Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting thriller....
This fast action story starts in 1190 with an explanation of how the Holy Lance, a revered Christian symbol was entrusted to a Knight Templar, Johannes von Hartelius and subsequently into his family's safekeeping in perpetuity. Moving swiftly to 1945 and the last days of the Reich in Germany, Adolph Hitler entrusts a special package to two of his most trusted supporters,...
Published 15 months ago by jaffareadstoo

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Save your money.
If you like nutters running round in SS uniform and your central character in bed more than any where else, don't care too much about the depth of the story line and can wait until the last few lines to find what the Prophecy is ,then buy this book.

If you want a book that makes you yearn for more when its finished , then buy something else, this will only...
Published 15 months ago by mr w robb


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exciting thriller...., 20 Feb. 2014
By 
jaffareadstoo (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This fast action story starts in 1190 with an explanation of how the Holy Lance, a revered Christian symbol was entrusted to a Knight Templar, Johannes von Hartelius and subsequently into his family's safekeeping in perpetuity. Moving swiftly to 1945 and the last days of the Reich in Germany, Adolph Hitler entrusts a special package to two of his most trusted supporters, a package they must protect to the death. In the present day, intrepid photo journalist, John Hart finds himself caught up in a series of violent and catastrophic events which shatter his belief in everything he once felt was true.

The Templar Prophecy gets off to a good start; the historical opening of the story is credible although I would have liked to know a little more about the Holy Lance in this initial phase of its journey and of the Knight Templar who to some extent forms the basis of the story. As time moves forward to 1945 and the present day, the malevolent aspect of the narrative really starts to come alive and the action becomes fast , furious and not without moments of extreme violence. The historical strands start to coalesce and it soon becomes obvious that modern day protagonist, John Hart, has some link with the past, and the violent death of a member of his family is just the catalyst he needs to fulfil his destiny.

Overall, I really enjoyed this story, and found it to be a real page turner. The writer has a great sense of time and place. His ability to control the narrative whilst maintaining the integrity of the story and the rapid pace of the action is commendable. As with all fast action thrillers, there are times when you have to suspend belief, but then, isn't that what good fiction is all about?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Save your money., 28 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar Prophecy (John Hart) (Kindle Edition)
If you like nutters running round in SS uniform and your central character in bed more than any where else, don't care too much about the depth of the story line and can wait until the last few lines to find what the Prophecy is ,then buy this book.

If you want a book that makes you yearn for more when its finished , then buy something else, this will only leave you asking , what was that all about ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting book, 15 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar Prophecy (John Hart) (Kindle Edition)
This is another great book from Mario Reading. It is a fast paced thriller, set in 3 time frames.once in I found I couldn't put it down. I really enjoy these time slip novels, the scenes in the Crusades and then in Hitler's bunker were realistic and compelling. It was interesting to have a fallible 'hero' for a change and this created the dramatic tension, you waited with bated breath waiting to see what he was going to do next. this would make a great holiday read and I am recommending it to the reading group I go to. It should make for a lively debate, can we escape our genetics or is it fate?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting adventure, 7 Dec. 2013
This review is from: The Templar Prophecy (John Hart) (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed the Templar's Prophecy which took me from the heat of the Crusades to Hitler's last moments inside his bunker, and on to the present. This book is a page-turner. It has it all: depth, a stimulating plot, well-researched history, adventure, love and betrayal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars cheap holiday read, 12 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar Prophecy (John Hart) (Kindle Edition)
This is a book that started off well and promised much in the beginning before quickly becoming a rather sorry tale.It lets the reader down in so many ways that the disappointment is rather hard to take.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved the escapism, 3 Feb. 2014
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Templar Prophecy (John Hart) (Kindle Edition)
As a reader of Thrillers, I do love to grab a title that brings some ancient wonders/mysteries to the fore and blends it with a cracking story that not only keeps you glued to the final page but generates a wonderful sense of awe within the reader.

This title by Mario hits all the spots for a reader, you have cracking characters, good high octane pace and when added with villains that not only give the principle player a run for their money but also leaves you wondering how the author is going to combat the twists that are thrown in the way. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good story, 1 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar Prophecy (John Hart) (Kindle Edition)
This is an eminently readable book, with a good story, but nothing too in-depth or complex. Everything flows chronologically and there is just the one minor twist at the end - if you can call it that. It's an enjoyable book which doesn't require much thinking. It's major flaw is the characters - there is no depth to them, what you see is what you get and yet you are expected to believe that even the German thugs can speak and understand fluent English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 15 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar Prophecy (John Hart) (Kindle Edition)
A little fanciful in parts and difficult to see the man character being quite so gullible.
All in all a good read.
Watty
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hmm except for 1paragraph sending me bonkers, 19 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar Prophecy (John Hart) (Kindle Edition)
Sort of a dan brown esque thriller. A little ... Too drawn out in places and annoying when kindle wouldn't play last page !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Just not my kind of book however other readers might enjoy, 3 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Templar Prophecy (John Hart) (Kindle Edition)
I found this really hard going. Read a quarter of it and stopped. Wont be finishing it and wont be
buying any more books from this author. Its very graphically written and I found parts of it quite disturbing. Was unable to sleep after reading as much as I read. Just not my kind of book however other readers might enjoy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Templar Prophecy (John Hart)
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews