Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars78
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£17.93+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 March 2002
Okay, I'm biased. I must have seen this film fifteen times before I was fifteen (and fifteen times since) but I still enjoy every moment. It's a film that can't help but be funny, full of characters who suffer from the same condition. The harder you squeeze this film the more charm oozes out and therein lies its magic. No tag-team of gag writers can write a film like this. They could never muster the innocence and faith wrapped up in these characters and their stories.
It's a film about kids pretending to be grown ups and doing a better job of it than their parents. It's about how the awkwardness and uncertainty of youth never really leaves us. Above all it's about hope: how sometimes not getting what you want is the best thing that can happen. Smart, funny, moving and all made to look so easy. `Bella, Bella!' Five stars just ain't enough.
11 comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2001
Acute understanding of teenagers trying to cope with their own and what they believe are society's expectations of them, usually with hilarious results. Director Bill Forsyth's teens, adults, school and community solidly believable. John Gordon Sinclair's early talent for goofy comedy a joy to watch.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2006
I saw this as a spotty youth and loved it. I saw it again as a spotty middle aged person and loved it just as much. These kids could act! The script is subtly amusing and well observed.
Highly recommended.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
I didn't think I'd like this film, made in the 80s and the cast is now relatively unknown. But I found myself rooting for Gregory, all us lads know how he must feel. There's a fit girl in your school who's popular and nice but you haven't the guys to ask her out. His mates are great (that guy who's boss at baking is my fave).
It's actually a bit risqué in parts. Boobs within the first 60 seconds of the film, the male teachers are (I think) worryingly pervy towards the female students and I the window cleaner and the female teacher are obviously getting it on.
This is a great film, funny, heart-warming and makes you think of your old days in school. Gregory reminds me 15 years ago... lanky and awkward.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2011
This is my favourite film of all time, and while it has obvious appeal to those who were teenagers in the early eighties (remember picture skirts, anyone?) it has so much humour and charm it would appeal to anyone. The film starts with Gregory and his mates sharing a pair of binoculars to spy on a nurse undressing. After practically hyperventilating, they go home, satisfied. Two younger boys cooly pass by and comment 'all that fuss over a bit of tit.' The other says, 'oh look, the knickers.' From then on its a riot of memorable quotes and scenes.

Gregory, the hopeless gangly adolescent lead is instantly loveable, and it seems obvious to everyone that his crush on the glamorous football-playing Dorothy is doomed. But there's far more to Gregory's Girl than the central story. There's the person in the penguin suit who keeps getting misdirected around the school. There's Gregory's friends: the one with the talent for cookery of dubious sexuality who has a thriving business in cakes in the boys' toilets, the geeky photographer who has an even more thriving business selling photos of Dorothy. There's Gregory's younger sister, far more knowing and wise than him, who gives him fashion advice. Chic Murray gives a brilliant performance as the headmaster. And the final scene in the country park has to be the most feelgood evocation of summer and youth ever filmed.

I fell in love with this film when I was sixteen and over the years it's lost none of its charm
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2002
Scottish director Bill Forsyth's second film (his first was That Sinking Feeling, a Glasgow Youth Theatre project), and here he tapped into the male adolescent psyche of young love with such astute and affectionate ease, that it has been accorded 'evergreen' status by all who fondly remember it. Every school has its 'Gregory' - the lanky, gangly, all arms and legs pimply youth, whom everyone just knows, often with cringeing embarrassment, will unfailingly say the wrong things, at the wrong time, in the wrong context - whatever the situation. Perhaps that is because we secretly suspect that we are ourselves an inexperienced Gregory ...
Filmed mostly in or around a recently-completed housing estate near Scottish 'new town' Cumbernauld, our Gregory (hero-to-many John Gordon Sinclair), hopeless goalie of the school's hopeless football team, becomes infatuated with attractive tomboyish Dorothy (Dee Hepburn) ... who is clearly way out of his league. Ever been there? Gregory's wee 10-year old sister Maddy advises on dress sense - Gregory has none, constantly opting for unfashionable brown - whilst around him his friends go on being teenage boys. Eg. Andy likes to stand on the bridge and watch the lorries go by below ("Did you know that 11 tonnes of Corn Flakes goes under this bridge every morning?")
The film is stuffed with small quirks and visual vignets: the teachers laughing from the window at Gregory's 'shadow goalkeeping' on the playground below; the Headmaster (Chic Murray) tasting a jam-doughnut whilst pastry-obsessed Steve takes down the orders; the peeping-tom schoolboys mesmerized (Andy almost faints) when a nurse removes her brassière whilst smaller but apparently more worldy boys don't bat an eyelid ("All that fuss over a bit o' tit, eh ..."); the Boys' gym-teacher dancing a hip-loosening routine with Dorothy; Gregory's marvellously-accented attempts at bellowing in Italian ("Bella bella ...!") whilst blow-drying his hair ("Arrividerci, Gordon - hurry back."); the photographs sale; the Headmaster's retort, "Off you go, you small boys" as he plays the piano; Gregory's uniquely-bewildered looks as he is shunted from girl to girl ("Here's 50p, you can get plenty of chips with that ..."); the infinitely tender scene of young love as Gregory and Susan (the still utterly delectable and every British schoolboy's 1981 wet dream: Clare Grogan!) are laying on their backs on the grass, 'dancing' so as not to fall off the planet's surface ("You have what is called ... natural ability!"); Susan's remark, "Why are boys so obsessed with numbers ...?"; the two boys' mis-spelled attempt to hitch a ride to Caracus/Caracas ... and perhaps the oddest of all - "Hey, Room 4." - is the mysterious penguin that is never explained, "Room 16 ...?" There are those who hold that the penguin is merely there as a metaphor for Life: we are all shuffling around looking for our mate or for where we ought to be ... Actually, I'd say that was about right ...!
Immensely and endearingly popular with People Of A Certain Age (that's us, folks!), even in the United States - where apparently the Scottish accents had to be 'softened' somewhat. Perhaps the film helped inspire that Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers song, Even The Losers (Get Lucky). Whereas Steven Spielberg used to remind us of our 'inner-child,' Bill Forsyth prolonged our teens ... for deep down, most of us still are, or want to be, just teenagers ...
0Comment|46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
I have waited a long time for this one to appear on Bluray, with all previous releases being quite dire. When the film first starts it is nice to see the BBFC certificate A is still intact , which is a nice touch and also they have left on the ITC "flowers" film distributors logo , but strangely this has lost it's sound which does spoil things a little, give this Youtube link a play and you will see what I mean [...] The transfer starts off a little disappointing for the opening credits, looking a bit blurry but as soon as they have finished things get much better with a mostly crisp and detailed picture throughout. The aspect ratio is now correct unlike previous releases and this is an essential purchase for anyone who likes this still hugely enjoyable film.
An 80's Classic !
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
Everything positive that has been written about this film has been true. So after years of poor treatment on video and UK DVD (wrong screen ratio and poor soundtrack to name two) it finally gets the treatment it deserves and you won't be disappointed with the results.
The transfer is in 1:85 Widescreen and the picture is clear and the low budget soundtrack is remarkably clear and just as importantly, in its original native glory.
The extras though sparse are a delight. The Bill Forsyth interview is very revealing and the Clare Grogan interview expands upon and adds to Bill Forsyth's. Audio commentary with Bill Forsyth and Mark Kemode is a welcome narrative and enhancement too.

Buy this Blu Ray you won't regret your purchase
11 comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2013
If, like me, you first saw this when it came out in 1981, you may not feel quite the same about it on re-viewing. I'd be willing to bet that you will get so much more out of this now that you are in your 40s, 50s, 60s... It's fascinating to see how basic life seemed 32 years ago - and yet somehow much more valuable a life than we have today. The themes of innocence and simplicity are deliberately woven through this enchanting tale of one boy's coming of age, and how girls/women always seem ultimately in control. The acting and direction are perfect; you never once doubt any of the characters and are left feeling dizzy and elated (much like Gregory) at the end of the final evening. The humour has improved with age, no doubt. There are several visual jokes that I vaguely remember seeing at the cinema, but this time made me laugh out loud!

So, no complaints about the film. However, two things about the DVD disappointed me: the aspect ratio is 4:3 (like an old TV screen) and the picture and sound quality are poor in places. Surely Cinema Club (who created this DVD) could have done better than this? Lots of noticeable scratches, pops in the sound, and rapidly alternating colours in some scenes. Maybe time for a remaster, folks?
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
The transfer for this blu ray was surprisingly much better than I expected - pinewood have restored it and it looks very very good and in the widescreen format. This is far far better than previous UK dvd releases of this wonderful film. The extras are also good including a decent commentary with Bill Forsyth and Mark Kermode.

Highly recommended - a decent treatment to an excellent british film.
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.