Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have no fear..........
I bought the box set even though 2 out of 7 reviewers had reported faulty DVDs. No need to worry, all four work fine. Content is as excellent as expected.
Published 1 month ago by Andy H

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Let me explain myself
The programmes are great. Really. Excellent and engaging and can't be faulted. It's a shame that BBC 2 mutilated the end credits on "Meet" and then the makers gave it to UKTVRecycle to hack them to bits still further, and not to BBC Four. That's why I was so excited that they'd all been released on DVD and in a box set.

And now the word you've all been waiting...
Published 7 months ago by Kif Hopkins


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Let me explain myself, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Romans Triple DVD Box Set Presented by Mary Beard - Caligula, Pompeii Life & Death in a Roman Town & Meet the Romans BBC2 (DVD)
The programmes are great. Really. Excellent and engaging and can't be faulted. It's a shame that BBC 2 mutilated the end credits on "Meet" and then the makers gave it to UKTVRecycle to hack them to bits still further, and not to BBC Four. That's why I was so excited that they'd all been released on DVD and in a box set.

And now the word you've all been waiting for... "But."

I ordered a set and found the discs had manufacturing faults on all but "Meet the Romans" Disc 1. Disc 2 broke-up and seized completely. "Caligula" did the same. "Pompeii" played, but there were periodic sound issues. On examination, Disc 2 of "Meet" looks okay in the light, but breathe on it and there emerges a 2-3mm ring on the disc at the point around where Scene 3 starts (it's about 2/3rds into the disc). Using Scene Select for Sc.3 caused the whole thing to lock-up and return to the Menu. A light inspection of the "Caligula" disc revealed blemishes, and what looked like dried water stains. Ditto "Pompeii", but without the blemishes. There seems to be a orange-y residue in the centre, or some kind of tiny blistering. I didn't want to mess around with it.

Disappointed I ordered a replacement, which arrived today. Went straight to "Meet" Disc 2, and selected Scene 3. DVD player fell over. Did the breath-test again. Same problem. A dark hoop in exactly the same place. There was no point in trying the others. So I'm having to send that one back too, and this time for a refund. Chances are all Amazon's stock has the same issues from a bad batch. At least, I hope it's just a bad batch and not the whole run. It might be worth noting that these are not BBC releases, but produced by an independent.

I'm so disappointed that high quality programmes have been victim to poor quality manufacturing. It's as if someone's come to my birthday party with a nice cake, and then done something unmentionable on it. I'm that disappointed.

These are DVDs I want to own and play fairly often (Roman history is a passion, and use such programmes for research purposes as pointers to original texts). But I can't keep ordering from, and returning stuff to, Amazon, so I'll have to try another retailer and hope their stock doesn't have the same problems. Or buy each DVD separately. However, since the box set is basically the original DVD releases in a cardboard wrapper, it's just as likely I could be buying a pig in a poke - not knowing what I'm going to get - and having to send items back as faulty until I find faultless versions of each.

Gutted.

UPDATED 23/2/14.

I've since bought this box set with A.N.Other online retailer, and it's the same again. I have three DVD players, excluding PC and laptops, two of which (the most recent) won't play either "Meet the Romans" DVD 2 or "Caligula" after Scene 3 in both cases. The eldest is more tolerant and doesn't fall over, but is also the one most likely to need replacing, and there's no guarantee that the new one will have any more luck playing these discs than the other two.

It does look very much like the entire run of these discs either used faulty blanks, or the blanks became damaged during production. If your copies of these play, then consider yourself very fortunate. and hope you don't need a new DVD player any time soon.

Still gutted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have no fear.........., 16 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Romans Triple DVD Box Set Presented by Mary Beard - Caligula, Pompeii Life & Death in a Roman Town & Meet the Romans BBC2 (DVD)
I bought the box set even though 2 out of 7 reviewers had reported faulty DVDs. No need to worry, all four work fine. Content is as excellent as expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hi It was for my Husband and he is delighted with it, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Romans Triple DVD Box Set Presented by Mary Beard - Caligula, Pompeii Life & Death in a Roman Town & Meet the Romans BBC2 (DVD)
Hi
It was for my Husband and he is delighted with it, thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Meet the Romans Disappointment, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Romans Triple DVD Box Set Presented by Mary Beard - Caligula, Pompeii Life & Death in a Roman Town & Meet the Romans BBC2 (DVD)
Bitterly disappointed because the first CD wouldn't work and sent it back for a refund. I had the same experience having bought one of the programmes separately and it too had the same problem. I think it must have been a faulty batch of CDs. A shame because I'm a big fan of Mary Beard's no-nonsense approach. She's about the antiquities and the stories of ordinary people who lived 2000 years ago in Rome. She's not trying to promote herself as so many presenters seem to want to do these days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great viewing, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Romans Triple DVD Box Set Presented by Mary Beard - Caligula, Pompeii Life & Death in a Roman Town & Meet the Romans BBC2 (DVD)
This is a superb collection from the great lady. Totally immerse yourself in the history which is brilliantly presented by a woman who really knows her stuff. The only problem is, when you watch it you just want to get online and book a flight to Italy....not a bad thing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Beard, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Romans Triple DVD Box Set Presented by Mary Beard - Caligula, Pompeii Life & Death in a Roman Town & Meet the Romans BBC2 (DVD)
Great value for money.

Mary Beard can be a bit over the top, but no doubting her enthusiasm and expert knowledge for the subject.

Very informative box set and great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 24 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Romans Triple DVD Box Set Presented by Mary Beard - Caligula, Pompeii Life & Death in a Roman Town & Meet the Romans BBC2 (DVD)
This is a great series with information you dont always hear in the general arena of such shows. Mary Beard is quite a character and unorthodox but very enjoyable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Beard, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Romans Triple DVD Box Set Presented by Mary Beard - Caligula, Pompeii Life & Death in a Roman Town & Meet the Romans BBC2 (DVD)
Even though it has not been released I just had to order it, as the shows were amazing and so enlightening. Mary Beard is a breath of fresh air when it comes to the documentaries. It is both fun and so imformative, she brings out both the best and the worst side of Roman history in a fun and entertaining way. So anyone who is interested in history, in anyway shape or form, make this item a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great way to time travel, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Romans Triple DVD Box Set Presented by Mary Beard - Caligula, Pompeii Life & Death in a Roman Town & Meet the Romans BBC2 (DVD)
Thoughtful exploration of the forces playing on those living in each "topic". Prof. Beard brings those times alive in a joyful and direct way. Bravo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews