Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin!
A very smart-looking piece of kit, fits very nicely under my Panasonic TV. Obviously the sound is very much a case of what appeals to the listener but there are an excellent array of sound types to chose from (cinema, stadium etc.). Very easy to set up and works well with Viera link.
The two built-in subwoofers are quite powerful (much to my wife's disgust!) but can...
Published 9 months ago by KL

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overall good product
Looks good and improves sound from my flatscreen even though only in 2:1. Although the subwoofer can be reduced it can sometimes sound a bit boomy and dominate the soundtrack when base sounds are not so relevant even on lowest level. Otherwise good vocal and high end definition with variety of sound options.
Published 6 months ago by Mr T D Noon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin!, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic SC-HTE80EB-S Wireless Speakerboard with Bluetooth Wireless Technology - Silver (Electronics)
A very smart-looking piece of kit, fits very nicely under my Panasonic TV. Obviously the sound is very much a case of what appeals to the listener but there are an excellent array of sound types to chose from (cinema, stadium etc.). Very easy to set up and works well with Viera link.
The two built-in subwoofers are quite powerful (much to my wife's disgust!) but can be altered on a scale of 1 to 4 to suit as can certain other sound settings. This is an ideal product for those who do not want to turn their living rooms into a sound studio but want to add some extra depth and clarity to both their TV and DVD player sound. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 17 Jan 2014
This review is from: Panasonic SC-HTE80EB-S Wireless Speakerboard with Bluetooth Wireless Technology - Silver (Electronics)
I am quite choosy when it comes to home cinema and sounds but have been mightily impressed with this relatively inexpensive "sound-plate". It fits beautifully under a recently purchased 32" Panasonic LCD screen. Plug and Play set up with use of a HDMI cable plugged in to the ARC (Audio Return Channel) HDMI sockets on both the TV and the Soundbar. Then it automatically turns on or off with the TV remote so no need to use the one supplied with the Soundbar.
You will tend to use the small sound bar remote during set up though and to tweak the sounds to how you like them.Plenty of options are given to increase/decrease the base, adjust dialogue/speech and plenty of presets for a type of sound you want. I found that I prefer the "Cinema" setting for watching the TV. I do feel however that speech can still sound a little "nasal" but where you really gain is with the mid tones and base response and a wider sound stage so a big overall improvement over the rather "thin" sounding inbuilt TV speakers.
Where I am REALLY impressed is with the Bluetooth pairing and audio use with my iPhone and iPad. It streams the music seamlessly and sounds fantastic for such a small speaker( without a separate floor standing subwoofer unit).And no drop-outs in the sound! Fantastic really! More expensive competitors do not even have this function!
Make sure you have a HDMI lead as this is not supplied (you can purchase an excellent but cheap one on this very site!) but I tried it with the optical audio cable to begin with and it still sounded fantastic, but then you have to use 2 remotes (the TV one and the sound bar one) to control both units which is more hassle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A remarkably good sound-box for it's compact size. excellent value for money., 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic SC-HTE80EB-S Wireless Speakerboard with Bluetooth Wireless Technology - Silver (Electronics)
This speakerboard really does replace the reedy sound produced by the tiny speakers in modern thin profile televisions with warm wide-spectrum sound. Despite having only small speakers itself and no separate boom-box it manages to produce remarkably rich and strong base. Of course it's not a home cinema system and can't produce surround-sound and the stereo effect is limited.

It's solidly constructed to allow the television to stand directly on it and looks good. if used with a VIERA linked Panasonic set, there's the added advantage that it is controlled, via the hdmi lead, by the television so that the soundboard's remote control is only needed for the initial setup. Although the 'out of the box' initial settings are ok, it is worth playing with the settings to suit your personal preferences. The user instructions are simple and informative.

As previously mentioned, it can't compete with a full home cinema system. But it gives perfectly good sound for every-day viewing of TV and films in a compact and easy to use package and, in my opinion, is excellent value for money. I recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sound & lovely looks. Operation is a dream, 22 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic SC-HTE80EB-S Wireless Speakerboard with Bluetooth Wireless Technology - Silver (Electronics)
This Speakerboard is a perfect size to sit under my Panasonic TV's stand. It connects to the TV and to my Panasonic Freeview Recorder/Bluetooth player. The Player connects only to the Soundboard via HDMI & does not need another one to the TV.

The TV remote controls the volume and if you want to change the pre-set sound (movie, voice, music etc) you can use the little remote which is supplied.

We used to have a surround sound system. Great but lots of wires. This gives just as good main sound but does not have the incidental noises from the side or behind which used to annoy me anyway. Volume is VERY LOUD. We have a large lounge, dining room through kitchen & it fills the space.

Easy to set up. Works and does not take up much space. Nice bass sounds & floor shaking sub woofers.

I can't recommend this enough if you want a smile sound system to enhance your TV especially if you already have Panasonic kit. It's expensive compared to some sound bars but worth it in my opinion.

I have had the Speakerboard for about a week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic sound system, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic SC-HTE80EB-S Wireless Speakerboard with Bluetooth Wireless Technology - Silver (Electronics)
I purchased this sound system after comparing it with the Bose. It knocks spots of the Bose, the mid-range and high frequency's are much clearer and the base more solid.The volume gives a good punch with low distortion at high levels. I would recommend it to everyone who wants a good balanced system in one cabinet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely flawless, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic SC-HTE80EB-S Wireless Speakerboard with Bluetooth Wireless Technology - Silver (Electronics)
Having tested several soundbars over the years I can safely say that the SC-HTE80EB-S beats all competitors hands down. Connection via ARC is child's play and the clarity across all frequencies is precise. The subwoofer packs a real punch ( despite what some reviewers may have quoted ) and the 3D dialog mode really allows the spoken word to cut through even the busiest action sequence. Heed my advice, purchase any other soundbar within this price range and should you ever hear the Panasonic SC-HTE80EB-S by chance you will simply be left wondering what your home cinema "could" have sounded like.
10/10 across all metrics for one seriously awesome item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic SC-HTE80EB-S Wireless Speakerboard with Bluetooth Wireless Technology - Silver (Electronics)
this is a great addition to my panasonic tv as i dont have room for the much bigger home entertainment systems!!! much recommended. Great sound output
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Overall good product, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic SC-HTE80EB-S Wireless Speakerboard with Bluetooth Wireless Technology - Silver (Electronics)
Looks good and improves sound from my flatscreen even though only in 2:1. Although the subwoofer can be reduced it can sometimes sound a bit boomy and dominate the soundtrack when base sounds are not so relevant even on lowest level. Otherwise good vocal and high end definition with variety of sound options.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice and compact and all the features you can realistically hope for, 17 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic SC-HTE80EB-S Wireless Speakerboard with Bluetooth Wireless Technology - Silver (Electronics)
OK, straight to the point, this supports Dolby Digital and DTS. Quite why this sort of information is so difficult to ascertain for entry level soundbars is a bit puzzling.

If you have a tv that has netflix and amazon streaming you are probably going to need Dolby Digital decoding included in your soundbar or you will be assaulted by white noise. TVs tend not to downmix the audio to 2 channel from the smart apps.

I have it connected to one of the 2014 7 series Sony Bravia TVs using ARC. Both play nicely together without doing any configuration. The tv controller adjusts the volume of the soundbar and the soundbar goes in and out of standby with the TV. Therefore you will only need the remote that comes with the soundbar to tweak the bass and centre channel settings to make it sound how you like.

How does it sound? Its a little better than a decent set of speakers on a high end CRT from back in the day. This isn't a knock as the sound is excellent for the price and size of the unit.

So to sum up, it has all the formats covered - HDMI ARC, DD and DTS, its small enough to fit on an av shelf under the tv, the sound is decent, it looks pretty nice and its a good price. All in all quite pleased with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pricey but good alernative to a sound bar., 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Panasonic SC-HTE80EB-S Wireless Speakerboard with Bluetooth Wireless Technology - Silver (Electronics)
Adds some much needed sound to my Viera flatscreen. I now only need have the available volume to hear the TV properly. Dithered over this a lot as it is a bit pricey - but now I have it it I wouldn't be without it. Does NOT come with an HDMI cable which is a down point. But then, nothing does these days. Integrates very cleanly with my Viera TV which is a serious good plus point.

It fits under the TC stadn, unlike a sound bat, giving a tidier claner look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews