Customer Reviews


322 Reviews
5 star:
 (245)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Matt, David & John...the DREAM TEAM!
I went to see the 50th Anniversary Special in 3-D at the pictures. Reliving it on DVD reminded me of what a fun experience that was, and why this awesome special is basically the ultimate movie for Doctor Who.

Matt Smith is as brilliant as ever, and David Tennant returns in a triumphant blaze of glory. Together with John Hurt as the 'War Doctor', they partake...
Published 8 months ago by Mr. Daniel Wood

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Epic setup falls flat and results in a hugely poor and series destroying Doctor Who story.
It's been a while since this episode aired and a lot has happened in the Doctor Who universe since, but this episode still sits very badly for me and also tarnished all future episodes of Doctor Who since it aired. The problem is, this could have been awesome...!!

The episode that aired prior to this 50th anniversary special episode really did set the scene...
Published 1 day ago by Paul Boland


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Matt, David & John...the DREAM TEAM!, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. Daniel Wood "Lord D.C. Wood" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [DVD] (DVD)
I went to see the 50th Anniversary Special in 3-D at the pictures. Reliving it on DVD reminded me of what a fun experience that was, and why this awesome special is basically the ultimate movie for Doctor Who.

Matt Smith is as brilliant as ever, and David Tennant returns in a triumphant blaze of glory. Together with John Hurt as the 'War Doctor', they partake in an absolute epic that no fan can afford to miss. There's Daleks, Zygons, Time Lords, revelations about the Time War, plus Jenna Coleman as Clara and Bille Piper (Yes!) back again as Rose Tyler, looking to save the day in a moment that changes the landscape of Who forever (in a GOOD way!).

This DVD features some brilliant trailers and documentaries, with the crown jewel being the phenomenal 'Night of the Doctor', which sets the scene perfectly for this special. For fans of Doctor Who...WHAT are you waiting for?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 83 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spoiler Alert!, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very rarely in life when something is hyped up so much for such a lengthy period of time can it actually deliver, in fact it's more likely the case that the lower your expectations the more chance you are going to be pleasantly surprised. Given the diverse history of Doctor Who, the plethora of script writers, the myriad of different characters who played the role (often poles apart) whoever was going to be given the task of writing the 50th Anniversary Special was on a hiding to nothing. So hats off to Mr Moffat on a truly stupendous roller coaster ride of an episode in the life of the most brilliant sci-fi series ever to grace this planet. It's not without it's faults & it was never going to please everybody but I for one was delighted to have some of the gaps filled in with the mini prequel showing Paul McGann's regeneration (included in this set) & John Hurt's regeneration in the show itself. The best kept secret of the surprise cameo appearances of the 13th Doctor & Tom Baker at the end was a stroke of genius. Yes, it would have been great to see Christopher Eccleston reprise his role but he has always made it abundantly clear he was never a fan of Doctor Who, this was an acting job he did with great relish eight years ago & he politely declined to take any part in a celebration of a show he never watched as a child. My other regret is this wasn't given the full movie treatment & a timing to match. I truly believe it would of benefited greatly if it was closer to a two hour affair as the plot did seem rushed at points & certain characters would have benefited for having their roles fleshed out. There, I hope I have managed to lower your expectations just a little if you haven't already seen it so you can enjoy it for what it is ... a love letter from a fan to Doctor who. Here's to the next 50 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars McGann Alert!!, 27 April 2014
By 
David P. Weber (North Fremantle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [DVD] (DVD)
The show itself is awesome, with something for Who fans of all eras. The only glitch I could see was that UNIT somehow had a photo of Kamelion. Confiscated from Tegan during debriefing perhaps..

"Would've like more extras" says a reviewer on this page.. When too much is not enough! This DVD features one of the most important extras on ANY Doc DVD... A mini story featuring the elusive Eighth Doctor!

Could it be a precursor to a STAND ALONE series???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Epic setup falls flat and results in a hugely poor and series destroying Doctor Who story., 31 Aug 2014
By 
Paul Boland (Waterford, Ireland.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [DVD] (DVD)
It's been a while since this episode aired and a lot has happened in the Doctor Who universe since, but this episode still sits very badly for me and also tarnished all future episodes of Doctor Who since it aired. The problem is, this could have been awesome...!!

The episode that aired prior to this 50th anniversary special episode really did set the scene for something very special. We saw Matt's Doctor encounter the John incarnation of the Doctor and you what we saw on the telly...? We saw fear! Yes, Matt feared that incarnation of the Doctor and it was clear that in the past there had been some incarnation of the Doctor that was feared by all future incarnations. Was there really a dark incarnation of the Doctor, a version of the Doctor who did something so dark, so bad, that all others feared him? I was EXCITED!!

And then this 50th anniversary episode aired... Matt and David teamed up, two much loved incarnations of the Doctor, and it was good fun. Until... Until John's Doctor arrived. Instantly both Matt and David took out their sonic screwdriver and aimed them at John, they were fearful of this Doctor and they were ready to defend themselves against him. I was ready for an epic episode where we learned of the Doctor's dark side... That is now what I got.

With Matt and David standing there, screwdrivers drawn, ready to defend themselves, John's Doctor dismissed them both with a casual, toss-away, comic dismissal. And instantly this setup for a dark, feared, version of the Doctor, was side-lined! What followed was a silly story of three versions of the Doctor falling back on old storylines to get out of trouble and the fear that had been set up SO WELL in regards to John's Doctor character, it was totally ignored and gone.

This episode was the first time that Doctor Who failed to impress me and also left me very deflated at the waste of such a great setup! Since it aired, I have watched all episodes of the show but my faith in it is declining. This should have been something very special, particularly since the setup for it was epic!! All the pieces were in place for a huge showdown between Matt and David against this never before seen dark John Doctor and instead it was all destroy with a silly comment and wave of John's hand the moment the three met.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story, but blu ray has sound issues., 4 Dec 2013
By 
Sean Brady (Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I absolutely loved THE DAY OF THE DOCTOR and was looking forward to owning it on blu ray. Watched it tonight and it appears the quality control folks were off having a tea break when the audio for this was being put together. It sounds fine via a 5.1 surround set up, but appalling via television stereo speakers. The best way I can describe it is that the music takes on a tinny, warbly effect that is very distracting. There's definitely a problem here that needs to be addressed. I've read of the same complaints reported elsewhere so hopefully people will let the BBC know and something will be done to get this issue sorted and replacement discs issued.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 50th Anniversary, 18 Jan 2014
By 
TheEnthusiastCollector "Ben" (Llangefni, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [DVD] (DVD)
Love it, contains the 1st-9th Doctors (Archive footage), the War Doctor (John Hurt), the 10th Doctor (David Tennant) and the 11th Doctor (Matt Smith). The 11th Doctor joins the 10th and War Doctor's to sort out the events of the Time War which occurred between the Classic era (1963-1996) and the revival series (2005-Present). The earth is invaded by Zygons (Appeared only once before with Tom Baker in 1975) between the present day and Elizabethan England and also Gallifrey is invaded by the fully forced Dalek empire. With these Doctors save Gallifrey and the Earth together?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great knowing winks., 6 Dec 2013
By 
W. Beckett (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After the chore of season 6 - with the gradual redemption in season 7, This is Stephen Moffat back on form. I loved how he took various criticisms of the Doctor's sometimes puerile behaviour and weaved it with humour into the show. 'The man who regrets and the man who forgets' summed it up greatly. And standing up against the deservedly well-loved portrayal of David Tennant's Doctor and John Hurt's solid and stalwart acting credentials - hats off to Matt Smith in this 50th anniversary. I now realise in compare and comparison, he really has made the Doctor his own. Therefore in some ways now. it's such a shame he's going just when he's put a stamp on it. As for the Blu-Ray 3D. Some scenes work well in 3D. Other's just appear quite 2D. But that's the curse of setting and circumstance I suppose? And considering all the 50th anniversary spin offs from Blue Peter to a Peter Davidson documentary, such a celebration was deserved of a bumper Extra-Extra's edition with this disc. But alas we don't even get a commentary. Just trailers, a quick behind the scenes and Doctor Who explained for an American audience. That said - this Tv movie feel of Dr Who is an instant classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 3D brilliant visually... story "good", 26 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw this in the cinema in 3D, and it worked very well visually although the plot and the logic behind it... well, Moffet made a good fist of trying to tie together an adventure suitable for the 50th anniversary! Some nice touches at the start to acknowledge the first episode that I saw, aged 8, on a B+W valve driven Bush TV. Yes, I'm THAT old!
I generally find that material filmed in 3D works well in the cinema and on TV and Dr Who 50th is superb in 3D. I'm using an active 3D system (the better one) on a Sony 55" and it was a real immersive experience.
So visually 5 stars, clunky plot enthusiastically delivered by a crack team of actors but the end exchange with the curator (Tom Baker) is rubbish and you can leave off watching there.. 3 stars for the story so 4 overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good but christmas special better, 27 Aug 2014
great special effects 3 good doctors to save the day the only let down for me was the ending all the hype about the war doctor leading up to this episode and why the doctor wants to forget that regeneration existed to all build up to flatline at the end no battle scenes with the darleks worth remembering. the christmas episode was 10x better than this 50th anniversary special. it got 4 stars from me for the fact you get 4 doctors for the price of one and the visual effects and the build up to the ending and loses the 5th star for the rubbish ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Would have like more extras, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good movie-styled episode.
The Only criticism is that John hurt wasn't that "evil" or "war-like" as he was described to be.I would have preferred a bit more action and for Moffat to stop making monsters friendly!!! e.g sontarans,silurians,zygons,hide creature...errghhh don't get me wrong, I love strax but if ever I saw a sontaran again I would think they are harmless!

Would have been nice to see all the extras from the convention in London though including the 5 drs reboot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 233 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [DVD]
8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews