Customer Reviews


436 Reviews
5 star:
 (340)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!
I bought this primarily for the 3D version although I am a fan of Dr. Who as well.
First the Doctor, I am old school Dr. Who harking back to William Hartnell and Patrick Troughton in the sixties.
I have been a little disappointed by recent Who shows with young dynamic Dr's that can win every situation with a flick of their
sonic screwdrivers.
However...
Published 7 months ago by S. Broadbent

versus
30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great story, but blu ray has sound issues.
I absolutely loved THE DAY OF THE DOCTOR and was looking forward to owning it on blu ray. Watched it tonight and it appears the quality control folks were off having a tea break when the audio for this was being put together. It sounds fine via a 5.1 surround set up, but appalling via television stereo speakers. The best way I can describe it is that the music takes on a...
Published 16 months ago by Sean Brady


‹ Previous | 125 26 2744 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it!, 1 Dec. 2013
I enjoyed it on tv, and no reason to think I won't on DVD. If you weren't a fan, then yes, it was difficult to follow the plot, and yes, there are holes in the storyline that even a tardis would fall through, but I still thought it was great. Loved the bits of old sets, like the tardis interior with the white circles, and the reactions of David Tennant and Matt Smith were wonderful. They really gelled together. Don't take it too seriously and it is superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Potential Realities, 29 Nov. 2013
The Day Of The Doctor features both Matt Smith and David Tennant who unexpectedly collide with each other in this episode/film. There is also a serious meeting with their past incarnation from their homeworld (played by John Hurt). They are important to dealing with shapeshifters who seem to want to invade the earth. All three men do an illustrious job of collaborating together in their roles as time lords who must deal with both their home world of Gallifrey and the shapeshifters. It was a good idea to have Bille Piper return. Billie Piper and Jenna Coleman also give strong performances in their roles as vital helpers to the Doctor's personal evolution (Coleman in the companion role and Piper as a powerful interface of a superweapon). Parts of the plot involve returning to the time era of Queen Elizabeth. I must refrain from saying more out of consideration for those who have yet to see The Day Of The Doctor. However, this is a thrilling science fiction movie that plays with the idea of what can happen if one is given the chance to see their future selves materialize before them. The website of bbcamericadotcom contains further details on The Day Of The Doctor and the actors/actresses who are also part of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Marvellous. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad on the Day, 5 Dec. 2013
By 
Greystone (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [Blu-ray 3D] (Blu-ray)
Moffat plays fast and loose as usual with Who lore but there were moments of brilliance in this story. One was when Tennant severely berated a rabbit and gave it a proper stern warning. The Invasion scenes on Arcaiadia? were well realized and very enjoyable; as was the Zygon transformation scene.

Wasn't much in the way of joining the dots between 'Name' and 'Day' though.

The Zygons looked great, and we now know why they are so angry. Every time they show their faces their planet gets destroyed. It went west during 'Terror' they evidently found another planet which subsequently went west on the first day of the Time War... tough break!

Nice touch with Tom Baker in the end there and John Hurt proved beyond a shadow that the Doctor needs to be an older man, and apart from the silly schoolgirl antics that seem to go on around him these days.

All in all, a not deep but enjoyable romp, certainly the best thing Moffat has produced since he took charge. Now please move on Moffat and give Peter a chance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great value for money, 16 Feb. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [Blu-ray 3D] (Blu-ray)
great value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [Blu-ray 3D] (Blu-ray)
Always great to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great special very watchable, 21 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
another great special,billie piper pops up and is great ,john hurt is fabulous in it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 45 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do Not Buy - Slowed Down, 1 Dec. 2013
By 
Mr. B. L. Haskell (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [Blu-ray 3D] (Blu-ray)
The blu ray transfer has been slowed down to 24fps (from 25) for i guess the American market. It is noticeable. This is appalling for a BBC UK show to treat the UK public with an inferior product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why not McGann, 8 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [Blu-ray 3D] (Blu-ray)
Its not that I have anything against John Hurt appearing in Doctor Who but the fact that we had 4 Doctors still alive means its strange that Moffat went for John Hurt. I think Paul McGann being the Doctor who destroyed Gaiilfrey would have pleased more fans.

A cameo appearance by the remaining other selves would have pleased all fans other than the stock footage where the Tardis and classic Whos unite.

It was a great tribute to Dr Who but could have been a whole lot better.

Also not sure what ecclestones problem is. Can someone please tell me. Even Colin Baker who was badly treated by the BBC still does things for the fans after the passage of time. I never rated Ecclestone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have never watched the NEW Dr, 25 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [Blu-ray 3D] (Blu-ray)
I used to watch Dr Who in the 80 s when I was a nipper and loved it ! When the show came back I was aware of its existence but didn't realy feel the need to go back ! I guess fate interviend as just by chance I viewed this anniversary special and loved it ! Same old wit coupled with some good drama and a bit of cheese on the side PERFECT Dr Who .

Just a question I would appritate if someone in the know could answer , Does this 3d Blu - Ray also play in 2d ? Thx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 125 26 2744 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who: The Day of the Doctor - 50th Anniversary Special [Blu-ray 3D]
£7.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews