Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars33
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£16.14
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 January 2014
I am a great fan of the 'Dummies' instruction books. I purchased one for my original Canon EOS 450d and downloaded the Kindle version for my new camera the Canon EOS 70D (which is markedly different to the 450D in many respects). The book is clear, concise and has enabled me to be up and running with the 70D in a couple of hours. I am no camera expert so I value the step-by-step approach the author takes. Can't fault it! The new camera arrived this afternoon and I have absorbed enough information about how to operate the various new settings to enable me to start using the camera with some degree of confidence first thing tomorrow. Much easier to understand than the manual provided by Canon.
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2014
Can't really add anything new to other reviews but would reiterate that it is much better to buy the book rather than the Kindle edition as you will need to refer to other pages to make sense of what is being said (difficult with Kindle) and it is much better than the instruction manual supplied by Canon.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2014
Having worked with cameras for many years, this book makes using a camera with a very complicated menu system a whole lot easier to understand.
Buy this superb Canon 70D, but don't be proud buy this book as well, it will help you to get the best from the camera.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
Reason for purchase? The minute Canon book I received with my 70D is ideal - to fit into the Borrowers' library.
This is a clearly written (and printed) book. It uncludes the bonus 'tips, remember, technical stuff and warning' symbols that are a part and parcel of the Dummies series of books.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
Excellent book, very easy to read and understand unlike other books out there. Great for starters in photography however it also has very basic stuff that most people already know such as how to copy to a memory card etc.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
Difficult to read on a kindle, as you have to refer to other chapters, then its awkward to return to last place.
Id recommend it in hard back though
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2015
Good book, bit it hops about a bit with its support. Goes from some of the menus, to flash I think, then another subject. It doesn't appear to have its lessons planned properly. But when the information is there, then its lucid, with plenty of examples, and plenty of photos.

So that is why I give it a four/five. Poorly planned but the essential bits are clearly explained, and when they are explained then its done clearly enough to be understood by a novice. A professional would probably feel the same way that I do.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2015
my Canon "Bible"
An invaluable book - plenty of information without the jargon you find in other books of this type.
It makes sense that if you spend a lot of money on a new camera, then a few quid on a book that tells you how to use it is a no-brainer.
review image review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2016
A very informative book making operation of the camera easier.
There isn't the usual generic photographic tips etc that a lot of similar books have which are not relevant to the particular camera.
Overall, very happy with the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2015
Great read, covers the basics for beginners right up to the more complicated techniques, covers every aspect of the camera in good detail. Great starter book for the 70D.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)