Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS NOT LIFT MUSIC!
I was dismayed to find one review describing this album as ideal background music for a dinner party. It requires careful, fully attentive listening on a very high quality system to appreciate just what these two brilliant musicians are doing. Their unity is quite astonishing and transports you to a different sphere. This is music with the power to transform.
Published 16 months ago by Mr. R. C. SPENCER-SMITH

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Personal taste. Trying to resell.
Published 5 months ago by greenheart


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS NOT LIFT MUSIC!, 13 Feb. 2014
By 
Mr. R. C. SPENCER-SMITH (Londres, Royaume Uni) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clychau Dibon (Audio CD)
I was dismayed to find one review describing this album as ideal background music for a dinner party. It requires careful, fully attentive listening on a very high quality system to appreciate just what these two brilliant musicians are doing. Their unity is quite astonishing and transports you to a different sphere. This is music with the power to transform.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brlliant fusion., 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clychau Dibon (MP3 Download)
Two people from different old races of people, meet and jam on, "ancient instruments".
They move from Welsh folk tunes to Senegalese tunes with ease and beauty.
Some are tunes from the 1600s Robert ap Huw manuscript, the African kora is believed to have been around since the 1500s and tunes have been handed down from Father to Son for generations
A brlliant album.
Buy it and relax to it, be moved.
Regards,
Bresail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Magic, 30 Nov. 2013
By 
C. P. Healy "chealy" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clychau Dibon (Audio CD)
The liner notes quite rightly make the point that this is not a "relaxation tape". I find the interplay between the two instruments so exciting that I find I can't relax at all while listening - but in a good way! One of the best musical "fusions" I think I've ever come across. Beautiful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique and innovative musical collaboration, 2 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clychau Dibon (Audio CD)
If you like traditional welsh folk harp music in the Catrin Finch style and the sound of the kora (African plucked string instrument) played by Seckou Keita you will love this CD. What makes this special is how Catrin and Seckou have assimilated each others musical tradition to produce a unique musical sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clychau Dibon (MP3 Download)
The blend of instruments and the complexity and subtlety of the playing are simply staggering. Although it could be used as pleasant background music, it deserves attentive listening in order to fully appreciate the magic and beauty of this unusual pairing. Hard to believe that anyone would not be delighted with this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth really, really listening to, 21 July 2014
By 
Nigel Allinson (Bedfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clychau Dibon (Audio CD)
I think it is unusual for a classically trained musician to play folk or “ethnic” music with passion and conviction. The only other collaboration involving the kora and a traditional “Western” instrument I have listened to is that between Ballake Sissoko (kora) and Vincent Segal (cello). While their album Chamber Music is interesting and enjoyable, I find Clychau Dibon utterly captivating. The rhythmical repetitions and slow, ornamented melodies are hypnotically absorbing.

This music can be put on as relaxing sonic wallpaper, but that does not do it justice. I had the good fortune to see these two great musicians perform live at Folk By The Oak yesterday. Many, many people came down to the stage and stood in motionless and captivated silence as they watched the interplay and listened to waves of pure music. This is joyful music, yet it can be as demanding as you want it to be, depending on how deeply you let yourself be lost inside it.

Buy. Now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clychau Dibon, 20 Oct. 2013
By 
Mr. Roy Tomkinson (wales-uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clychau Dibon (MP3 Download)
I had the good fortune to attend their concert last year, a truly magical evening. Often concerts are better than cd's, but this is a wonderful cd capturing a live performance of two masters of their instruments totally in tune with each other. If you love beautiful happy music, buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cd, 19 Nov. 2013
By 
Mr. Hugh T. Churchman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clychau Dibon (MP3 Download)
Excellent cd one of my favourites, it is beautifully produced, the 2 instruments compliment each other really well, nice one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 8 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clychau Dibon (Audio CD)
I would advise this to anyone who wants to be amazed or relax in the sunshine, very soothing and a perfect present for someone revising or interested in the harp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best of Welsh and African instrumental music., 11 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clychau Dibon (Audio CD)
Music to listen to and enjoy.
I regularly listen to live kora music and love harp music, especially the Welsh form. This CD is a crossover between the Welsh harp tradition and the African kora tradition- the two instruments are not too far apart. The two players here enjoyed themselves and each others music and what appears to be several tracks of jamming work very well, some tracks more kora based and some more harp based.

This is not really background music, you need to sit and let it wash over you and just enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clychau Dibon
Clychau Dibon by Seckou Keita Catrin Finch
Buy MP3 Album£4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews