Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book
Realy enjoyed this book, I have not read many WW1 books, this made me think about how we percieved the war then and now. Very moving as well when thinking about how many lost their lives. This is one of the few books that is able to informatively talk about statistics and facts whilst never loosing the sensitivity of the lives that were lost. Really moving and informative...
Published 8 months ago by Justine clack

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars PAXMANS TAKE ON first World war
A fast moving thoughtful account of the war. Anchored in personal history, this is a balanced account of the war and a penetrating analysis of its consequences.
Published 2 months ago by Austin Banner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 413 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
n excellent and pleasant way of getting to grips with the politics of the 1914 - 1918 way
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... bought this book for my husband and he really enjoyed it! Would highly recommend, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book for my husband and he really enjoyed it! Would highly recommend ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must read for the Great War Centenary, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well researched and readable for academic and casual reader alike. I did however feel that Jeremy Paxman had to an extent let his own political stance favourable on WW1 come through in this book and had tried to exculpate the Generals hence my giving only 4 stars not five. I look forward to reading as well written and presented a book from the opposite point of view
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent detail and easy to read., 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very well written, it is easy to follow the complicated reasons for the start of the war and Paxo leads you smoothly into its progress. The horror, pathos and humour are all there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating summary of WW1 in Jeremy Paxman's voice, 29 Jun 2014
When reading this book you can definitely hear Jeremy Paxman's cynical voice all the way through. You can literally hear him speaking to you. This book is a highly readable, succinct summary of the impact of World War I on all aspects of British life. You become ever more aware of the horrors whilst Paxman also dispels some of the myths and cliches that surround this conflict. There is humour in the book as well as the more obvious serious emotions of sadness, regret and horror. If, in this anniversary year, you want to read a smallish introductory volume on World War I then this is the book for you (unless you really can't stand Jeremy Paxman and his world weary cynicism).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars PAXMANS TAKE ON first World war, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fast moving thoughtful account of the war. Anchored in personal history, this is a balanced account of the war and a penetrating analysis of its consequences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really good insight into WWI, showing how Britain fought and survived at home.
No issues.

I would definitely recommend this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gift for my husband, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I thought this ideal for my husband as he is very interested in the subject and especially as written by Jeremy Paxman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Great War, 29 May 2014
By 
D. Ellis (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a readable history of the 1st World War. Unlike so many war histories this is more of a social history than a blow by blow account of the battles. I think this is what makes it more readable than others. In this centenary year when we need to try to understand the reasons for the war I would like to have seen more on the events leading up to it. Otherwise it is an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT balanced account, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first "history" book I have read for many years and I found that book very accessible and readable. Paxman recounts the events leading up to, during and after the great war with what I think is a very balanced perspective. He de-bunks so of the myths that have arisen whilst not detracting from the tremendous cost in human life of the war. An excellent read and I would like to see it added to the reading list of UK schools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 413 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews