Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars76
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 January 2014
Only the BBC can come up with these fabulous one-off dramas!
This had me gripped from the start - yes, it may be a little predictable but with stellar performances from David Morrissey & Sheridan Smith along with the ever-brilliant Olivia Colman, it's the best thing I've watched in a long time.
Commuting into London has never looked so good!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
‘The 7.39’ is the sort of TV drama that one wouldn’t necessarily expect to be that good – after all, we know that Carl & Sally are going to have an affair, and that it’s going to end in the proverbial train crash. So what makes it enjoyable (and it is enjoyable, hugely so) ? Both characters are looking for an escape of sorts and many will empathise with at least one situation. At risk of another railway analogy, the story accelerates nicely in the last 30 minutes and, without giving too much away, finishes in a very well-judged, bittersweet way: always the best option for the conclusion of such dramas. Great TV film.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
A drama has to be good when it has the viewer shouting "No! Don't go there!" at the screen. Well-established and convincingly portrayed characters involve you from the start, and the ending is both poignant and real. Not a fairytale, but a story of how easy it is for relationships to stray into dangerous territory.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
Excellent production! The actors were fantastic. Sheridan Smith and Olivia Colman were superb and David Morrissey was sublime. Everyone who has seen it loves it. Well done to everyone.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
Truthful portrayal of the blissful highs and devastating lows an affair can have on ordinary people .Filmed mainly on a daily commute that changes their lives .
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
I only brought this as i missed the second part on the tv and by the time i went to watch it it was not on the i player. Really enjoyable and i would watch it again.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2014
I consider this one of the best love stories I have ever come across. This was a brilliant style of love story that probably happens to many people around the world today. I was glued to the screen and thought the action never missed a beat.
Everybody should watch this dvd as it is so realistic, even long term married couples should watch as this can happen to anybody and at any time.
After all older men are susceptible to being knocked over by younger and more beautiful girls that enter your life without warning.
The train journeys were heart throbbing and fun to watch.
As an older man I know that I would be swept away in such a setting and fall in love, just like the actor did.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
I loved this film. It tells an "everyday story" in a perfect way.

The dialogues (when you can hear them!) are natural.
The actors are truly great and, to be honest, Sheridan Smith gets more and more attractive as the story develops.

And, as I wrote in my title, the point of this story is that you need to have an affair in order to save your marriage. And your wife has to learn to leave with it.

A little bit unpleasant, isn't it? That's why I only give it 4 stars (and because of the lack of subtitles).
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2015
I just loved this brilliant Carnival Films (Downton Abbey, The Last Weekend etc) production, again demonstrating what a talented creative organisation they are.

David Morrissey (Carl) and Sheridan Smith (Sally) were made for their parts, the casting could not have been bettered. The body language, the eye contact, the sweetly forming smiles, the innuendo and even the large onscreen texts conspire to simmer into something that two people will live to either embrace or regret.

It is a clever plot by David Nicholls, one that could have been so cheesy and predictable but is neither. It is believable and works on several levels, one being the crumbling falling of a middle-aged man for the younger, attractive woman available in a captive position on the same train every day and the stressed, slightly bored younger woman enchanted by the charms of the older man. Sally and Carl are two people who should never have crossed the line of commuter chat and friendship given that they were both in happy and rewarding relationships and didn’t set out to rock those boats, but as we know in life, one spark can become a forest fire so easily and the danger is that all hell can break loose.

The film is skilfully produced in a way that leaves the viewer feeling almost embarrassingly voyeuristic, like a fly on the wall, peering into the lives of these two people and their respective family lives. As the train pulls out of the station every morning (the 7.39) bound for commuter life in London, one can feel the gradual pull of the events unfolding, the plot becomes magnetic and the end result increasingly quickening in pace and as if it is heading for a head on crash at any moment. Will it result in a the best thing that ever happened to two people meeting on a train or a tortured, painful shunt into the sidings? You will discover the truth when you watch this terrific film.

Excellent parts also by Olivia Colman (Carl’s wife) and Sean Maguire (Sally’s boyfriend and husband to be)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
At root this is an age-old tale of infatuation, temptation and all the consequences that result from taking one fatal step over the invisible line that separates thought and action. What makes this story compelling and watchable over and over is the superb ensemble cast with Olivia Colman arguably stealing the laurels as the wronged wife. Filmed beautifully and with a tightly written script, this was one of 2014's best pieces of TV. Watch it and you'll likely end up reflecting on some of your own work experiences....
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.