Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah Cesare Borgia mmmmm
Someone recommended this series to me as I enjoyed The Tudors, Game Of Thrones and Rome. This was like those put together then times by 10. I absolutely was glued to it from the first minute. Apparently it's not historically correct but who gives a damn, what a story. Power, violence, the most beautiful man in the world (Cesare), the scenes and costumes are stunning. I...
Published 8 months ago by Able Marle Devon

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
These films lack, to my mind, sufficient historical explanation, and certainly do not give a correct impression as to the ages of the characters.
It was obvious that they were made by the same company who made 'The Tudors' - too much sex and not enough history. I was really disappointed.
That apart, the costumes are excellent and Jeremy Irons makes a very good...
Published 2 months ago by Angie


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ah Cesare Borgia mmmmm, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Borgias: Seasons 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Someone recommended this series to me as I enjoyed The Tudors, Game Of Thrones and Rome. This was like those put together then times by 10. I absolutely was glued to it from the first minute. Apparently it's not historically correct but who gives a damn, what a story. Power, violence, the most beautiful man in the world (Cesare), the scenes and costumes are stunning. I probably wont see anything in my lifetime that I enjoyed more!! The only thing that gets close to this is the Spanish series Isabel which is just finishing on Sky Arts 1 this week after 13 episodes. Similar vein and also very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WORTH EVERY PENNY - ABSOLUTELY MARVELLOUS, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Borgias: Seasons 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Jeremy Irons made this series, but there again, so did Francois Arnaud (wow!!!!) together with the entire cast. A wonderful production and thoroughly enjoyable and fascinating at the same time. Sean Harris also contributed his part. As I say, marvellous, can't wait to watch it all over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really compulsive watching, 1 May 2014
By 
Aunty Anne (Cumbria England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Borgias: Seasons 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
We didn't watch this on TV, and the DVD's were so good that we were watching several episodes a night. SUCH a pity that the final episodes were never made due to the budget. Costumes, acting, sets, all absolutely stunning. So much so that we have now bought the book and have also found out where Cesare is buried. Quite sad...but we intend to visit his last resting place and leave a tribute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Borgias: Seasons 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Fantastic production and cast. A tour de force from beginning to end. Shame that there will be no fourth series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved every minute, 29 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Borgias: Seasons 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
should have won far more awards than it was given, loved every minute of the entire 3 series. Acting and Costumes (which did win an award) are superb. Jeremy Irons, Francois Arnaud and Sean Harris are excellent, all the actors are great. Sean Harris especially creates a marvellous character in "Micheletto" - he is a cold calculating assassin yet you grow to love him! Gina McKee is fantastic as Caterina Sforza - this is the best I've seen her, she just oozes sex appeal, nobility, strength and depth etc, Gina has everything in this role, i'd sack castles for her and its no wonder she was cast in the role and why Cesare wanted her!
Summed up it is awesome, should have won far more golden globes.

SPOILER Alert;

I just wish at the end that there were a few credits/end titles which stated that Caterina would actually go on to outlive Cesare, as well as a few other facts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Borgias: Seasons 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Totally addictive and pity they have decided not to complete the final series.. Hours of excellent entertainment and superb acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review, 13 Oct 2013
This review is from: The Borgias: Seasons 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Loved every minute of it and thought series finale was a great way to end the show , sad though that their not making any more but will just watch it again. And cant wait for complete box set to be released on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent acting, costumes, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Borgias: Seasons 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Quality in every way . Excellent acting, costumes, pace etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Borgias: Seasons 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
wonderful seller, quick delivery and accurate description. No faults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Borgias: Seasons 1-3 Box Set [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Borgias: Seasons 1-3 Box Set [DVD]
The Borgias: Seasons 1-3 Box Set [DVD] by Jeremy Irons (DVD - 2013)
24.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews