Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars84
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£13.29
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 February 2014
This simple to understand no nonsense approach is ideal for those of us trying to get to grips with this awful Windows 8. After years of computer use, Microsoft have turned the computing world upside down (in my opinion) with Windows 8 and 8.1. What was needed was a simple to use and understand 'idiot guide' and this book fits the bill. Highly recommended.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2014
As a long term user of Windows XP I was most disappointed with a new computer purchase which came preloaded with Windows 8.1. The Windows 8.1 for Dummies starts with a statement that if you are satisfied with your current system, think carefully before upgrading to 8.1, wise advice!
I have found the book helpful in getting to grips with the new system, but the real breakthrough came with downloading free software to avoid Microsoft's own Apps, designed to shoehorn you into dependence on their own software. Roll on Windows 9
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
Unless you're a computer whiz, you'll need this book for Windows 8.1. The best information it gave me was that I can type in a help request on the deskbook page even though there's initially no box for entering text. This appears after the first letter is typed. But bearing in mind how complicated Win 8.1 appears to a Dummy like me, it does a good job. If I get stuck, I type in the problem as previously stated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
I needed help as 8.1 is very different from previous Windows systems. Very!!!!
But this book by A R is excellent (as always!) and will certainly guide you through the trials and tribulations of 8.1....
No pictures, but if you have some knowledge of computing then you'll be fine and pleased with your ability to cope with Microsofts new ideas!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 2 November 2015
These books are a must for any Windows Operating System.
This one is particularly useful because Windows 8.1 is so different from what we have been used to.
It talks you through it clearly.
It also gives a good explanation of what Cloud/One Drive is. I didn't know what it was but this was very informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
This guide is up to the standard we have come to expect from the 'Dummies' writers. I needed it to cover a number of aspects associated with Windows 8.1 having switched from XP and Vista. It sits beside me for instant use. Windows is to a degree intuitive but only to a degree - at least it is for this 'Dummie'!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
Having jumped straight from Windows XP to 8.1, I definitely needed help, particularly with shortcuts and useful hints and tips. Found everything I needed (and more) in this book., which is easy to read and navigate. His writing style can get a bit wearing though, hence 4 stars rather than 5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
I would be lost without the Dummies book for the latest O/S. However, Microsoft seem to be making adjustments to Windows 8.1 all the time, so occasionally it doesn't work as Andy Rathbone says it will. Possibly it will need some updating as time goes on, but generally it is fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2015
It could be better, more explicit headings for the more obvious questions, setting up email acc for instance, how to find downloads, how to get pics to go where you want them, but generally it helped me to understand things better, I'm still struggling with quite a lot!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
An essential purchase for anyone upgrading from the old familiar windows system to the new and scary windows 8.1. Andy Rathbone takes you through everything from the absolute basics to the more advanced procedures whilst never using jargon or talking down to the reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)