Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars29
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 November 2013
This review is for the new UK blu-ray release from Second Sight.

The release is a 2 disc set (a 50gb dual layer blu-ray disc containing both versions of the film, and a DVD with extras).

The film itself never ages thanks to its brilliant score, sumptuous photography and warm lead performances. It's maybe not as graphic as i remembered it but there's still lots of nudity (male and female) and at the end of the day its a genuinely heartwarming human drama with dashes of humour along the way. Its testament to its enjoyment that there's not a boring moement even in the 3 hour director cut.

The film looks gorgeous in HD and in its original 1/66:1 ratio. The colours really jump off the screen and the closeup shots of Dalle and Anglades really show off incredible amounts of detail. The film has never looked clearer or brighter and the wonderful score has never been better served (PCM mono). The English subtitles are optional and easy to read at all times.

The theatrical cut looks lovely at a glance but I focussed on the directors cut which is also gorgeous.

On the DVD is a featurelength documentary with lots of new cast and crew interviews and some original screen test footage of Dalle.

Both discs are region free.

The packaging is nice too. The discs are housed in a DVD-sized digipack with an outer card slipcase (it's a bit taller than your avereage blu-ray package but roughly the same width).
0Comment|27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
Everybody should own this edition of the Betty Blu blu ray. Both editions of the film are on the first disc (the director's cut & the original theatrical version). The second disc is a DVD. It contains an interesting making of documentary called Blue Notes & Bungalows and Béatrice Dalle screen tests.
More importantly, the film is uncensored & it's great to have both versions on one disc. I prefer the director's cut.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
Wow, what to say? Brilliant masterpiece of french cinema. Love story, sexuality, romance, tragedy in one film. The longer version, director's cut, is smoothly watchable till end, in spite is three hours long.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2003
Very rarely can one call a film perfect, but the moving story of 'Betty Blue' is perhaps an exception. In this essentially chracter-driven film, the plot is simple enough: Beatrice Dalle plays the role of the young, beautiful and (so it emerges) mentally ill Betty, who determines to get her lover Zorg's (Jean-Hughes Anglade) long-forgotten manuscript published. The film explores the apparent simplicities and emotional complexities of the passionate love that binds Zorg and Betty to one another. Masterfully directed by Jean-Jacques Beneix, and with an unforgettable score by Gabriel Yared, Betty Blue is a modern masterpiece of the French cinema.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
This is the first world cinema film I saw, so maybe I'm a bit biased.
But it's such a great film, stunningly filmed, perfect music, great story. Just as film should be.
With this added documentary it adds extra small details to fill in small caps.
Buy watch enjoy
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2014
I had forgotten just how wonderful this film and soundtrack was especially in this Blu-Ray edition, the music by Gabriel Yared is fantastic and seems to fit the film beautifully. I watched the Directors Cut first and I cant believe just how effortlessly 3 hours passed by. I think I might just go into the kitchen and make some Chili in the hope that Beatrice Dalle might just drop in! If you like this film this is version that you should get.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
The best pressing to date of this landmark movie. Both cinema (Director's Cut 177 mins Disc 1) and DVD/VHS (Theatrical 116 mins ) versions are included along with an hour documentary and Betreace Dalle screentests on Disc 2. Class picture quality remastered to HD and stereo sound make this epic. If you're after a copy get this 2 Disc Region 0 Edition and enjoy.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
I purchased this specifically to get the shorter, cinematic release (since most single dvd versions seem to be the longer, director's cut). And it's in my opinion of the two versions that I'm likely to be at odds with most reviewers.

The shorter cinematic release is a fine film; nicely paced with moments of folly, fun, humour and sadness beautifully filmed. And a terrific score too. There a just a handful of cringe moments where the story, script or acting don't convince, but many more moments that are genuinely brilliant.

The Director's cut adds an unwelcome homophobic undercurrent to the film without adding anything of merit. To my mind, the editors got it spot on and did the film a massive favour when they cutout the flab for the shorter release.

Many reviewers will disagree, and I know the director certainly does (he was scathing about the cuts imposed to create the shorter cinematic version). Stll, that's the way I see it and the great news is that with this set you get both versions and can form your own opinion. Enjoy :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2006
if you haven't seen this film and want it described in as few words as possible here goes: french, passionate, beautiful and love that drives you to insanity...all set to the most breath-taking soundtrack you'll experience in a long time (music lovers WATCH this film, trust me).
Betty and Zorg are amazing on screen together and you'll come away feeling their passion forever living on in the score (by gabriel yared) that you'll be humming, every time you feel a shiver of love or intensity. A deeply beautiful, evocative film.
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
Every now and then you watch a film and for days/weeks after you remember it as if you were there! The film is really well shot the characters are energetic and engaging and the score carries through seamlessly 5* film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)