Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Britney's back!
This album is not chock-full of hits, but it has some moderately good and fun songs.

I really like "Chillin' With You" which I just discovered features .... Jamie Lynn Spears!

Obviously "Work" and "Body Ache" are the top songs in the album.

"Don't Cry" gave me flashbacks to the Oops I Did It Again, N*Sync...
Published 6 months ago by FreeGirl420

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hits and misses one more time
Billed as a sequel to career-highlight, and fan-favourite "Blackout", it made little sense to launch the album's campaign with a hummering electro-club anthem called "Work bitch". For the most part, "Britney Jean" showcases anything but intimacy and depth which its title implies; it is mostly heavily auto-tuned, polished, melodic electro-pop stompers, and only a few...
Published 8 months ago by Scarlet Jupiter


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hits and misses one more time, 2 Dec 2013
Billed as a sequel to career-highlight, and fan-favourite "Blackout", it made little sense to launch the album's campaign with a hummering electro-club anthem called "Work bitch". For the most part, "Britney Jean" showcases anything but intimacy and depth which its title implies; it is mostly heavily auto-tuned, polished, melodic electro-pop stompers, and only a few sparse personal touches. The insanely addictive "'Til it's gone", combines great vocals over a massive beat-frenzy; "It should be easy" with its Daft Punk-esque bassline, is another thundering affair; and "Tik tik boom"'s crawling beats are irresistibly sexy. On the more subtle side, are the wonderfully isolating yet intimate gentle opener, "Alien", "Passenger", a guitar-led midtempo with a mystical vibe, and closing track's "Don't cry" fragility, reminiscent of former sublime single "Everytime".

Digital pop may be all about sonic perfection, but soul, substance and emotion, is frustratingly lacking. "Britney Jean" is almost a pristinely crafted result, but, for an album that is suggested to be personal, it is a shame that much more intimacy and depth are not showcased. Publicity implied that this would be an intimate affair, with Britney herself saying this is an album "specifically for my diehard fans", referring to it as her "most personal record yet". Evidently, it is more of an experiment than an autobiography, a transitional record, being her first album released in her thirties. She rarely repeats herself over the years, grabbing hold of trendy musical ideas in the most un-nuanced ways possible. That is a task Britney has skillfully accomplished. That's what makes hit albums; "Britney Jean" is a guaranteed one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Britney's back!, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britney Jean (Audio CD)
This album is not chock-full of hits, but it has some moderately good and fun songs.

I really like "Chillin' With You" which I just discovered features .... Jamie Lynn Spears!

Obviously "Work" and "Body Ache" are the top songs in the album.

"Don't Cry" gave me flashbacks to the Oops I Did It Again, N*Sync days (in a good way).

"It Should Be Easy" and "Til It's Gone" are danceable yet generic fast-paced electro songs.

I was not happy with the album art, which I thought was uninspired.

I hope Britney continues to make great electronic dance music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Britney Jean is some of her best work to date - track by track review, 3 Dec 2013
This review is from: Britney Jean (Audio CD)
Britney Jean, the newest album from Britney Spears is being released today, one day after her 32nd birthday. Overall this album has more hits than misses but strangely the strongest tracks weren't released as the first or second single. Unlike, Femme Fatale, this album features a fair balance between the dance tracks and the mid-tempo/ballads. While I think Britney's voice is suited for dance backdrops, she sounds surprisingly good on half of the mid-tempo tracks. The lyrics have gotten significantly deeper than her previous albums and we are seeing a more grown-up Britney.
If you are only going to buy a couple tracks to try the album out, then you should start with:
1. Body Ache
2. Till It's Gone
3. Passenger
Here is a review of the tracks IN ORDER of FAVORITES:

1. "Body Ache" -- This hot electro house edm track reminds me most of "Scream & Shout," mixed with some 90's hi-nrg euro. The best track on the album with her best vocals to date. RELEASE THIS NOW!
2. "Til It's Gone" -- Heavy EDM track that is hard to get out of your head and another vocal stand-out from Ms. Spears. One of her best songs ever!
3. "Passenger" -- Katy Perry gets writing credits and Diplo gets production credits on this slower mid-tempo track and what I think should have been, either the first or second single from this album.
4. "Alien" -- William Orbit worked on this awesome mid-tempo track.
5. "Work B----" -- We all know this one. While I love this track, I am not happy that it was chosen as the first single. Nonetheless the beat is hot and the video is hotter.
6. "Tik Tik Boom" (featuring T.I.) -- Super sexy lyrics against a hip-hop pop-hop backdrop with super catchy chorus to boot. Ultimately this could have been released by any of today's female singers so expect more from Britney but nonetheless its highly addicting.
7. Now That I Found You - Great EDM track with a country vibe similar in sound to that Pitbull/Kesha collaboration that's out. Beautiful lyrics, beautiful vocals. Great track! This should be on all versions of the album.
8. "It Should Be Easy" (featuring will.i.am) -- This is my least favorite of the EDM Will.I.Am tracks.
9. "Perfume" -- Sia gets writing credits for this track. I was expecting much more from a Sia collaboration and these are not my favorite Britney vocals. Shocked that this was chosen as a single release. This is sadly headed for flop status. The "Dreaming" version (which is on the deluxe) sounds significantly better to me than the original.
10. "Chillin' with You" (featuring Jamie Lynn) -- Awkward track on an overall great album. Clearly, shes trying to help promote her sister with this filler track. Pass.
11. "Don't Cry"/"Brightest Morning"/"Hold On Tight" -- Not impressed with any of these slow jam fillers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Sack the producers and stick with 1 producer!, 13 Jun 2014
This review is from: Britney Jean (Audio CD)
I like this album but it has its downfalls which are mainly down to her team rather than Brit herself.

Alot of my dislike of this album comes down to the producers/production on the album. One minute you get a raw vocal then next you get a polished vocal then you get the Will.i.am mess of auto-tuned to death. Some parts sounds like she has a blocked nose and others you could say her background vocalist takes over(aka the in-famous Myah Marie). Fair enough she doesn't have the strongest vocals but I like to see a simple acoustic / raw vocal album without the production. Fans and critics would respect her more without all of the tweeks.

I'm not even sure Brit even knows what she sounds like these days since her albums are generally over produced then when it comes to live! shows she simply lip-syncs / mic turned off.

Stand Out Tracks - Body Ache, Til It's Gone, Alien, Tik Tik Boom and Don't Cry. Those saying its not "personal" then i'd disagree some of the tracks are personal if you can see between the production and lyrics you'll see the meaning of the song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit of the old Britney is back!, 8 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: Britney Jean (Audio CD)
I've been a Britney fan since the Baby One More Time days and so I always look forward to a Britney album. This album release incudes some great songs, some of which remind me of that classic pop type era and similar to tracks from her 'In the Zone' album. There are some slower tracks on there too one of my favourites on the whole album is Passenger which is a lot different from her recent release of 'Work B****'. This album has a good mix of up-tempo and slower songs which Britney fans should enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good album but definitely not her best, 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britney Jean (Audio CD)
Firstly, i want to say that i do like this album, the good songs on here outweigh the not so good ones for me, but i can understand where a lot of critics are coming from. The album is too messy and too weak for such a well established artist to release. As it is Brit's 8th album, the album does fail to reach her already very high standard which is a shame. but i can't help but feel her move from Jive to RCA played a role in the albums fate. i just hope she does at least make another great album and end on a high, rather than retire now as she has already stated that she might do.

The opening track is "Alien" and this song is very much 'alright', definitely not a standout on the album, but i do understand where the producers where trying to go with this song (trying to make it eerie, fresh or mysterious), but i just feel that Britney's vocals just don't suit the song. - 5/10
Next is "Work Bitch" which i feel is a fantastic song. will.i.am, Otto Knows and Sebastian Ingrosso all played a role in making this song and the end result is truly brilliant. So fresh, so now and the producers really took into account Britney's vocals on this song as she sounds great on it. - 10/10
We swiftly move onto "Perfume" (which is quite oddly placed i feel as it is stuck between 2 massive dance tracks, but oh well), its the 2nd single to be lifted from the album, and its really nice to see Brit release a ballad as she hasn't in a while, Sia helped create the song and Brit does do the song justice, i just feel that this song could have been sung by Rihanna or Katy Perry; theres nothing 'special' about this song that makes it truly Britney. (I do still like the song though!) - 7/10
Okay, so next is probably the most talked about song on the album, "It Should Be Easy". Many people hate the song as the main girls vocals are way, waaaaay to over autotuned, but i really like the song. i can understand that the song is quite generic in terms of todays dance music, but theres just something about the song that i really like, and is actually one of my favourites on the album. - 9/10.
We then have "Tik Tik Boom", which i don't have much to say other than its a good song (nothing special) and it amuses the teenage boy inside of me as it does sound like she's saying 'dick' over and over again. anyway i give this song 7/10.
Then we have "Body Ache" and "Til Its Gone". both are massive club songs and a really great to dance to. i can imagine the latter being a single at some point. both songs get 8/10 from me.
Track 8 is probably my favourite song off the album at the moment, "Passenger" (which is co-written by Katy Perry) is a great track with great lyrics and i can imagine hearing this song on the radio in the summertime being a big hit. really feel good and refreshing, however sadly probably the last great song on the album - solid 10/10.
So...this is where the album starts to fail for me. "Chillin With You" is a very, very basic song with some of the simplest lyrics i've heard in a while. This song would just about pass as B-Side material. but the annoying thing about this song is that it gets stuck in my head, and not in a good way. not a fan of this one - 2/10.
We then have "Don't cry", "Brightest Morning Star" and "Hold On Tight" - all of which are not bad songs by any means, they are just very mediocre for Britney. they're forgettable and not that catchy, and its a shame. they all get a very even 4/5/10 for me. The last new song on the album is "Now That I've Found You" which is again nothing special at all. an 'alright' song - 5/10.

As i said, i do like the album in general, i just feel that it's a bit of a let down considering other albums like "Femme Fetale", "Circus" or the epic "Blackout".

Let's just hope she does do another album at some point, and that she goes back to the good old Britney we loved.

Overall a 7/10 from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Her Career is going downhill this second, 26 May 2014
By 
J. wilson (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Britney Jean (Audio CD)
This certainly doesn't seem to be a '' personal '' record at all, and it certainly isn't Britney's greatest work either... the poor sales haven't helped either and her latest lip synced show '' Britney: Piece of me '' isn't as wow as you'd expect from the pop diva Britney. Dont get me wrong, I used to be a die hard fan of Britney Spears, loved her hits and the energetic performances she was known for, now it's just meh. Alien, Work Bitch, Body Ache, Perfume and Hold on Tight seem to be the only tracks that stand out to me, all the songs on this album WILL grow on you after the first few listens. There must be hope for her next album... please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's Britney Jean b**tch!, 2 Dec 2013
By 
I. Zaras (Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Britney Jean (Audio CD)
Since "Blackout" came out, every album Britney released seemed like something was missing. Her input on her albums was minimum and somehow felt irrelevant. But not this time. Britney Jean is an album filled half with club bangers half with heart-felt songs.

Britney has writing credits on every single song and making it her most personal album to date. She mainly collaborated with will.i.am, but also has new people she worked with like William Orbit, Sia, David Guetta, Nicky Romero and a producer from the past Dr. Luke. Even Katy Perry has writing credits on "Passenger"!

The dance songs are mainly influenced (if not entirely made of) EDM, in style of the lead single "Work b**ch". The slower songs are mainly on the last half of the album (4 of which are deluxe edition bonus tracks).

The best songs are (In order of preference):

- Til it's gone (A gem can be found in every album of hers)
- It should be easy (There's so much argument between fans for this because her voice is heavily auto-tuned (Robotney) but I simply adore it)
- Work b**ch
- Body ache
- Now that I found you (Ballad-ish at the beginning, but the after chorus breakdown can make you the happiest man on Earth)
- Tik tik boom
- Perfume

The dance songs are more powerful for me, since they are the only reminders of blackout, but there's enough for everyone! The only flaw? It's too short! There are only 10 songs on the standard edition, so you'll need to get the deluxe edition to get a full dose of Brit Brit!

Britney Jean is the best album Mrs. Britney Spears has released since "Blackout" and it's a proof that when she gets involved into her music, magic can happen! With all means, BUY IT!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars hoping next album is better, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britney Jean (Audio CD)
Bit disappointed with Britney Jean after the excellent Femme Fatale which is one of my fave EDM albums in recent times. So I guess it did have a lot to live up to for me as a casual Britney fan. That said, there are one or two stand out tracks which made my ears prick up. Perfume and Passenger were good, and quite liked the duet she did with her sister. Work B***h I did enjoy as a dance stomper. Overall though, I missed the big tunes of the last album. Will certainly listen to some of the tracks again though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars backwards step, 7 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. C. Mann - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Britney Jean (Audio CD)
Britneys audience has grown up, this music is for their children I think, just not anywhere near as good as the last cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews