Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, gentle, funny, genius.
Okay, I'm biased. I must have seen this film fifteen times before I was fifteen (and fifteen times since) but I still enjoy every moment. It's a film that can't help but be funny, full of characters who suffer from the same condition. The harder you squeeze this film the more charm oozes out and therein lies its magic. No tag-team of gag writers can write a film like...
Published on 21 Mar 2002

versus
19 of 33 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beware! no subtitles!
Now, before I get lynched I'm not saying this because I don't understand the Scottish accent, but I bought this classic film (which I would give 10 stars if it were possible) for my girlfriend, who's Dutch. Even though her English is perfect, she often watches dvd's with the subs on so she doesn't lose meaning because of regional/national accents.
I have never heard...
Published on 3 May 2005


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, gentle, funny, genius., 21 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Gregory's Girl [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Okay, I'm biased. I must have seen this film fifteen times before I was fifteen (and fifteen times since) but I still enjoy every moment. It's a film that can't help but be funny, full of characters who suffer from the same condition. The harder you squeeze this film the more charm oozes out and therein lies its magic. No tag-team of gag writers can write a film like this. They could never muster the innocence and faith wrapped up in these characters and their stories.
It's a film about kids pretending to be grown ups and doing a better job of it than their parents. It's about how the awkwardness and uncertainty of youth never really leaves us. Above all it's about hope: how sometimes not getting what you want is the best thing that can happen. Smart, funny, moving and all made to look so easy. `Bella, Bella!' Five stars just ain't enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Believable kids and adults.Subtle direction , great script., 18 Dec 2001
By A Customer
Acute understanding of teenagers trying to cope with their own and what they believe are society's expectations of them, usually with hilarious results. Director Bill Forsyth's teens, adults, school and community solidly believable. John Gordon Sinclair's early talent for goofy comedy a joy to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It all came flooding back, 17 Feb 2006
By 
J. Goddin "jim38229" (South East England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gregory's Girl [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
I saw this as a spotty youth and loved it. I saw it again as a spotty middle aged person and loved it just as much. These kids could act! The script is subtly amusing and well observed.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Off you go, you small boys ...", 1 Oct 2002
By 
MarmiteMan (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gregory's Girl [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Scottish director Bill Forsyth's second film (his first was That Sinking Feeling, a Glasgow Youth Theatre project), and here he tapped into the male adolescent psyche of young love with such astute and affectionate ease, that it has been accorded 'evergreen' status by all who fondly remember it. Every school has its 'Gregory' - the lanky, gangly, all arms and legs pimply youth, whom everyone just knows, often with cringeing embarrassment, will unfailingly say the wrong things, at the wrong time, in the wrong context - whatever the situation. Perhaps that is because we secretly suspect that we are ourselves an inexperienced Gregory ...
Filmed mostly in or around a recently-completed housing estate near Scottish 'new town' Cumbernauld, our Gregory (hero-to-many John Gordon Sinclair), hopeless goalie of the school's hopeless football team, becomes infatuated with attractive tomboyish Dorothy (Dee Hepburn) ... who is clearly way out of his league. Ever been there? Gregory's wee 10-year old sister Maddy advises on dress sense - Gregory has none, constantly opting for unfashionable brown - whilst around him his friends go on being teenage boys. Eg. Andy likes to stand on the bridge and watch the lorries go by below ("Did you know that 11 tonnes of Corn Flakes goes under this bridge every morning?")
The film is stuffed with small quirks and visual vignets: the teachers laughing from the window at Gregory's 'shadow goalkeeping' on the playground below; the Headmaster (Chic Murray) tasting a jam-doughnut whilst pastry-obsessed Steve takes down the orders; the peeping-tom schoolboys mesmerized (Andy almost faints) when a nurse removes her brassière whilst smaller but apparently more worldy boys don't bat an eyelid ("All that fuss over a bit o' tit, eh ..."); the Boys' gym-teacher dancing a hip-loosening routine with Dorothy; Gregory's marvellously-accented attempts at bellowing in Italian ("Bella bella ...!") whilst blow-drying his hair ("Arrividerci, Gordon - hurry back."); the photographs sale; the Headmaster's retort, "Off you go, you small boys" as he plays the piano; Gregory's uniquely-bewildered looks as he is shunted from girl to girl ("Here's 50p, you can get plenty of chips with that ..."); the infinitely tender scene of young love as Gregory and Susan (the still utterly delectable and every British schoolboy's 1981 wet dream: Clare Grogan!) are laying on their backs on the grass, 'dancing' so as not to fall off the planet's surface ("You have what is called ... natural ability!"); Susan's remark, "Why are boys so obsessed with numbers ...?"; the two boys' mis-spelled attempt to hitch a ride to Caracus/Caracas ... and perhaps the oddest of all - "Hey, Room 4." - is the mysterious penguin that is never explained, "Room 16 ...?" There are those who hold that the penguin is merely there as a metaphor for Life: we are all shuffling around looking for our mate or for where we ought to be ... Actually, I'd say that was about right ...!
Immensely and endearingly popular with People Of A Certain Age (that's us, folks!), even in the United States - where apparently the Scottish accents had to be 'softened' somewhat. Perhaps the film helped inspire that Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers song, Even The Losers (Get Lucky). Whereas Steven Spielberg used to remind us of our 'inner-child,' Bill Forsyth prolonged our teens ... for deep down, most of us still are, or want to be, just teenagers ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Special Film, 6 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gregory's Girl [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
I saw Gregory's Girl when it was first released in the early 1980's as part of a double-bill with Chariots of Fire. I quite liked it, but it wasn't really what I was expecting. I watched it again recently on the television, and now my view has changed: for me this may well be the best film ever made. Like Local Hero, which has long been on my all time top 5 list, it touches things within me that only a very small number of films, books or pieces of music do.

On the face of it, it's nothing special. A low-budget film about teenagers, by a previously unknown director, set in an unremarkable town in Scotland. A simple story - barely a story at all - which has been done many times before and since. Little in the way of character development or jokes. A soundtrack which ignores the New Wave of British music, then at its height, in favour of free-form jazz-funk.

But somehow, from this unpromising mix, emerges the most wonderful piece of film-making. Much has been written about its subtle, observational humour, and the closer you look, the more achingly funny it becomes. But at the same time I have no problem in admitting that it makes me cry. Not tears of self-pity or sadness, just a reaction to the swell of emotion brought on by the profoundly touching last 20 minutes, as Gregory is steered away from his hopeless obsession with the unattainable Dorothy. In a film packed with glorious scenes and moments, the first time we see Susan in her beret waiting by the phone-box is the one that crowns them all.

It's also a film packed with wonderful lines. Here are just a few of my favourites:

"Ten years old, and with the body of a woman of thirteen."

"The nicest part is just before you taste it. Your mouth goes all tingly. But that can't go on for ever."

"Under-age walks. Dates. You'll run out of vices before you're twelve if you don't slow down."

"What we'll do is, we'll just walk and talk. And we don't even need to talk that much either. We'll just see how it goes."

Why do I love Gregory's Girl so much? For many reasons - as the Radio Times Guides to Films says, it is a "near-faultless piece of film-making." But if I had to pick one thing, it would be the way it speaks so eloquently, and with such warm understanding, of feelings that dominated my every waking moment during my own teenage years - specifically the aching desire for a girlfriend combined with a total lack of any idea about how to get one. I think this was all too close to home when I first saw the film - memories of ridiculous and painful obsessions with girls I never spoke to were too fresh in my mind. Perhaps you have to be nearly fifty and a little more battered by life to really understand it.

If you've ever found love confusing and compelling, or if you've ever been smitten with somebody way out of reach, I think you will love this very special film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect evocation of summer and youth, 11 Aug 2011
By 
Kats (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gregory's Girl [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
This is my favourite film of all time, and while it has obvious appeal to those who were teenagers in the early eighties (remember picture skirts, anyone?) it has so much humour and charm it would appeal to anyone. The film starts with Gregory and his mates sharing a pair of binoculars to spy on a nurse undressing. After practically hyperventilating, they go home, satisfied. Two younger boys cooly pass by and comment 'all that fuss over a bit of tit.' The other says, 'oh look, the knickers.' From then on its a riot of memorable quotes and scenes.

Gregory, the hopeless gangly adolescent lead is instantly loveable, and it seems obvious to everyone that his crush on the glamorous football-playing Dorothy is doomed. But there's far more to Gregory's Girl than the central story. There's the person in the penguin suit who keeps getting misdirected around the school. There's Gregory's friends: the one with the talent for cookery of dubious sexuality who has a thriving business in cakes in the boys' toilets, the geeky photographer who has an even more thriving business selling photos of Dorothy. There's Gregory's younger sister, far more knowing and wise than him, who gives him fashion advice. Chic Murray gives a brilliant performance as the headmaster. And the final scene in the country park has to be the most feelgood evocation of summer and youth ever filmed.

I fell in love with this film when I was sixteen and over the years it's lost none of its charm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming and innocent throwback., 27 Jan 2008
By 
Bruno - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Gregory's Girl [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
This comedy gets sweeter and more endearing the older it gets. Made back in the the mists of time when every other youth was not a 'hoodie' and every other adult was not a...well, something even worse, here we have an innocent world where gangly, awkward teenagers fret and frustrate over becoming adults despite all the adults clearly being even more childish than they are. Girls may become boys, the Earth that flies through space at 1,000 miles a second (it's a well known fact) might flip over on its axis, but boys will always be boys and young love what makes their world go round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Endearing Classsic Gets The Blu Ray Treatment, 7 May 2014
This review is from: Gregory's Girl [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Everything positive that has been written about this film has been true. So after years of poor treatment on video and UK DVD (wrong screen ratio and poor soundtrack to name two) it finally gets the treatment it deserves and you won't be disappointed with the results.
The transfer is in 1:85 Widescreen and the picture is clear and the low budget soundtrack is remarkably clear and just as importantly, in its original native glory.
The extras though sparse are a delight. The Bill Forsyth interview is very revealing and the Clare Grogan interview expands upon and adds to Bill Forsyth's. Audio commentary with Bill Forsyth and Mark Kemode is a welcome narrative and enhancement too.

Buy this Blu Ray you won't regret your purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last excellent transfer for an excellent film., 8 May 2014
By 
James Rowles (Barnstaple, DEVON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gregory's Girl [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The transfer for this blu ray was surprisingly much better than I expected - pinewood have restored it and it looks very very good and in the widescreen format. This is far far better than previous UK dvd releases of this wonderful film. The extras are also good including a decent commentary with Bill Forsyth and Mark Kermode.

Highly recommended - a decent treatment to an excellent british film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very slight, but charming and heart-warming, 27 May 2009
This review is from: Gregory's Girl [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
This film has a charming nostalgic feel - it makes the late 70s, early 80s look so innocent, charming and appealing. Which in many ways it was. For instance, when Susan wants to meet with Gregory, the subterfuge is coy and old-fashioned and after school the kids play in the park or meet for a small portion of chips. The language is also old-fashioned and gently amusing, but, more importantly, realistic. The conversations between the teenagers ring true (for the time) and it brings back memories of my own time at school.

It's a stunning contrast to modern British films which insist on shallow characters (invariably characters), flash visuals and gratuitous violence at the expense of good storytelling. It's a shame small budget films like this, and another good Scottish film Restless Natives, which rely on clever scripting and character, don't seem to get made anymore.

It's not without fault, however. The story is very slight and feels slightly under-cooked, Dorothy's character is barely developed (Susan is much nicer and is the perfect fit for Gregory which is why the film works so well), the film feels truncated and visually it is unimpressive - more like a TV episode than a movie.

But, overall it's the sort of film that brightens one's day, especially those of a certain age who identify with the characters (I can, like, totally see why younger people wouldn't "get" this film - it's far too innocent).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gregory's Girl [Blu-ray]
Gregory's Girl [Blu-ray] by Bill Forsyth (Blu-ray - 2014)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews