Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek: Voyager.. lay in a course for the alpha quadrant!
All 7 seasons on DVD, picture quality is very high as is the boxset itself. For me Voyager was the ultimate Star Trek saga, about one woman Captain Janeways attempt to get her crew home after being pulled over 75, 000 light years away into the far quadrant of the galaxy. Follow the journey as she tries to get them all home, naturally not everything goes to plan and they...
Published 6 months ago by MrE

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars several problems with individual discs in this set. Film ...
several problems with individual discs in this set.Film slows down or stops.I have not been able consequently to see all of the series.
Published 6 months ago by j.barton


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek: Voyager.. lay in a course for the alpha quadrant!, 20 Nov. 2014
By 
MrE (E Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Star Trek Voyager: The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
All 7 seasons on DVD, picture quality is very high as is the boxset itself. For me Voyager was the ultimate Star Trek saga, about one woman Captain Janeways attempt to get her crew home after being pulled over 75, 000 light years away into the far quadrant of the galaxy. Follow the journey as she tries to get them all home, naturally not everything goes to plan and they do meet new faces along the way but it's a great story if you are a Star Trek fan.

For me it was a must and glad i bought it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a special star trek genre in comparison of the other genres., 9 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Voyager: The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This is a special Star trek adventure with a woman as captain Kathryn Janeway and Seven of Nine as a female ex-borg. Many adventures are about references to the classic Middle Ages and ancient histories by hollowgram so this was a very beautiful star trek genre in comparison with all the other star trek genres. It has been broadcasted on 3 Dutch nets on television which every Dutch net started with these series every one year later. So I could enjoy with watching these series 3 times in the middle and end of the 90's and the passing by of the milenium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Collection!, 17 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Voyager: The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
It's another great 'Star Trek' DVD box set re-release. So much better than any that have gone before. A wonderful way to get the complete 'Star Trek' collection. I've wanted to get such a collection like this for such a long time, and the prices for so many episodes contained in each 'Star Trek' box set on Amazon is superb! It's such a perfect time to build your 'Star Trek' Collection as well. As next year (2016) will see the 50th anniversary of 'Star Trek'. A great set that builds into a fine collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars epic <3, 26 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Voyager: The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
finally i brought this box set after waiting a few years for the price to come back and for them to change the packaging from the slide in slot style, case is abit flimsy inside and annoying when you reach the discs near the back as you have to lift the hole cd storage out inside the casing other then that fantastic.. however the numbers of episodes are screwed up, but on the + side inside the case the picture card tells you the episode number so you cant go wrong :) Must buy for all trekkies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent DVD set, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Voyager: The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
The packaging is sturdy in a plastic case. I have not found one fault in the recording quality although the sound level could be higher.
I have only one niggle and that is that if the episode number is supposed to represent time order then the order of the recordings is sometimes incorrect.
I would certainly recommend this to anybody who is intent on upgrading their collection or maybe just starting on the Trek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It arrived in perfect shape to the US, 24 May 2015
By 
Frances B. Brock (Berryville, VA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Voyager: The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
It arrived in perfect shape to the US. The only complaint I have (and it isn't Amazon's fault) is that because of this edition, there is no extra bonus material included. I look forward to hearing the commentaries of directors and actors, and there is no bonus material in this edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars " Resistance is futile ", 22 April 2015
This review is from: Star Trek Voyager: The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Star Trek " Voyager " is belonging to my most favorite sience fiction series. In Germany I could buy the UK edition. Despite the fact that the Dvd's also offer the German language to enjoy the series I am watching the episodes in English language only. Both sound and image are excellent. There is absolutely nothing to criticize.

A few words regarding the series itself.
The initial situation is good. Searching a Maquis vessel by a cosmic event both the Voyager and the Maquis vessel are thrown 70.000 light years into the Delta quadrant. The Maquis vessel is sacrificed. To get home both crews join together ( including Neelix ( Ethan Phillips ) and Kes ( Jennifer Lien )).
But now the story fails to work out the contrast between the Maquis crew and the Starfleet crew. Also proper friction fail to appear..

From the very beginning the Maquis commander Chacotay ( Robert Beltran ) is a loyal first officier. In the episode " Parallax " members of the Maquis are asking him, when they will take over the vessel. Chacotay threatens to take them to the brig by himself if hearing this once again.

Neelix is integrated into the crew. He supports the crew with his great experiences he gained as a galactic trader. He is becoming cook, he takes over the mess hall and he is appointing himself as a moral officier. Kes is serving as a nurse but in contrast to Neelix she has no primary part and she becomes a crew member among the other ones. So it is no surprise that at the very beginning of session four she is leaving the Voyager ( episode " The gift " ). Later on she returns once again for one episode.

The last episode of session three ( " Scorpion part 1 " ) and the first episode of session four ( " Scorpion part 2 " ) are a turning point of the story. In a certain way with the end of session three one story of Star Trek " Voyager " is coming to its end and with the last episode of session three a new story is to begin ( sessions four to seven. One session is equivalent to one year ).
This is also shown on the credits. From session one to three we can read " starring Kate Mulgrew as Captain Kathryn Janeway, Robert Beltran as Commander Chacotay, Tim Russ as Lieutenant Tuvok, Garret Wang as Ensign Harry Kim " etc. Beginning with session four we will still read " starring Kate Mulgrew as Captain Kathryn Janeway " but " Robert Beltran as Chacotay, Tim Russ as Tuvok, Garret Wang as Harry Kim " etc. Ranks are no longer listed. A proof that there is a change now.

In the episode " Scorpion part 2 " the Borg drone " Seven of Nine " ( Jeri Ryan ) is coming on board Voyager. Cpt Janeway ( Kate Mulgrew ) wants Seven of Nine to turn back into a human again, becoming an individual again..
Now we can see that the producers did learn from the mistake with " Kes ". In contrast to Kes from the very beginning Seven of Nine has a very primary part in the series.
In the episode " Scorpion part 2 " she is coming on board Voyager, in the next episode " The gift " most her cybernetic implants are being removed and at the beginning of the next episode " Day of honour " she is asking Cdr Chacotay for a duty assignment. And very soon Seven of Nine is even a member of the senior staff. At the end of the episode " One year hell part 1 " ( seventh episode since she came on board ) Cpt Janeway is asking her crew to leave Voyager while the senior staff will remain on board. In the next episode " One year hell part 2 " we will see who is belonging to the senior staff.
These are Cpt Janeway, Cdr Chacotay, Lt Tuvok ( Tim Russ ), Lt Torres ( Roxann Dawson ), Lt Paris ( Robert Duncan McNeill ), Ensign Harry Kim ( Garret Wang ), the Holodoc ( Robert Picardo ), Neelix and Seven of Nine.
She is only a brief time on board, she has no rank, she doesn't wear a Starfleet uniform but she is a member of the senior staff. .
I think that's all happening too fast.
Nevertheless Seven of Nine is an enrichment for the story. The contrast between becoming a human and her former life as a drone is well presented. Often she is speaking positively about the collective. But when she is once having the opportunity to return to the collective ( episode " Hope and fear " ) she doesn't take this chance. She liberates Cpt Janeway and only seconds away from the Borg space together with Cpt Janeway she returns on Voyager.
In the episode " The dark frontier " ( 90 minutes movie ) Seven of Nine returns to the collective. Not from conviction but of loyality to the Voyager crew. ( The Borg Queen " Rejoin the collective and we will spare Voyager " ). This is also evident by the fact that she is helping prisoners to escape from the Borg cube.
In the Borg cube Seven of Nine has a philosophical discussion with the Borg Queen which comes to its high point in Seven of Nine's statement " I am Annika Hansen, human " .
When Cpt Janeway arrives to rescue her there is no doubt what Seven of Nine will do. After this experience Seven of Nine burns all bridges to the collective.
In my opinion the episode " The dark frontier " is the most important one of the entire series.

Besides this the series turns out in the way that it is at least doubtful how the crew will manage to get home without the knowledge and the skills of Seven of Nine. ( e.g. the episodes " One " and " Bliss " and " Human errors " ).

In my opinion the final return to Earth ( episode " Endgame " ( a 90 minutes movie too )) is too easy. There should have been more problems and difficulties. Two episodes 90 minutes each would have been better. ( " Endgame " includes a pleasant surprise )..

I know that my critique is at a very high level. As already mentioned in the very beginning for me " Star Trek Voyager " belongs to best sience fiction series ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New packaging proves much better., 2 Aug. 2014
By 
Corrinpowers (england) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Star Trek Voyager: The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Having seen the reviews of the cheaper Voyager boxset and owning the NG boxset that has the same cardboard cases I opted for this.It was bought elsewhere brand new for £50.49 incl P&P.The box is two large&one(series 7)small robust plastic cases.It is identical to the 24 boxset in construction and looks strong,long lasting and crucially the discs are easy to get out and will not be damaged,rather protected by the cases.Massively better than the old packaging,but not sure it's worth twice the price over the cardboard version that's currently the same price I paid for this elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent set but please be aware the inner folding packing ..., 7 Jan. 2015
By 
E J (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Voyager: The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent set but please be aware the inner folding packing holding the DVDs is ultra flimsy and was broken on receipt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Series Voyager, 30 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek Voyager: The Complete Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Star trek once again an excellent series, so frustrating when yet again the people who make them have stopped production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek Voyager: The Complete Collection [DVD]
£49.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews