Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Quality Version of The Decca Session
This is a product that will appeal strongly to confirmed and dedicated Beatle fans, as these are recordings the group (with Pete Best on drums) made nearly a year before their first official release of the Love Me Do single in October 1962

I am very impressed with the sound quality on this vinyl version of The Decca Tapes. Considering the performances are raw...
Published 10 months ago by Raving Russell

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read This Before Buying
Warning - All Tracks are edited short

I am a Beatles fan and have been for years. If you have no other option then get this; BUT all tracks have been edited and are shorter than they should be - for example the track Searchin' previously was 3 minutes 46 seconds; this one is only 3 minutes 2 seconds. If that doesn't bother you then go for it. The obvious...
Published 4 months ago by AF


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Quality Version of The Decca Session, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a product that will appeal strongly to confirmed and dedicated Beatle fans, as these are recordings the group (with Pete Best on drums) made nearly a year before their first official release of the Love Me Do single in October 1962

I am very impressed with the sound quality on this vinyl version of The Decca Tapes. Considering the performances are raw takes and the limited studio time that was given over to this early incarnation of The Beatles, this is a very presentable set of recordings from January 1962. It is certainly the best sounding version of these historic recordings that I have heard. They will never be audiophile quality but I must praise Doxy Records on this release.

This release is on heavyweight 180g vinyl. My copy is completely flat, the spindle hole is central and the vinyl is without any non-fill issues, which seem to plague so many heavy pressings at the moment. The inner sleeve is poly lined and the cover is laminated. It feels like a quality package. The liner notes on the back sleeve are very well written and present a deliberate "historical fiction" of the recordings. They are very amusing.

It is also a massive bonus to get a CD version too. I wouldn't hesitate in getting this product. I am not sure to what extent the run is limited but as a massive Beatle fan, I would advise other fans to get this as soon as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read This Before Buying, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Warning - All Tracks are edited short

I am a Beatles fan and have been for years. If you have no other option then get this; BUT all tracks have been edited and are shorter than they should be - for example the track Searchin' previously was 3 minutes 46 seconds; this one is only 3 minutes 2 seconds. If that doesn't bother you then go for it. The obvious question is why - it cant be available space on a CD.

I am sorry but as far as I am concerned this is a con
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have been wanting to hear this for so many years, 9 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought it mainly for the CD (I haven't got a record player these days). Loved every track I am a Beatles fan and it fully lived up to my expectations. Haven't taken the vinyl out of its packaging but it feels sturdy enough just like the last reviewer commented a high quality product. My collection is almost complete, just waiting for part 2 of the BBC live series due in November
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb !, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Decca Tapes (MP3 Download)
What more can I say - fab, gear, fave rave !
Been after the full sessions for ages, get it while you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing to say !!!, 1 Jun 2014
By 
Enrique Prosen "Quique" (Capital Federal, Buenos Aires Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can I say about Beatles that wasn't said ? Just you must have it , they are "THE BEATLES" !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth Buying, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good worth it great service if you like the Beatles its worth getting great value as well. Beatles fan! get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must for all Beatles fans, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Decca Tapes (MP3 Download)
... and still worth a listen for anyone else. Good quality recordings too. It is worth it just to get the tracks that they did not record for EMI.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A DEFINITE MUST HAVE!, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent examples of their very early work. Only comment was that the cd did not have a case. But a "must have" for a Beatle Fan who saw them in the 60's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you want it to be!, 25 Dec 2013
Gorgeous sounding vinyl! It astounds me that anyone ever said, "no," to these guys! Even before they were the Beatles, they were better than anything around!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beatles Decca Audition, 31 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Decca Tapes (MP3 Download)
Very pleased to add these tracks to my collection. The sound quality is definitely the best that one can expect from such archive material - quality exceeds that found on Anthology 1 for the five tracks on that album. Ideally, would prefer buy an Apple/Beatles official release of this material but that doesn't look likely anytime soon!
As to the tracks themselves: all 15 tracks from their audition are present and in the running order as recorded on 1st January 1962. The Beatles sound nervous and hesitant at times but I think that only adds to the charm of the recordings. Perhaps surprisingly it's young George Harrison that has the strongest vocals! As everyone knows The Beatles failed this audition for Decca Records but it was a tape from this session which helped their manager Brian Epstein secure them a contract with George Martin at Parlophone/EMI records later in 1962. According to accounts I have read Decca executives used to listen to these recordings once The Beatles were famous and drown their sorrows wondering how on earth they didn't see any potential in them!
Did The Beatles hold a grudge towards the Decca executives? Perhaps initially after all nobody likes to be told they've failed however just over a year later George Harrison advised Decca to sign a group he liked called The Rolling Stones - I wonder whatever happened to them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Decca Tapes
The Decca Tapes by The Beatles
Buy MP3 Album7.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews