Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mr Selfridge - Series 2, 29 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Selfridge - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I found Series 2 positively charming. Dazzling set dressing; wonderful costumes, make up, hairdos; a nicely flowing story with some surprising twists and well fleshed out characters. I also found the acting overall more convincing than in the first series. For me it's a keeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mr. Selfridge, 25 April 2014
By 
M. Chirathivat (Bangkok, Thailand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Selfridge - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The second season shows a more family orientated Mr. Selfridge and get to like his character better than the first season.

The acting is super of all the main characters and the story line of Lady May and her awful husband helps to liven up the season.

The introduction of new characters gives a better insight into the jealousies among the staff and how each of them handles their own personal problems.

Look forward to a series 3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darker, but not less addictive!, 16 July 2014
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mr Selfridge - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Season Two of “Mr Selfridge” picks up in 1914 as Selfridge & Co. celebrates its fifth anniversary while Europe is on the brick of war. It begins with proprietor Harry Selfridge (excellently cast Jeremy Piven) anxious for the return of his estranged wife Rose (Frances O'Connor) from America; and continues with plenty of war-related stories, as well as love stories. Though the central figure of Mr. Selfridge is H.G. Selfridge, it's the whole cast that makes the show come alive, as it centres of the relationships among employees and employers, which are passionate, supportive, sometimes dysfunctional and very occasionally spiteful.

I loved this season, although it is much darker then the first, it is still impressively detailed and masterfully put together. “Mr Selfridge” is not a show for everybody, but if it fits your mood, it’s such enjoyable series! I really loved the show and cannot wait for Season Three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent viewing, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Selfridge - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed series 1 so much I had to buy series 2 straight away and found it just as good. Really entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Selfridge's, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Selfridge - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I really love this series and I'm looking forward to the next one. Lively acting, nice plots with interesting characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So pleased to receive this., 29 May 2014
By 
J M BATE (surbiton,, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Selfridge - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Great. Mr Selfridge was so good. We'd been away & missed it so thanks for that as British dramas are the best in the world, plus we have so many excellent actors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it...., 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Selfridge - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This series is excellent. The characters keep you interested and each week was waiting for the next episode....now can't wait for the next series. Love Lady Mae.....excellent actress...come such a long way since Coronation Street.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Drama, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Selfridge - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliant series that delivers not only insight into the fashion world of the early twentieth century but is also able to tie in key historical events like WW1. While series one was slow at first, series 2 delivers very strong episodes which lead towards a big conclusion. Top quality drama. A must see for any fans of period dramas like Downton Abbey and The Paradise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HUGE WORLDWIDE AUDIENCES - AMAZING PRODUCTION, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mr Selfridge - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the best production of a rivetting period drama for some time. The quality of the Writing and Acting is sparkling as is the lavish well researched Costume Design and authentic scenery. A feast. The Oxford Street outdoor scenes with carriages and buses are truly atmospheric and cleverly filmed.
The second series, 5 years on, contains several intriguing twists and turns that have us in suspense wiith some sad and some satisfying unexpected conclusions.

l felt proud to read that something which l enjoyed SO much has attracted acclaim from all over the world.
Much more enjoyable on DVD without adverts breaking the fantastic atmosphere and dialogue.
l lit my room with candlelight and stayed
up watching all the episodes all night, hooked ! Now waiting for series three "with supreme anticipation."
A masterpiece. l hope they win awards for every aspect of this production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 15 July 2014
This review is from: Mr Selfridge - Series 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I love this series and managed to get it at a really good price as many places charge far too much. If you weren't in love with Mr Selfridge in series 1 then you will be by the end of series 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mr Selfridge - Series 2 [DVD]
Mr Selfridge - Series 2 [DVD] by Jeremy Piven (DVD - 2014)
9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews