Customer Reviews


322 Reviews
5 star:
 (245)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spoiler Alert!
Very rarely in life when something is hyped up so much for such a lengthy period of time can it actually deliver, in fact it's more likely the case that the lower your expectations the more chance you are going to be pleasantly surprised. Given the diverse history of Doctor Who, the plethora of script writers, the myriad of different characters who played the role (often...
Published 9 months ago by thomsonjon

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Epic setup falls flat and results in a hugely poor and series destroying Doctor Who story.
It's been a while since this episode aired and a lot has happened in the Doctor Who universe since, but this episode still sits very badly for me and also tarnished all future episodes of Doctor Who since it aired. The problem is, this could have been awesome...!!

The episode that aired prior to this 50th anniversary special episode really did set the scene...
Published 5 hours ago by Paul Boland


‹ Previous | 1 2 333 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely good, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Steven Moffat had to write an episode which was to be broadcast simultaneously in 94 countries over six continents, on TV and in cinemas. It had to appeal to everybody - adults, children, casual viewers, diehard fans, people who have been watching the show since its 2005 reboot and people who have been watching since its 1963 creation. He really did succeed. It is an extremely well written script - clever enough for the children, simple enough for the adults as old Douglas Adams apparently used to say. Humour, emotion, excitement, action and everything in between. And this does celebrate 50 years of Doctor Who as well!

If you're watching in 3D you're in for a treat. The use of 3D in this feature length story is truly incredible and Nick Hurran is a really good director. The production values look high and the visuals are fantastic including some exciting stunts and explosions. The music here was also of a good volume - often in Doctor Who it's way too loud, but here, the dialogue was easily audible.

The actors also do a great job - you've got John Hurt, Matt Smith, David Tennant and Billie Piper in the spotlight as well as some very capable supporting actors. The only notable absence is Christopher Eccleston. Although he has absolutely no reason to come back in the sense that it was just an acting job he happened to do nine years ago, he was my favourite Doctor and he would have added to the show, even if just in one scene. BUT in a way it was a blessing; unlike Russell T Davies' finales and specials, which tended to be crammed to the brim with as many cameos and inclusions as he could possibly manage, Steven Moffat's episode here basically has for the majority of the time only two monsters, three doctors and a few other characters. A good thing, too - how would he have decided who to put in, when he has 50 years to choose from? Yeah, there are nods to the past, but this is a new story, one which doesn't require 1000 familiar faces. And it's great that he managed not to turn it into a complete fanfest.

Overall a really good episode which can be enjoyed by people of many different ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As a Doctor Who fan since 1973, buying this was a given!, 2 Jan 2014
By 
Jersey Customer (Jersey, Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [DVD] (DVD)
That's not to say I liked everything about it - I didn't - but that's not the point of this review and not why a low star rating should be given for a product like this. Whether or not I liked the plot or the way it was presented on TV is subjective, and I always try to be fair and give product reviews first and foremost, not a personal critique on the story per se. I would expect that anyone looking to buy this DVD already has some sort of investment (emotionally or intellectually) in the whole Doctor Who world, so will be looking to buy this DVD to enhance that. So, as a product, it does what it says on the tin, plus a few extras.

The only subjective comment I will make is that the "special feature" extras weren't really all that special because they were mostly (all?) made available to viewers as part of the celebrations in some form or other. It would have been nice to hold more back that was for the DVD alone, or to have included more unseen footage, behind the scenes tidbits, outtakes, mini documentaries, different options for commentaries from different people (e.g. one with the actors, then one with the director/writer/key production people who always have a different take on why certain things were done a certain way). Without a doubt the 'Five-ish Doctors Reboot' should have been included!

So it's not a full five star rating from me because of the extras lacking enough 'oomph' (only in my opinion, of course - others will disagree). I also hope, for the most ardent fans' sakes (my best friend is married to one such ardent fan!) that this DVD is 'it', and won't at some future date be added to a 'collection' of some sort that will include all the 'Name of.. Time of.. Day of..' episodes and the whole 50th anniversary hoo-hah, but with (at last) some tantalising 'previously unseen' extras added... or am I being too cynical for my own good? Ignore me!

However, if you're like me, and just want to have the 50th anniversary episode in your collection because of its significance as a milestone, and you enjoyed it when it was broadcast, then you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It sounds like your listening too someone else watching the show through ..., 15 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
sound problems on the blu-ray on the 2d version. It sounds like your listening too someone else watching the show through the telephone. I have tried to contact bbc worldwide but after being told my system is not setup properly even though it is. Then after that all get is an apology, no replacement or we are looking into it.

Basically buy a digital copy or the dvd avoid this version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD STORY AND THE INTERACTION BETWEEN MATT SMITH'S DOCTOR AND ..., 9 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [DVD] (DVD)
I BOUGHT SO I COULD WATCH THIS AGAIN, AS I ORIGINALLY WENT TO THE CINEMA TO WATCH THE
3D VERSION. A GOOD STORY AND THE INTERACTION BETWEEN MATT SMITH'S DOCTOR AND DAVID TENNENT'S DOCTOR WAS VERY ENTERTAINING JOHN HURT WAS GOOD AS A GRUMPY DOCTOR A LITTLE BIT LIKE WILLIAM HARTNELL & THE SURPRISE DOCTOR WAS NICELY DONE. A DVD THAT I WILL NO DOUBT WATCH NUMERABLE TIMES
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent Episode Honours Doctor Who,50th Anniversary, 24 Nov 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [DVD] (DVD)
WARNING REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS.

Positive.
Matt Smith, David Tennant & John Hurt share a wonderful chemistry as the Doctor's in this 50th Anniversary adventure.
This plot is one of intrigue setting up series 8.
Cameos from Peter Capaldi & the legend that is Tom Baker.

Negative.
The Zygons were more a misdirection than actually part of the main plot & maybe this storyline should have concentrated on just the Doctor's & the Time War & left the Zygons for another adventure, Although they help the War Doctor in his observation on what to do next.

Trivia.
Watch the 7 minute prequel Night of the Doctor first it is a extra on this dvd along with the other mini episode The Last Day as it set's up events prior to this story.

Review.
This 50th Anniversary story was never going to please every fan was it?

But Day Of The Doctor comes pretty damm close & is one of the best storys of the recent adventures that captures the essence of classic Doctor Who.

From the start complete with the original opening titles to the walking policeman & seeing Clara as a teacher at Coal Hill school writer Steven Moffat captured the nostalgia of the original episode of An Unearthly Child.

The plot is about really about the Doctor's consequences as the Doctor ended the Time War & in doing so killing Billions of lives in the process & this story focuses on him having to go back & experience that moment once again.

There is also a sub plot concerning a painting of Gallifrey were the Zygons hide inside of until escaping in 21st century earth as the Time War destroyed there planet so the seek earth to be there new home.

The minor quibble i had was the Doctor & Elizabeth, The wedding & that earlier lovey dovey picnic scenes that slowed the narrative of the main plot alittle.

But there are more good points than bad in this adventure as Matt Smith gives his all here in a wonderful performance as the Eleventh Doctor, I've been a little harsh on Matt's portrayal at times but in this episode he earns his stripes.

Tenth Doctor David Tennant just carried on like he's never been away & one can see this isn't a job for David it's a labour of love as he clearly loves playing the Doctor & is a true fanboy of the show.

Let us not forget the War Doctor John Hurt who gives a conflicted yet emotional performance in this adventure & is responsible for some of the exellent humourous jibes at the other Doctor's.

Sadly Christopher Eccleston appears via clips & CGI during The War Doctor's Regeneration, Would it have hurt his ego to have filmed a cameo as he is the only actor seemingly against a return, Maybe he thinks he's bigger than Doctor Who now, Anyway his non apperance didn't affect the story's narrative at all.

The two fan pleasing moments in this story was a cameo by new Doctor Peter Capaldi who's glare sent chills through me, I for one cannot wait to see what this exellent actor will bring to the role as i assume a darker Doctor is on the horizon but that's for another time.

But what did bring tears to my eyes was Tom Baker appearing as The Curator at the end, This had echoes of Shada in some way of a retired Doctor looking after the museum artefacts & chosing a face from the past to acknowledge his former self & what a wonderful understated performance Tom brings to a minor part & one thinks this was for us fan's as a way of apology for his non apperance in the Five Doctor's as Tom is back as the Doctor for Big Finish making amends & having the time of his life apparently.

This story concludes with the Doctor changing history of sorts as instead of destroying Gallifrey he instead saves it by joining with his 13 incarnations by moving Gallifrey to another part of the galaxy & in doing so the Daleks destroy one another & Gallifrey lives.

But no doubt this will be a on going factor for the next series with the 12th Doctor as there as surely going to be repercussions for these universal altering event's & as Gallifrey isn't all innocent to the events of fighting in the Time War as infact makes them worse than the Daleks as the Timelords do have the freedom of choice to decide against fighting in a war with the Daleks but the High Council of Gallifrey chooses too go to war with them.

The First Doctor quoted in The Aztecs "You can't change history not one single line of it".

The final image of all 12 Doctor's standing side by side was a fitting tribute to all the actors who gave there superb performances in there different incarnations as the Doctor & a great way for the episode to conclude.

Whatever's next for the Doctor this has heightened my excitement for more adventures with the madman with a box & Christmas can't come soon enough as we say goodbye Eleven & hello Twelve.

This is a exellent 50th anniversary adventure that delivers shocks & surprises on more than one occasion & a must by for fans old & new of Doctor Who.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top of the Docs, 27 Feb 2014
By 
Princess Spider (Lancaster, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [DVD] (DVD)
While I thoroughly enjoyed seeing this at the cinema with my grand children, thought it best to see the DVD edition before commenting as that is the context we are reviewing here. Like a lot of people, hopes were raised in the lead up to the premiere of Day of the Doctor, and the fear that it may not live up to expectation. In my case, it surpassed it.

We were promised a "Love letter to the fans" and did we get one. The Name of the Doctor certainly raised the stakes after a season criticised for so-so writing (though I largely enjoyed it), while the Night of the Doctor minisode wetted the old appetite even more with the unexpected, air punching re appearance of Paul McGann. And the chance to finally see his regeneration. Only shame was that if felt a bit rushed - should have been around 10 minutes - and could have made a cracking opening section to the Day of the Doctor if it had been incorporated. After all, McCoy was granted a final 10 minutes in McGann’s opener.

Top marks, however, for leading in with the original opening titles and Delia Derbyshire’s classic radiophonic theme, then fading into a recreation of the first episodes opening shot. But then the first dodgy moment. The TARDIS being airlifted by a UNIT helicopter and planted in Trafalgar Square. Why go to all that trouble to fetch the Doctor when they could simply give him a call? And why so public about it? As the old Brig himself once remarked “UNIT is supposed to be a top security organisation.”

Well, with the old Brig represented by his daughter and intrigue going on at the National Museum, we are then reunited with the 10th Doctor… Sorry 11th Doctor… Or 12th Doctor depending on which part of the Tennant timeline we are visiting. The whole business of he marrying the young Elizabeth 1st and mistaking her for a Zygon was not quite convincing. However, it did finally explain the older Elizabeth’s hostility to the “Duplicitous Doctor” in The Shakespeare Code. It also, after 38 years, meant Zygons are no longer bygones… Yes, I’ve been waiting for them to come back all this time just so I could coin that.

Meanwhile, John Hurt was proving to be the best Doctor we never had in a story that is arguably more his than Matt or David’s. Moffat wastes no opportunity in using the War Doctor’s story to fill in that gap between the classic series, McGann movie and the RTD reboot, with his agonising decision as to destroy Gallifrey for the greater good. Then, in a feel good climax, it turns to his two successors to redirect that decision so that the Time Lord planet disappears into safety rather than destroyed. A feat aided by incarnations past and one yet to come.

So, yes, despite some shortcomings I thoroughly enjoyed the special. Matt Smith and David Tennant gelled with brilliant chemistry (“Hey! The round things!”). In a deliberate nod to The Three Doctors, Hurt plays Hartnell to Smith and Tennant, looking down at them as a pair of bickering boys… Until that climatic bonding scene. And then, the cherry on an already rich cake. The unexpected appearance of Tom Baker, now the elder statesman of Doctors, playing a an unspecified future incarnation to get round his advanced years. Guaranteed to bring a lumps to the throat of any Whovian. A celebratory romp, and that is how it should be.

Special mention to Jenna Louise Coleman who has settled into a decent companion and Billie Piper who, wisely, was brought in to play the Bad Wolf rather than Rose herself. Would have been great to have Carol Anne Ford show up as Susan, but there is only so much you can pack into 75 minutes. And top marks to Moffat for undoing the whole Gallifrey destroyed/last of the Time Lords scenario that RTD had put upon the saga. I always thought that a cliché. So will this mean a Ulysees quest theme awaits Peter Capaldi’s 14th Doctor… Or should that be new first Doctor. Oh, Mr Moffat. Having straightened RTD’s folly, you have gone and made a new complication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 July 2014
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [DVD] (DVD)
Arrived in good time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for a relative who says it is very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Magic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 333 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [DVD]
8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews