Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good
Goodbye, Piccadilly is exactly what I was looking for, an all round good read, if you're looking for a World War 1 story that describes not just the horror of war covering not only the life of men in the front line but that of the people left behind, then I would recommend you give this book a go.
Published 9 months ago by zansdad

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good historical detail, weak story
This read loke a book written by a good histrian who struggles to find his way as a novelist (better thsn being the other way around!) The detailed knoeledge of trench life is impressive but I found the storylines predictable but worse still not comletely followed through: eg having reached a good climax in the last chapter it then just fizzles out.
Published 5 months ago by Les


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 13 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodbye, Piccadilly (London Irish Rifles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Goodbye, Piccadilly is exactly what I was looking for, an all round good read, if you're looking for a World War 1 story that describes not just the horror of war covering not only the life of men in the front line but that of the people left behind, then I would recommend you give this book a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, 11 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodbye, Piccadilly (London Irish Rifles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I thoroughly enjoyed this book, gives an insight into the lives of the men fighting in the trenches and those who were left behind,. Historically correct with a good story line...I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star read, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodbye, Piccadilly (London Irish Rifles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
When I started this book I though it would be another "cor blimey left the old duchess back in the east end" type book. How surprised I was and pleasantly so. This book deals with trench warfare in bold terms it doesn't hold back at all. I also like the fact that it deals with other parts of the Great war other than the battle of the Somme which some writers seem to think was the extent of this dreadful war. Well done AJ Warren your research must have been extensive to write this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodbye, Piccadilly (London Irish Rifles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A really well researched and well written 'factional' novel based on a period of history that does not have many historical novels wriiten about it . The characters - both military and civilian are well detailed and developed throughout the book and give a real feel for this tumultuous period of change .
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moving novel, 2 Feb 2014
By 
Master S. Lowe (Essex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodbye, Piccadilly (London Irish Rifles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Definitely a worth while read for any world war one enthusiast. However, the dialogue between characters could have been better and the ending, I found, disappointing. Nonetheless a well researched book which was all in all enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read., 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodbye, Piccadilly (London Irish Rifles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I thought at first it would be a romance but it certainly wasn't. It mostly revolves around 2 brothers who head off to France to "do their bit", both for different reasons. A J Warren writes an engrossing story and, as already mentioned, has comprehensively researched the Great War. His description of the brutality and fear of the soldiers really transports the reader to that time.
A magnificent story, well written and of interest not only to war buffs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Un-put-downable, 24 Nov 2013
This review is from: Goodbye, Piccadilly (London Irish Rifles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
From the first lines of the book I knew that I was going to be hooked. WW1 is not necessarily a topic I would have chosen to read about but it's so historically significant at the moment with the centenary approaching that I thought I would give it a try. I thoroughly enjoyed AJ Warren's book and it's clear his knowledge is as extensive as his passion for his subject. However AJ Warren has made what could have been a difficult subject matter, engaging and engrossing. To the point that I couldn't put it down and am now desperate to read more of his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book, 30 Oct 2013
This review is from: Goodbye, Piccadilly (London Irish Rifles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Goodbye Piccadilly is the sort of book that makes you late for appoointments as it is very hard to put down. It quickly becomes clear that A J Warren has a huge and fascinating knowledge of WW1 and he has managed most successfully to translate that into an enjoyable and educational read. Highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodbye, Piccadilly (London Irish Rifles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Very well written. Captivating characters and real facts. Thoroughly good read. Would recommend highly to anyone . Keeps your interest from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love will conquer all, 16 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Goodbye, Piccadilly (London Irish Rifles Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
A really good story. Not only is this a graphic account of the Great War with life and death sharing the same stinking, muddy trenches but the book also takes a very human look at the War with threads of a love story, family feud, and a shared sense of the loss and the human tragedy of the whole seemingly endless and pointless suffering running right through from page one to the very end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews