Customer Reviews


355 Reviews
5 star:
 (227)
4 star:
 (88)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arry at his best
Great book and when reading you can imagine every word coming right from Arry's mouth.

Not to be missed and a real insight into his life and the changing world of football management.
Published 7 months ago by David Miles

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 'we was robbed'
Felt after i'd read this book that i hadn't had all the story.......warts n all although the chapter concerning West Hams treatment of the legend Bobby Moore was a great read but to be honest i found the book lacklustre in parts although very readable in parts it was never a book i didn't want to put down like some books i've read in the past, i'm a huge admirer of Harry...
Published 15 days ago by foogster


‹ Previous | 1 2 336 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 18 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Always Managing: My Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
First class insight into a football great and his way of managing top players also how the man deals with managing two rival clubs and the pressure and threats that caused
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my dad for Christmas. He says it's an excellent book and he's really enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Always Managing: My Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
amazing book. made me love Harry more than I already did. some fab stories and lovely pictures of his whole family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 'we was robbed', 6 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Always Managing: My Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
Felt after i'd read this book that i hadn't had all the story.......warts n all although the chapter concerning West Hams treatment of the legend Bobby Moore was a great read but to be honest i found the book lacklustre in parts although very readable in parts it was never a book i didn't want to put down like some books i've read in the past, i'm a huge admirer of Harry Redknapp but his book never hit the literary spot!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Confirmed my already high opinion of Harry Redknapp, 23 July 2014
By 
Darrell S. Arnold "darrell871" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Always Managing: My Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
It's straight forward reading with few revelations. Especially liked the reference to Sir Alex essentially throwing a game to help his friend Bryan Robsons relegation battle at West Brom, something I spotted when it happened. Harry is a great manager and is so because he's one of the good guys who gets real respect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 14 Jan 2014
Agreed you can imagine it coming out of Harry's mouth, but it might have been a better read if the ghost writer had actually re-written it a bit. That way it would have avoided the stream-of-consciousness writing style where he repeats himself and comes back to make the same point several paras later. (Try reading the bit about not getting the England job and what a good pick Roy is)!

It's also very Harry in that he has this lovely subtle style of bigging himself up on everything. So talks up his winning youth team, the fantastic achievements at the clubs he's been at, finding great players. It's very clever and subtle, but do look out for it. Coupled with this is then his defensiveness about anything negative that's been said about him (poor transfers, wasting money, jumping ship, bungs, tax evasion) - more repetitive 'putting the record straight'. He avoids talking about any of his catastrophic signings, other than some vague defensive comments about 'impossible to get it right all the time'. I'm not just picking at him, it would have been genuinelly more interesting to get his view about what went wrong! (i.e. signed David Nugent at Portsmouth for 6m and immediately never played him).

And most disappointingly, it's bland. He never really gives a strong opinion or insight where it might offend anyone. So you never get to hear about any interesting bad behaviour stories or fallings out. Why did he really leave Portsmouth? What exactly went on with Daniel Levy?

If you are a football fan it will be of interest, but there's no big stories in here or any insight to football. I didn't feel I knew him any better at the end of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice one Harry, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Always Managing: My Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
Really good football book, full of good stories and funny accounts. Probably tries a bit too hard to set the record straight on the many controversies that accompanied his long career but argues his case well. If you already like Harry or are a neutral then its a good read, if you are a Harry hater then you will still make him happy by buying this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well done Harry !!!!, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Always Managing: My Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic insight into a managers life. Plenty to keep you interested and a book you want to read to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good read!, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Always Managing: My Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
An interesting read with a fair bit of humour in there. A good insight into football and what goes on behind the scenes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Honest and insightful, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Always Managing: My Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
funny at times. full of facts and sets the record straight on a few stories. a must for true football supporters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 336 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Always Managing: My Autobiography
3.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews