Customer Reviews


304 Reviews
5 star:
 (232)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (16)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spoiler Alert!
Very rarely in life when something is hyped up so much for such a lengthy period of time can it actually deliver, in fact it's more likely the case that the lower your expectations the more chance you are going to be pleasantly surprised. Given the diverse history of Doctor Who, the plethora of script writers, the myriad of different characters who played the role (often...
Published 8 months ago by thomsonjon

versus
30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story, but blu ray has sound issues.
I absolutely loved THE DAY OF THE DOCTOR and was looking forward to owning it on blu ray. Watched it tonight and it appears the quality control folks were off having a tea break when the audio for this was being put together. It sounds fine via a 5.1 surround set up, but appalling via television stereo speakers. The best way I can describe it is that the music takes on a...
Published 7 months ago by Sean Brady


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spoiler Alert!, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very rarely in life when something is hyped up so much for such a lengthy period of time can it actually deliver, in fact it's more likely the case that the lower your expectations the more chance you are going to be pleasantly surprised. Given the diverse history of Doctor Who, the plethora of script writers, the myriad of different characters who played the role (often poles apart) whoever was going to be given the task of writing the 50th Anniversary Special was on a hiding to nothing. So hats off to Mr Moffat on a truly stupendous roller coaster ride of an episode in the life of the most brilliant sci-fi series ever to grace this planet. It's not without it's faults & it was never going to please everybody but I for one was delighted to have some of the gaps filled in with the mini prequel showing Paul McGann's regeneration (included in this set) & John Hurt's regeneration in the show itself. The best kept secret of the surprise cameo appearances of the 13th Doctor & Tom Baker at the end was a stroke of genius. Yes, it would have been great to see Christopher Eccleston reprise his role but he has always made it abundantly clear he was never a fan of Doctor Who, this was an acting job he did with great relish eight years ago & he politely declined to take any part in a celebration of a show he never watched as a child. My other regret is this wasn't given the full movie treatment & a timing to match. I truly believe it would of benefited greatly if it was closer to a two hour affair as the plot did seem rushed at points & certain characters would have benefited for having their roles fleshed out. There, I hope I have managed to lower your expectations just a little if you haven't already seen it so you can enjoy it for what it is ... a love letter from a fan to Doctor who. Here's to the next 50 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars McGann Alert!!, 27 April 2014
By 
David P. Weber (North Fremantle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [DVD] (DVD)
The show itself is awesome, with something for Who fans of all eras. The only glitch I could see was that UNIT somehow had a photo of Kamelion. Confiscated from Tegan during debriefing perhaps..

"Would've like more extras" says a reviewer on this page.. When too much is not enough! This DVD features one of the most important extras on ANY Doc DVD... A mini story featuring the elusive Eighth Doctor!

Could it be a precursor to a STAND ALONE series???
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Matt, David & John...the DREAM TEAM!, 30 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. Daniel Wood "Lord D.C. Wood" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [DVD] (DVD)
I went to see the 50th Anniversary Special in 3-D at the pictures. Reliving it on DVD reminded me of what a fun experience that was, and why this awesome special is basically the ultimate movie for Doctor Who.

Matt Smith is as brilliant as ever, and David Tennant returns in a triumphant blaze of glory. Together with John Hurt as the 'War Doctor', they partake in an absolute epic that no fan can afford to miss. There's Daleks, Zygons, Time Lords, revelations about the Time War, plus Jenna Coleman as Clara and Bille Piper (Yes!) back again as Rose Tyler, looking to save the day in a moment that changes the landscape of Who forever (in a GOOD way!).

This DVD features some brilliant trailers and documentaries, with the crown jewel being the phenomenal 'Night of the Doctor', which sets the scene perfectly for this special. For fans of Doctor Who...WHAT are you waiting for?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story, but blu ray has sound issues., 4 Dec 2013
By 
Sean Brady (Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I absolutely loved THE DAY OF THE DOCTOR and was looking forward to owning it on blu ray. Watched it tonight and it appears the quality control folks were off having a tea break when the audio for this was being put together. It sounds fine via a 5.1 surround set up, but appalling via television stereo speakers. The best way I can describe it is that the music takes on a tinny, warbly effect that is very distracting. There's definitely a problem here that needs to be addressed. I've read of the same complaints reported elsewhere so hopefully people will let the BBC know and something will be done to get this issue sorted and replacement discs issued.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 50th Anniversary, 18 Jan 2014
By 
TheEnthusiastCollector "Ben" (Llangefni, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [DVD] (DVD)
Love it, contains the 1st-9th Doctors (Archive footage), the War Doctor (John Hurt), the 10th Doctor (David Tennant) and the 11th Doctor (Matt Smith). The 11th Doctor joins the 10th and War Doctor's to sort out the events of the Time War which occurred between the Classic era (1963-1996) and the revival series (2005-Present). The earth is invaded by Zygons (Appeared only once before with Tom Baker in 1975) between the present day and Elizabethan England and also Gallifrey is invaded by the fully forced Dalek empire. With these Doctors save Gallifrey and the Earth together?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great knowing winks., 6 Dec 2013
By 
W. Beckett (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After the chore of season 6 - with the gradual redemption in season 7, This is Stephen Moffat back on form. I loved how he took various criticisms of the Doctor's sometimes puerile behaviour and weaved it with humour into the show. 'The man who regrets and the man who forgets' summed it up greatly. And standing up against the deservedly well-loved portrayal of David Tennant's Doctor and John Hurt's solid and stalwart acting credentials - hats off to Matt Smith in this 50th anniversary. I now realise in compare and comparison, he really has made the Doctor his own. Therefore in some ways now. it's such a shame he's going just when he's put a stamp on it. As for the Blu-Ray 3D. Some scenes work well in 3D. Other's just appear quite 2D. But that's the curse of setting and circumstance I suppose? And considering all the 50th anniversary spin offs from Blue Peter to a Peter Davidson documentary, such a celebration was deserved of a bumper Extra-Extra's edition with this disc. But alas we don't even get a commentary. Just trailers, a quick behind the scenes and Doctor Who explained for an American audience. That said - this Tv movie feel of Dr Who is an instant classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Would have like more extras, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good movie-styled episode.
The Only criticism is that John hurt wasn't that "evil" or "war-like" as he was described to be.I would have preferred a bit more action and for Moffat to stop making monsters friendly!!! e.g sontarans,silurians,zygons,hide creature...errghhh don't get me wrong, I love strax but if ever I saw a sontaran again I would think they are harmless!

Would have been nice to see all the extras from the convention in London though including the 5 drs reboot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely good, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Steven Moffat had to write an episode which was to be broadcast simultaneously in 94 countries over six continents, on TV and in cinemas. It had to appeal to everybody - adults, children, casual viewers, diehard fans, people who have been watching the show since its 2005 reboot and people who have been watching since its 1963 creation. He really did succeed. It is an extremely well written script - clever enough for the children, simple enough for the adults as old Douglas Adams apparently used to say. Humour, emotion, excitement, action and everything in between. And this does celebrate 50 years of Doctor Who as well!

If you're watching in 3D you're in for a treat. The use of 3D in this feature length story is truly incredible and Nick Hurran is a really good director. The production values look high and the visuals are fantastic including some exciting stunts and explosions. The music here was also of a good volume - often in Doctor Who it's way too loud, but here, the dialogue was easily audible.

The actors also do a great job - you've got John Hurt, Matt Smith, David Tennant and Billie Piper in the spotlight as well as some very capable supporting actors. The only notable absence is Christopher Eccleston. Although he has absolutely no reason to come back in the sense that it was just an acting job he happened to do nine years ago, he was my favourite Doctor and he would have added to the show, even if just in one scene. BUT in a way it was a blessing; unlike Russell T Davies' finales and specials, which tended to be crammed to the brim with as many cameos and inclusions as he could possibly manage, Steven Moffat's episode here basically has for the majority of the time only two monsters, three doctors and a few other characters. A good thing, too - how would he have decided who to put in, when he has 50 years to choose from? Yeah, there are nods to the past, but this is a new story, one which doesn't require 1000 familiar faces. And it's great that he managed not to turn it into a complete fanfest.

Overall a really good episode which can be enjoyed by people of many different ages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As a Doctor Who fan since 1973, buying this was a given!, 2 Jan 2014
By 
Jersey Customer (Jersey, Channel Islands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [DVD] (DVD)
That's not to say I liked everything about it - I didn't - but that's not the point of this review and not why a low star rating should be given for a product like this. Whether or not I liked the plot or the way it was presented on TV is subjective, and I always try to be fair and give product reviews first and foremost, not a personal critique on the story per se. I would expect that anyone looking to buy this DVD already has some sort of investment (emotionally or intellectually) in the whole Doctor Who world, so will be looking to buy this DVD to enhance that. So, as a product, it does what it says on the tin, plus a few extras.

The only subjective comment I will make is that the "special feature" extras weren't really all that special because they were mostly (all?) made available to viewers as part of the celebrations in some form or other. It would have been nice to hold more back that was for the DVD alone, or to have included more unseen footage, behind the scenes tidbits, outtakes, mini documentaries, different options for commentaries from different people (e.g. one with the actors, then one with the director/writer/key production people who always have a different take on why certain things were done a certain way). Without a doubt the 'Five-ish Doctors Reboot' should have been included!

So it's not a full five star rating from me because of the extras lacking enough 'oomph' (only in my opinion, of course - others will disagree). I also hope, for the most ardent fans' sakes (my best friend is married to one such ardent fan!) that this DVD is 'it', and won't at some future date be added to a 'collection' of some sort that will include all the 'Name of.. Time of.. Day of..' episodes and the whole 50th anniversary hoo-hah, but with (at last) some tantalising 'previously unseen' extras added... or am I being too cynical for my own good? Ignore me!

However, if you're like me, and just want to have the 50th anniversary episode in your collection because of its significance as a milestone, and you enjoyed it when it was broadcast, then you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exellent Episode Honours Doctor Who,50th Anniversary, 24 Nov 2013
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [DVD] (DVD)
WARNING REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS.

Positive.
Matt Smith, David Tennant & John Hurt share a wonderful chemistry as the Doctor's in this 50th Anniversary adventure.
This plot is one of intrigue setting up series 8.
Cameos from Peter Capaldi & the legend that is Tom Baker.

Negative.
The Zygons were more a misdirection than actually part of the main plot & maybe this storyline should have concentrated on just the Doctor's & the Time War & left the Zygons for another adventure, Although they help the War Doctor in his observation on what to do next.

Trivia.
Watch the 7 minute prequel Night of the Doctor first it is a extra on this dvd along with the other mini episode The Last Day as it set's up events prior to this story.

Review.
This 50th Anniversary story was never going to please every fan was it?

But Day Of The Doctor comes pretty damm close & is one of the best storys of the recent adventures that captures the essence of classic Doctor Who.

From the start complete with the original opening titles to the walking policeman & seeing Clara as a teacher at Coal Hill school writer Steven Moffat captured the nostalgia of the original episode of An Unearthly Child.

The plot is about really about the Doctor's consequences as the Doctor ended the Time War & in doing so killing Billions of lives in the process & this story focuses on him having to go back & experience that moment once again.

There is also a sub plot concerning a painting of Gallifrey were the Zygons hide inside of until escaping in 21st century earth as the Time War destroyed there planet so the seek earth to be there new home.

The minor quibble i had was the Doctor & Elizabeth, The wedding & that earlier lovey dovey picnic scenes that slowed the narrative of the main plot alittle.

But there are more good points than bad in this adventure as Matt Smith gives his all here in a wonderful performance as the Eleventh Doctor, I've been a little harsh on Matt's portrayal at times but in this episode he earns his stripes.

Tenth Doctor David Tennant just carried on like he's never been away & one can see this isn't a job for David it's a labour of love as he clearly loves playing the Doctor & is a true fanboy of the show.

Let us not forget the War Doctor John Hurt who gives a conflicted yet emotional performance in this adventure & is responsible for some of the exellent humourous jibes at the other Doctor's.

Sadly Christopher Eccleston appears via clips & CGI during The War Doctor's Regeneration, Would it have hurt his ego to have filmed a cameo as he is the only actor seemingly against a return, Maybe he thinks he's bigger than Doctor Who now, Anyway his non apperance didn't affect the story's narrative at all.

The two fan pleasing moments in this story was a cameo by new Doctor Peter Capaldi who's glare sent chills through me, I for one cannot wait to see what this exellent actor will bring to the role as i assume a darker Doctor is on the horizon but that's for another time.

But what did bring tears to my eyes was Tom Baker appearing as The Curator at the end, This had echoes of Shada in some way of a retired Doctor looking after the museum artefacts & chosing a face from the past to acknowledge his former self & what a wonderful understated performance Tom brings to a minor part & one thinks this was for us fan's as a way of apology for his non apperance in the Five Doctor's as Tom is back as the Doctor for Big Finish making amends & having the time of his life apparently.

This story concludes with the Doctor changing history of sorts as instead of destroying Gallifrey he instead saves it by joining with his 13 incarnations by moving Gallifrey to another part of the galaxy & in doing so the Daleks destroy one another & Gallifrey lives.

But no doubt this will be a on going factor for the next series with the 12th Doctor as there as surely going to be repercussions for these universal altering event's & as Gallifrey isn't all innocent to the events of fighting in the Time War as infact makes them worse than the Daleks as the Timelords do have the freedom of choice to decide against fighting in a war with the Daleks but the High Council of Gallifrey chooses too go to war with them.

The First Doctor quoted in The Aztecs "You can't change history not one single line of it".

The final image of all 12 Doctor's standing side by side was a fitting tribute to all the actors who gave there superb performances in there different incarnations as the Doctor & a great way for the episode to conclude.

Whatever's next for the Doctor this has heightened my excitement for more adventures with the madman with a box & Christmas can't come soon enough as we say goodbye Eleven & hello Twelve.

This is a exellent 50th anniversary adventure that delivers shocks & surprises on more than one occasion & a must by for fans old & new of Doctor Who.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [DVD]
6.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews