Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New UK Blu-ray release
This review is for the new UK blu-ray release from Second Sight.

The release is a 2 disc set (a 50gb dual layer blu-ray disc containing both versions of the film, and a DVD with extras).

The film itself never ages thanks to its brilliant score, sumptuous photography and warm lead performances. It's maybe not as graphic as i remembered it but there's...
Published 13 months ago by Blood Freak

versus
15 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Betty Blue ruined.
I saw this film years ago when I was working in Luxemburg. It gave me fond memories, and I was delighted to find it on Amazon. But when I sat down to watch it, many scenes had been censored with what appeared to be a wobbling blob of vaseline which attempted to cover the actors' private parts. A spot-the-ball contest...

This is the sort of thing that used to...
Published on 2 July 2011 by J. F. Pye


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New UK Blu-ray release, 29 Nov 2013
This review is for the new UK blu-ray release from Second Sight.

The release is a 2 disc set (a 50gb dual layer blu-ray disc containing both versions of the film, and a DVD with extras).

The film itself never ages thanks to its brilliant score, sumptuous photography and warm lead performances. It's maybe not as graphic as i remembered it but there's still lots of nudity (male and female) and at the end of the day its a genuinely heartwarming human drama with dashes of humour along the way. Its testament to its enjoyment that there's not a boring moement even in the 3 hour director cut.

The film looks gorgeous in HD and in its original 1/66:1 ratio. The colours really jump off the screen and the closeup shots of Dalle and Anglades really show off incredible amounts of detail. The film has never looked clearer or brighter and the wonderful score has never been better served (PCM mono). The English subtitles are optional and easy to read at all times.

The theatrical cut looks lovely at a glance but I focussed on the directors cut which is also gorgeous.

On the DVD is a featurelength documentary with lots of new cast and crew interviews and some original screen test footage of Dalle.

Both discs are region free.

The packaging is nice too. The discs are housed in a DVD-sized digipack with an outer card slipcase (it's a bit taller than your avereage blu-ray package but roughly the same width).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Betty Blue, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wow, what to say? Brilliant masterpiece of french cinema. Love story, sexuality, romance, tragedy in one film. The longer version, director's cut, is smoothly watchable till end, in spite is three hours long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly a 'Modern Classic', 2 Jun 2003
By 
Mr Stephen Minton (Avoca, Co. Wicklow Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Betty Blue [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Very rarely can one call a film perfect, but the moving story of 'Betty Blue' is perhaps an exception. In this essentially chracter-driven film, the plot is simple enough: Beatrice Dalle plays the role of the young, beautiful and (so it emerges) mentally ill Betty, who determines to get her lover Zorg's (Jean-Hughes Anglade) long-forgotten manuscript published. The film explores the apparent simplicities and emotional complexities of the passionate love that binds Zorg and Betty to one another. Masterfully directed by Jean-Jacques Beneix, and with an unforgettable score by Gabriel Yared, Betty Blue is a modern masterpiece of the French cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply......, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first world cinema film I saw, so maybe I'm a bit biased.
But it's such a great film, stunningly filmed, perfect music, great story. Just as film should be.
With this added documentary it adds extra small details to fill in small caps.
Buy watch enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Betty Blue gets a release it deserves., 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Everybody should own this edition of the Betty Blu blu ray. Both editions of the film are on the first disc (the director's cut & the original theatrical version). The second disc is a DVD. It contains an interesting making of documentary called Blue Notes & Bungalows and Béatrice Dalle screen tests.
More importantly, the film is uncensored & it's great to have both versions on one disc. I prefer the director's cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Betty Blue Deluxe 2 Disc Edition [2013] Blu-Ray, 30 May 2014
By 
J. Marshall (SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I had forgotten just how wonderful this film and soundtrack was especially in this Blu-Ray edition, the music by Gabriel Yared is fantastic and seems to fit the film beautifully. I watched the Directors Cut first and I cant believe just how effortlessly 3 hours passed by. I think I might just go into the kitchen and make some Chili in the hope that Beatrice Dalle might just drop in! If you like this film this is version that you should get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best 2 Disc Edition, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Betty Blue: Deluxe 2 Disc Edition [DVD] (DVD)
The best pressing to date of this landmark movie. Both cinema (Director's Cut 177 mins Disc 1) and DVD/VHS (Theatrical 116 mins ) versions are included along with an hour documentary and Betreace Dalle screentests on Disc 2. Class picture quality remastered to HD and stereo sound make this epic. If you're after a copy get this 2 Disc Region 0 Edition and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars experience the intensity of love, 11 Jan 2006
This review is from: Betty Blue [VHS] (VHS Tape)
if you haven't seen this film and want it described in as few words as possible here goes: french, passionate, beautiful and love that drives you to insanity...all set to the most breath-taking soundtrack you'll experience in a long time (music lovers WATCH this film, trust me).
Betty and Zorg are amazing on screen together and you'll come away feeling their passion forever living on in the score (by gabriel yared) that you'll be humming, every time you feel a shiver of love or intensity. A deeply beautiful, evocative film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 5 Mar 2005
This review is from: Betty Blue [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I first saw this film in York when I visited my sister at university. I thought sitting through a french language film might be hard work. I am pleased to say that not only did I find this one of the most stylishly shot films I ever saw but the central theme of Betty and her obsessive personality had me hooked. It's a tragic tale cloaked in a love story steeped in the fantasia of the French coast. I recommend you make yourselves a pot of hot chilli and watch it in mid winter to treat your blues!
I love this film and I cant think of any reason why you won't, enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Curiously uplifting tale of love, obsession and madness, 1 Aug 2014
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
**** slight thematic spoilers ****

Pouty, sexy Béatrice Dalle and Adrian Brody lookalike Jean-Hugues Anglade are excellent in this tale of an intensely passionate but stormy and ultimately tragic love affair. Amidst the beautiful love scenes, warning signs are already present that something terrible will happen. When tragedy strikes, after some three hours in this extended version, it is almost heartbreaking, as the viewer feels such empathy with Betty and Zorg. Indeed, one of my criticisms is that the other players in this fable are relegated to rather shallow, cartoon-like caricatures in their campy and grotesque excess. At times quite surreal, at others, laugh-out-loud hilarious, but ultimately, gut-wrenchingly poignant, director Jean-Jacques Beineix has given us a courageous insight into life's great comedy.

Image quality is excellent throughout and the soundtrack is truly memorable.

Perhaps not quite the masterpiece that some claim and, almost certainly a little too bloated in this extended version, Betty Blue (or 37.2°C in the morning, which I prefer) is still an unforgettable experience, which should touch the heart of everyone who has ever loved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Betty Blue: Deluxe 2 Disc Edition [DVD]
Betty Blue: Deluxe 2 Disc Edition [DVD] by Jean-Jacques Beineix (DVD - 2013)
£12.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews