Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars614
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle EditionChange
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 December 2013
Read it in 3 days on Holiday !
Funny and a great read and sad about Bobby Moore what a waste of experience.
Great insight in to Football.
Get it you will love it
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2014
Any football fan will love this book. This isn't Harry Redknapp's autobiography, it's 'Arry Redknapp's. An honest, funny, down to earth football book. Class.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
Great read from your every day average guy on his journey from the back yard to Wembley to the champions league. Outstanding
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
it was a christmas present to my son in law he thought it very good so passing it on to me to read thank you
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
(WARNING: The review of this book may or more likely will contain spoilers!)

I have a lot of respect for Harry Redknapp. His ability to wheel and deal in the transfer market, and get the best out of individual players as well as clubs on the whole (well a lot of times anyway) have made him one of the most popular managers ever to have a presence in the English game. But even with that, I find it difficult to see how he's gonna be able to manage the financial mess at his current club, Queens Park Rangers, what with the ridiculous player wages prior to their relegation from the Premiership last summer, and with a reported £60 million fine for breaching Financial Fair Play rules.

Still, while the bank managers ponder over such thoughts, let's take a look at Harry's autobiography "Always Managing." Why? Because it is an entertaining read from page 1 to page 411; a series of exciting -and at times amusing- football adventures seen through the eyes of Redknapp. He comes across as being a very knowledgeable man when it comes to football, not surprising given that his involvement with the game stretches well over fifty years, and his ideas on how English players should be developed and how the English game in general should be run is an enthusiastic motivational speech that anybody with St.George's blood running through their veins will be uplifted by.

Harry Redknapp speaks with passion, never being afraid to say what's on his mind whether that be in the form of a compliment or a piece of harsh criticism. He his perhaps at his most passionate in the chapter in which he talks about England's 1966 World Cup winning captain, Bobby Moore, saying how Bobby was badly treated by both West Ham Football Club and the FA after his playing career drew to a close, that he was not given some form of ambassador role with either place. Me? I wasn't around at the time, so I couldn't possibly comment one way or the other. Nonetheless his choice of words and phrases in this chapter are very strong. You can clearly tell that this is a subject that means a lot to him, and makes it a standout chapter of this book.

The footie action comes thick and fast: Harry's court case a couple of years ago for financial irregularities; his early life in Poplar, London; and his playing days with West Ham and Bournemouth. His accounts of football and football players on and off the field in the 1960's are especially interesting given how very different they were to today's world. The action continues with his managerial career with the previously mentioned clubs; his mixture of good and bad foreign signings at West Ham; and his amazing adventures on the south coast with Portsmouth. There's even a few smile-raising segments in this book, including how one foreign player refused to play for West Ham because he wasn't happy with the squad number he was given!..I mean just a few years ago we had Charles N'Zogbia demanding that Newcastle United put him on the transfer list because the manager had mispronounced his name in an interview!...Now I've heard of everything!

"Always Managing" is a book that's so good you'll fancy reading it through a second time, and possibly even a third. Get your hands on a copy as soon as you can if you haven't already done so.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
This book chronicled the ups and downs of HR's life from the East End of
London to the comfort and security of his family at his beach side house
in Bournemouth. I found the narrative endearing in its honesty, to 'tell
it like it is' and to highlight one man's extraordinary love of football.

Harry is depicted as a simple man with limited interests, yet in hindsight,
he is extremely successful. He has a close knit family, a passion for his
vocation that extends way beyond the money. I can see why Harry is so popular
amongst so many associated to football. He is gregarious, loves an argument
and banter about football and yet upholds the need to respect and assist his
fellow man.

His anecdotes are endless and it is clear that he would have many more to tell
and people to talk about if space allowed, after many years in football.
He may not be the Football Associations old boys club favourite, but his
willingness to be frank and fair is rare today. He never claims to be wise and
street smart outside of football and comes across as down to earth and humble.

He admits to be being gullible. He was conned for years by a 'jockey'. He is
irresponsible with his medication, dependent on his wife, sentimental towards
his family and unpleasantly moody after football matches. He is also human for
a private temper tantrum, destroying plates of sandwiches (once) when his team
let themselves down.

There are times in the book when the reader could be forgiven for thinking that Harry
is using the book to put his side of the story as an antidote for criticism, back
stabbing, prejudice, media myths or plain nastiness against him. That said, I never
felt he was trying to settle scores or disrespect anyone. He prefers to move on from
unpleasantness and prefers not to burn bridges. The book mostly takes a light hearted
and humorous perspective.

Clearly, Harry wasn't in football for the money, his wage negotiations and club moves
show this. He loves football, but foremost, he loves winning. Even to the detriment of
his health. I found Harry's depiction of the great Bobby Moore was moving. He seemed
to idolise the man and was hugely angry at the injustice of the way he was treated by
West Ham. So too, his unhappiness that Tony Adams did not get a chance to assist Arsenal
after his playing days were over.

I would say that anyone that got caught in a lift or on a plane, seated next to Harry
would be treated with honest opinions and endless anecdotes. A man, humble in nature,
who made good and never forgot his roots. A man of the people. I liked this book and
recommend it to more than just football fans.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 June 2014
I enjoyed the book and read it quickly. I am a Spurs fan - and hold no particular brief for Redknapp whose mercenary instincts are clear despite all the 'cheeky chappie' bunk put in here - but I found the insights into the real world of football dealings interesting.

You would have to have a heart of granite to not sympathise for a man who lost a close friend in a horror accident during Italia 90 and whose career peaked at West Ham and was curtailed by injury issues. He is brutally honest about his limitations as a player - citing the (immortal) Bill Nicholson, who branded him as a winger who never scored. However, even though he professes brutal honesty, the description of his trial and his 'courting' of the England job do not ring true at all. Is Harry Rednapp an utter moron? I don't think so, but when it came to the 'secret account' that was pretty much his defence. The guy was acquitted, but read this and the simple question you find in your head is 'why' Read it - make your own judgement.

This is not an utterly ghost-written-out-of-existence sport autobiography and the real 'Arry - leaning out of the car window and chatting to Sky Sports News - can be heard so I would urge fans to buy this rather than - say - Rooney's lame output, but at the end, I liked him less
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
Would recommend this book to any football fan, regardless of what team they support. Harry has had a great career and hopefully will continue to have success.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2014
Felt after i'd read this book that i hadn't had all the story.......warts n all although the chapter concerning West Hams treatment of the legend Bobby Moore was a great read but to be honest i found the book lacklustre in parts although very readable in parts it was never a book i didn't want to put down like some books i've read in the past, i'm a huge admirer of Harry Redknapp but his book never hit the literary spot!!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
I read twenty to thirty books a year and must admit I loved this one ....having watched Harry play as a lad of seven on the terraces at West Ham , now live in Bournemouth and have chatted with him on several occasions , I may have a bit of a bias but I can't believe any football fan wouldn't thoroughly enjoy this book !

His memories of growing up and joining West Ham , the very moving words about the great Bobby Moore are extremely moving , right the way through to the infamous Court Case , where Harry speaks with such honesty and openness about the stress and fear of the whole event. You have to admire the man himself , his love of Family and for those trusted friends both in and away from the game.

There are a few surprises within the pages , but gossip and tit for tat arguments are not part of Harry's vocabulary , instead of judging , he gives a strong opinion about today's game and the love and passion he still feels for a career that has not always treated him kindly.

If you like football, whoever you support , read this book , you'll feel a much greater affinity with the great game if you do !
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.