Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very decent "affordable" game controller
I picked one of these up as I had trouble finding a shop with the official PS3 controller
I had some reservations as the price is low and I honestly didn't expect much here, but I'm pleased to say bar some limitations the controller is well made, works near enough as well as the official one does for a fraction of the price.

There are a few downsides...
Published 27 days ago by Mr Baz

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Overall Pad, but some issues *Updated*
Pros:-

1) The turbo is a great feature, not just for button mashing, but if you're in a game where you have to repeat through menus constantly and the cursor position is memorised (like an RPG, repeating the same attack) it saves a lot of button mashing and repetitive strain injury

2) It's a solid feeling pad, good grip, nice buttons. The D-Pad...
Published 10 months ago by M. Armstrong


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Overall Pad, but some issues *Updated*, 31 Mar. 2014
By 
M. Armstrong - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gioteck VX-2 Wireless Controller (PS3) (Video Game)
Pros:-

1) The turbo is a great feature, not just for button mashing, but if you're in a game where you have to repeat through menus constantly and the cursor position is memorised (like an RPG, repeating the same attack) it saves a lot of button mashing and repetitive strain injury

2) It's a solid feeling pad, good grip, nice buttons. The D-Pad passed the street fighter 2 test. If you can't reliably perform a hadouken on a d-pad, bin it I say. It's obviously much better than the rather terrible Xbox 360 dpad and it might even surpass the Dualshock 3 one. Analogs are great too. The shoulders are certainly more grippy than the DS3 but, in my personal opinion, I think you give up a little bit of comfort - although objectively, this may just be a muscle position I'm not used to and is remedied in time.

3) It works with rechargeable AA batteries so, I'd recommend you pick up for 4 AA rechargeable batteries so you can keep 2 on the charge all the time

Cons:-

1) Continuing the battery thread, this control has no USB interface, so if you're out of batteries, you're out of control. I'd of personally paid 2 quid extra for that USB. It taunts you by having the cut out for it. Add to that, if you don't already have rechargeable AAs and a charger to go with it, that's an expense that is added to the saving on a dualshock 3.

2) On PC the default driver only allows digital mode for the L2 and R2 shoulder buttons, despite them working as analog on the PS3. I am certain this could be fixed with a simple driver update, but until it is, I would say this is a glaring oversight. If you enjoy driving games, or simulations where the ability to feather a brake or throttle is key, you will be disappointed here. Even GTA4 on PC will suffer in driving mode.

3) Lack of bluetooth, as stated, it's a 2.4g wireless and it comes with its own dongle. I find that inconvenient. You can use a regular DS3 on a Android device with a bit of fiddling. This will never have that functionality.

Conclusion

If you're looking for a turbo PS3 pad specifically, this is a great choice, a solid feeling controller, if you're looking for a PC pad that has analog shoulder buttons, you're out of luck (check for driver updates). If you skipped to here, note the analog shoulder buttons do work on PS3. Whatever you pay for this pad, you have to factor in either the cost of batteries, or the cost of 4 AA rechargeables and a battery charger. If you already have these items, this pad will make great financial sense even if you weren't specifically looking for turbo.

Update:-

So I've had this for 9 months now, it's fairly resilient as the hardware itself is still in perfect working order. However, I've revised my review down to 3 Stars since at the time of writing, they have still yet to release a firmware or software update to enable analogue trigger function on the PC. It defies logic, the hardware is there as clearly demonstrated by using them on the PS3. If you have a stock of rechargeable AA batteries and you're only buying this for PS3, at the current price and still say it was a good buy. If yours isn't working I'd say you got bad luck and a dud unit and return it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very decent "affordable" game controller, 4 Jan. 2015
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gioteck VX-2 Wireless Controller (PS3) (Video Game)
I picked one of these up as I had trouble finding a shop with the official PS3 controller
I had some reservations as the price is low and I honestly didn't expect much here, but I'm pleased to say bar some limitations the controller is well made, works near enough as well as the official one does for a fraction of the price.

There are a few downsides firstly you have to use a USB port for the wireless dongle, the second is that this has no build in battery and is powered via 2 x AA cells. I would suggest investing in a few decent re-chargeable batteries for use with the gamepad. You also get a supplied USB to mini USB cable this is used to power the pad if you've no batteries in the unit or for playing on a computer/pc.

It does not charge the batteries if you have it connected to the PS3 you have to change them there is a lock in section at the back remove this and put the 2 AA cells in there.

Build is surprisingly good for the price with a solid feel no obvious creaking plastics or seams. The buttons are also responsive. On the top section a series of 4 red LED's indicate which of the 4 available channels it's connected to. The home button functions as the PS3 icon does, start/select are a little different in location raised higher up. There is also a "turbo" button this rapidly fires the pressed button of your choice saving you the hassle of button bashing frenzy a nice feature to have and one not present on the OEM controller

Analogue sticks are good they have excellent accuracy I didn't find any problems with them in all other ways this acts very much like the official controller does buttons have a somewhat different feel but still well above par here too. The size is a little larger than the PS3 offering but comfy with solid plastics and a harder rubber on the grey sections on the outer sides. In some ways I find this even nicer to hold than the original (having larger hands possibly)

It can't be denied that the OEM controller is very good esp with the build and built in battery, but really this is far better than the price suggests and so far battery life has been very good (over 9 days with 2 good AA's in the controller and used a fair bit)

At this price it's a bit of a steal really I expected something quite flimsy and poor but this has proven to be a respectable third party offering. Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for your money...go get one now!, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gioteck VX-2 Wireless Controller (PS3) (Video Game)
Positives:
1) Joypad casing is good solid quality either equal or better than the PS3 standard one.
2) Uses AA batteries and so no need to wait for recharging...simply replace batteries when it runs out of charge.
3) The button presses and analog sticks are as good as the PS3 standard one.
4) Excellent connection range with no disconnection problems.

Negatives:
1) Need to switch PS3 on from the PS3 box as the joypad is NOT able to do that for you.

I have not yet used the turbo functions so can not comment on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars does the job! !, 24 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gioteck VX-2 Wireless Controller (PS3) (Video Game)
purchased in June for my son as a replacement..it gets used loads & its still going strong..wouldn't hesitate to buy this controller again!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars the images show on the back of the pad a charging point like a standard PS3 controller, 6 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gioteck VX-2 Wireless Controller (PS3) (Video Game)
The pad is well made and works well. However, the images are deceptive, the images show on the back of the pad a charging point like a standard PS3 controller. However these wireless pads are actually battery operated. there is nothing whatsoever in the description on the site here that says that they are battery operated.

Also on the packaging it shows the same thing IE a power charge point. While the pad works well this is not a good procedure for honest sales. We wil use the pads but at the time of the purchase the wired version of the pad was not shown here, if it was we would have boguth thise IF we had known the pads shown were in fact battery powered!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Decent... Sort of., 7 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Gioteck VX-2 Wireless Controller (PS3) (Video Game)
I got this controller to help me with certain FPS games and such. It worked absolutely fine and the turbo function worked perfectly and helped me in certain games.

However, less than 20 days of me recieving this controller, random buttons keep getting pressed without me touching them. For instance using the left trigger and right trigger in an FPS game then suddenly the X button gets pressed and the Start button gets pressed causing quite a bit of rage.

I didn't expect much for quite a cheap controller and it had great potential, only it's bugged out and near unusable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Best of a bad bunch of Sony replacements, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gioteck VX-2 Wireless Controller (PS3) (Video Game)
Overall a very very good replacement control.
No other issue than the fact you need batteries and a Usb receiver for the control.
If was rechargeable would of been 5 stars as perfect in every other way.
100% gen honest review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The joypad is ok but its not like in the picture, 8 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gioteck VX-2 Wireless Controller (PS3) (Video Game)
The joypad is ok but its not like in the picture. You need AA batteries for a start to use this and there is no port to charge obviously.

The picture is misleading as it shows a charge port.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's a nice controller but the handle bit with the grip rubber ..., 31 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gioteck VX-2 Wireless Controller (PS3) (Video Game)
It's a nice controller but the handle bit with the grip rubber on it broke off after a slight push onto it (The rubber surrounded by the red line). I'm kind of disappointed that it broke so quick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Still struggling to get it working, 17 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gioteck VX-2 Wireless Controller (PS3) (Video Game)
I received it earlier this week. The USB is still flashing after 5h pairing and it suppose to turn to solid color in order to use it. Any advice here would be appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gioteck VX-2 Wireless Controller (PS3)
Gioteck VX-2 Wireless Controller (PS3) by Gioteck (PlayStation 3, Windows Vista / XP)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews