Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something rich and strange...
Let's be clear from the start... This is not Easy Listening. There is very little of the catchy hooks and toe tapping whimsy of 'A Larum' (still my favourite) and 'Been Listening' in this album. 'Country Mile' requires a certain level of perseverance and investment from the listener and it repays that effort handsomely with high points like the beautiful, melancholic...
Published 18 months ago by Mr. B. A. Sorrill

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Johnny Flynn - Time to seek out new pastures
Johnny Flynn's name is one that seems forever linked to the rise of nu folk and the ubiquitous success of the all conquering Mumford and Sons now on "indefinite hiatus" and suffering a overtly vicious backlash. The latter are big lads and can look after themselves but Flynn has always deserved better. He is more in a traditional folk bracket owing debts to Martin...
Published 18 months ago by Red on Black


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Johnny Flynn - Time to seek out new pastures, 30 Sept. 2013
By 
Red on Black - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Country Mile (Audio CD)
Johnny Flynn's name is one that seems forever linked to the rise of nu folk and the ubiquitous success of the all conquering Mumford and Sons now on "indefinite hiatus" and suffering a overtly vicious backlash. The latter are big lads and can look after themselves but Flynn has always deserved better. He is more in a traditional folk bracket owing debts to Martin Carthy and Richard Thompson, plus tapping into deeper English traditions. Not that this has stopped the inevitable sniping about his work with NME describing "Country Mile" his album number three "as rootsy as the Chelsea Flower Show". This judgement is way to harsh and while some of the lyrics on this new album are sometimes contrived there is some very lovely music contained herein. "The Lady is risen" is a nice horn infused song with a great Flynn vocal and base elementary power. Equally the title track is nearer to rock music than folk and powers along nicely. Unfortunately Flynn does overplay his rustic credentials. Thus "Murmuration" starts with the line "The grass is long in the valley my love and there we will go to lie" and doesn't get much better. Its one of those songs that conjures up images of a finger in the ear and too much warm beer, while a another track like "Einstein's idea" is just plain dull. Much better is the slow but gorgeous ballad "Time unremembered" a sad lament with the albums best lyrical content and the snappy jazz feel of "Fol-de-Rol".

All in all this album is good in parts but what it is does lack is the sheer exuberance and fun of his brilliant debut "A Larum". While we cannot expect Flynn to constantly recycle songs like "The wrote & the writ" and "Tickle me pink" the current set on this album leaves a nagging doubt that music which was once as fresh as a daisy is starting to sound a bit tired. There no doubt that Flynn has talent to spare but perhaps after three albums which have stayed close to the same formula now is time for a rethink and change of direction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Something rich and strange..., 3 Oct. 2013
By 
Mr. B. A. Sorrill (S.W. Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Country Mile (MP3 Download)
Let's be clear from the start... This is not Easy Listening. There is very little of the catchy hooks and toe tapping whimsy of 'A Larum' (still my favourite) and 'Been Listening' in this album. 'Country Mile' requires a certain level of perseverance and investment from the listener and it repays that effort handsomely with high points like the beautiful, melancholic 'Time Unremembered', the lullaby 'Einstein's Idea' and the loud and raucous 'The Lady is Risen'

Johnny Flynn remains a remarkable song writer and an even more remarkable performer who has injected some much needed life into the British Folk scene. All three of his albums (four if you include 'Bag of Hammers') have shown a level of evolution in terms of style so you never feel like you are being underestimated and fobbed off with some 'going-through-the-motions' affair.

...and his voice is like honey and cinnamon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars for the album 1 star for the pressing, 16 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Country Mile [VINYL] (Vinyl)
I've been a fan of Flynn for a long time and whilst i've never seen him live (lack of effort on my part, unless Johnny wants come hang out and play a small gig in suffolk!) I have listened to pretty much everything that he has released.

Country Mile is a great album, I would try and review it but really I'm not a music writer and with spotify (and other music providers) out there theres no real excuse for not listening before you buy.
I heard this on spotify (which i subscribe to) and really liked it so I purchased the vinyl with digital download (always nice to have something physical you can hold)

The vinyl itself is nicely put together with good art work and is also nice a heavy. Its not a packed as A Larum (but that may have been a ltd edition) though.
The pressing however wasn't up to much. after putting it on and walking off to make a coffee I came back to hear it skipping all over the place - i initially thought someone had been messing about with the weights on my player but it came down to the vinyl.
I've had to give it a solid clean 5 or 6 times (per side) just to clear some of the grooves. This may have been a vinyl that skipped quality control but is something that I havent had to ever do for a new vinyl.

now its ultra clean the music is great and the quality is also fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best folk musician of the moment, 2 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Country Mile (MP3 Download)
Great new album!

Johnny Flynn is one of the most talented and accomplished musicians at the moment. The new album is as amazing and enjoyable as his previous albums. There seems to be no limit to his talent and I can't wait to see him live again and for a following album too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slightly disappointed that the style of the tracks were not the ..., 2 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Country Mile (Audio CD)
Slightly disappointed that the style of the tracks were not the same as his songs on "The Detectorists" as most were not accoustic, but as this was made last year, I suppose that is to be expected.
All in all a pleasant CD with some really good tunes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Service for Amazing Gig, 19 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Country Mile [VINYL] (Vinyl)
This was a Christmas present for my son and I was really impressed with the speed, presentation and care of packaging. The music speaks for itself and he and his whisky were well chilled by Boxing Day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this man's voice, 20 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Country Mile (Audio CD)
I love this man's voice. I only hope he releases his song from the 'Detectorists'. Wonderful singer and song writier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 25 Jan. 2015
By 
Bill Henthorn - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Country Mile (Audio CD)
Very enjoyable cd If I see he is playing in Cornwall I shall go and see him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Great Album, 7 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Country Mile (Audio CD)
Another brilliant album from the actor/musician.This is his best album to date in terms of songwriting and production.There is more variety in style but his uniqueness remains.He knocks out tunes for fun and his lyrics are always interesting.I love the line "I am the oldest man I know by now, I was the youngest yesterday". If you like any of his previous work you will love this.,highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great talent, 25 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Country Mile (Audio CD)
Very talented singer/songwriter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Country Mile
Country Mile by Johnny Flynn
Buy MP3 Album£5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews