more recent SH sets.

- Joker - 2 faced (evil grin and lob-sided evil smile) - nice green hair piece - printing on front of torso is superb (reverse is a little bit of a let-down in comparison) - character also appears in other Super Heroes sets.

All 3 minifigures take their imagery from the old Batman TV series rather than the films.

.
The build consists of 3 numbered bags and 4 separate larger plates and one instruction book.

The Batmobile - very nice little vehicle (though more of a Batjeep than a Batmobile) and rather than the building being complex it is a "one piece" base that you just add a couple of pieces to. I've build vehicles for City, Friends and Monster Fighters sets and this was the easiest to do. You need to put the wheels together and then attach to the base of the vehicle - then it is literally a case of adding some flames at the exhausts and a few more bricks to make the vehicle take shape and you're done.

If there is one problem then it is with the Batmobile. When you try to sit Fatman in the car you have to force his cape up and over the boot of the car. Though this makes it look like the cape is fluttering is the slipstream of the car it does cause damage to the cape and it will eventually become irreparable. Of course you can take his cape off but then he just becomes a strange man in skin tight grey tights, shirt and a blue mask.

The Bat Cave - this is a quite simple build - the best part is that there is no need to add stickers - all the detail is printed on. The back wall is one piece as is the floor - it is then a case of adding to that base and wall. This is the same principle with the side extension builds.

It comes with a satellite dish (though I think it might be a speaker to warn Flatman and Ribbon of an emergency). A clear rotatable yellow brick at the top of the back wall represents the Bat-warning light. There is a little red telephone handset for taking calls from Catwoman, or anyone else for that matter.

There are a couple of weapons - a staff (usually used by Robin) and a Bat-grappling-hook.

At the front of the build is a gate for the Batmobile to exit through over a flat piece with a large bat logo.

There is a prison cell, on the left of the build, which is attached to the Bat Cave. It comes with a computer and chair (in Robin's green and red) above.

On the right of the build is a big screen computer (with a black chair) which shows a street map and the locations of the bad guys.

There is a separate armoury section or rather a piece of cave wall with a bat weapon (batarange).

There is a red and lime green catapult with "canister" ammunition and a large green and black hammer.

The set comes with a couple of bats one by the gate on the Bat Cave section and the other on the armoury section.

There is also a bundle of red "dynamite" in case of the need for a prison break and a walkie talkie to call for help.

The building has been simplified by the inclusion of one piece walls rather than the usual build from the ground up walls. These also give a sensation of strength that some other wall builds don't have. It comes with quite a lot of little extras to play with.

The build took approximately 40 minutes to complete - so not one of the longest but will still require some concentration.

This is a quite superb looking build and fits in with the Super Heroes series of builds too. What really impresses me is that the pieces will work with other "adult" lego piece unlike duplo bricks. In my opinion this is a great way to move children onto "adult" Lego builds when they are ready.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Big Lego for littler people, 30 Jun 2014
By 
Michael Ward (Oxford, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: LEGO Juniors 10672: Batman Defend the Batcave (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What a good idea, a proper (ie not DUPLO style) Lego set suitable for little brothers. My two grandsons are 7 and 4, and love Lego, but the instructions and construction of the bigger sets is just a tad too difficult for the little fingers on minimus, so this is perfect and he loves it. It puts the nose out of joint for his big brother who usually stands over him waiting to be asked for help, but then he can get on and play with his own. Good clear and simple instructions, and great constructions at the end. Well done Lego, another brainwave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To the Batcave!, 20 Oct 2014
By 
D. Thurgood "dan.tee" (Liverpool Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LEGO Juniors 10672: Batman Defend the Batcave (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Confessions first. I think Lego is probably the best toy in the world. I'm 42. Ok, now that's out of the way, let's talk about Batman: Defend the Batcave. This set is part of Lego's new Juniors range, apparently aimed at 4-7 year olds. The instructions are simple and very easy to follow, with cutesy illustrations to guide the young builder in the right direction. There's considerable amounts of the model that come 'pre-built', that is to say, they're made out of 1 very specialised bit of Lego, unlike in a normal kit where you'd have to build them. The walls of the batcave, for example, are one solid sheet of detailed plastic, so there's not a lot else it can be but the wall of the Batcave. This seems to be a little against the ethos of Lego, but hey, my five year old LOVED building it with me on his birthday on Sunday. Some of the pieces are small and fiddly, so I helped there, but on the whole, he built it himself and really enjoys playing with it. It comes with Batman, Robin and Joker mini-figures which is cool and a VERY easy to build Batmobile as well as a Joker bomb catapult. All in all, excellent value. Just not 100% certain that a 4 year old could build it without considerable adult or older sibling help. But hey, is that such a bad thing?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still holds their attention, 8 Aug 2014
By 
Ross Boardman "Ross B" (Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: LEGO Juniors 10672: Batman Defend the Batcave (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Perfect introduction to Lego. My youngest is 5 and the middle one 7. Both have been playing with Lego for a while, but at different levels. The older one can put together some of the Star Wars sets and the younger one has moved from Duplo to some more basic kits.

The Juniors is perfect for both of them. Large walls are already made up which takes away a lot of time for them. There is still more than enough to do to keep it as Lego rather than a pre-made toy. Overall, the best thing is that they can build it together and then enjoy playing with it. All of this is compatible with their other Lego so they can mix and match which kind of gets a bit like the new movie :)

This is still something that both of them will play with, so that is a huge difference for any parent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal set for a young bat fan., 26 Jun 2014
By 
J. Clinch (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: LEGO Juniors 10672: Batman Defend the Batcave (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Quick confession, I'm a AFOL, which means I'm a adult who still plays with Lego. Seeing as I'm clearly not the intended target for this set I decided to hand it over to my six year old superhero loving son to see what he thought of it.These are our observations.

Good minifigs - You get Batman, Robin and the Joker which would really be the three people you would want in a Batman set. They are all in the classic style, with Batman in grey and blue (think Adam West). Seeing as the modern films have 12 ratings, this is likely to be the style your average 4 to 7 year old is familiar with. (edit - unless ironically they've seen the Lego Movie)

No stickers - any designs you see on the parts are printed including a useful display screen on a window the walls of the Batcave and a big Batman logo on the ramp. This is great because although everybody hates stickers they are particularly cumbersome for this age group.

The build - The build is nice and simple, large parts such as the walls and the chassis of the Batmobile have been chosen to make this quick and simple and the instructions are pretty much one piece at a time with no sneaky slip ins that only get discovered 4 hours later when you have no hair left. I was only asked to help him get the dynamite into Joker's hand and sort the fiddly capes out. He did a couple of other minor things wrong, such as the fins of the Batmobile not quite in the right place, but the build is designed to be forgiving of such minor things, even if OCD parents are left quivering.

The order of the build is well planned. It's split into 3 numbered bags. The first bag is Batman, Joker, the Batmobile and a catapult for the Joker. It took my son 5-10 minutes to build (which is the limit of his attention span) and then he had a game going. After 10 minutes of play he was back to bag 2 to get his Batcave started. Then another 10 minutes trying that out. Then he was back to finish off with bag 3, which is the gaol, the rest of the Batcave and Robin.

Playability - He then quite happily played with this set for another few hours and got it out again the next day. there were lots of little features he found as he played and liked. He has kept the set together and still plays with it.

Overall a great buy for that 4-7 year old bat fan in your life. The only downside for me was that he didn't need my help and he didn't get bored with it halfway though and leave any for me :(
- although I was allowed to be the Joker for a bit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent choice for a lego lover, 4 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Juniors 10672: Batman Defend the Batcave (Toy)
Batman defend the Batcave was bought as a birthday present for our little grandson, he was so excited, and had no difficulty building the batcave. an excellent choice for a lego lover!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great gift for little hands, 3 Nov 2014
By 
Mrs. Nicola Le Page "Nicki" (Guernsey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: LEGO Juniors 10672: Batman Defend the Batcave (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
My two boys are in love with Lego but the younger one (who is 3) is at that inbetween age when Duplo is too easy and the regular big boy Lego a bit to fiddly. This set is a perfect 'bridge' for him whereby he thinks that he has the grown up stuff but can handle the size of the pieces easily. The fact that it is Batman is a massive plus.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My son absolutely loved getting this for his birthday, 28 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Juniors 10672: Batman Defend the Batcave (Toy)
My son absolutely loved getting this for his birthday. Really simple to put together as per usual with Lego but just without the need to apply the stickers (all of the pieces come pre-prepared with decoration on them). Would recommend this product to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars big saving, 1 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Juniors 10672: Batman Defend the Batcave (Toy)
Very pleased with this purchase, arrived quickly n altho I haven't yet opened the set (its an Xmas gift) it look perfect just the exact same as the one in the Lego store only minus the £30 price tag :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as regular Lego., 16 Aug 2014
By 
Road Apple "who brings the mustard?" (Mean Gene's Bar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: LEGO Juniors 10672: Batman Defend the Batcave (Toy)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Just as good as regular Lego, yes indeedy. My son (6 years old) absolutely loves it, I kinda do too.
You get great Batman Lego and it's just that little bit easier to put together than more commonly seen sets, that typically have more pieces and therefore slightly harder to build. I'm sure he will play with this for years and it's perfectly fine to mix and match with other Legos, no different sizes or anything, just the same old, but great, Lego. Really chuffed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews