Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS NOT LIFT MUSIC!
I was dismayed to find one review describing this album as ideal background music for a dinner party. It requires careful, fully attentive listening on a very high quality system to appreciate just what these two brilliant musicians are doing. Their unity is quite astonishing and transports you to a different sphere. This is music with the power to transform.
Published 5 months ago by Mr. R. C. SPENCER-SMITH

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Must try harder
I was really looking forward to hearing this but there isn't any "fire" or real soul to the playing. Shame.
Published 4 months ago by Brian Sussex


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS NOT LIFT MUSIC!, 13 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. R. C. SPENCER-SMITH (Londres, Royaume Uni) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clychau Dibon (Audio CD)
I was dismayed to find one review describing this album as ideal background music for a dinner party. It requires careful, fully attentive listening on a very high quality system to appreciate just what these two brilliant musicians are doing. Their unity is quite astonishing and transports you to a different sphere. This is music with the power to transform.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brlliant fusion., 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clychau Dibon (MP3 Download)
Two people from different old races of people, meet and jam on, "ancient instruments".
They move from Welsh folk tunes to Senegalese tunes with ease and beauty.
Some are tunes from the 1600s Robert ap Huw manuscript, the African kora is believed to have been around since the 1500s and tunes have been handed down from Father to Son for generations
A brlliant album.
Buy it and relax to it, be moved.
Regards,
Bresail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique and innovative musical collaboration, 2 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clychau Dibon (Audio CD)
If you like traditional welsh folk harp music in the Catrin Finch style and the sound of the kora (African plucked string instrument) played by Seckou Keita you will love this CD. What makes this special is how Catrin and Seckou have assimilated each others musical tradition to produce a unique musical sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful music, 11 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clychau Dibon (MP3 Download)
The blend of instruments and the complexity and subtlety of the playing are simply staggering. Although it could be used as pleasant background music, it deserves attentive listening in order to fully appreciate the magic and beauty of this unusual pairing. Hard to believe that anyone would not be delighted with this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Magic, 30 Nov 2013
By 
C. P. Healy "chealy" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clychau Dibon (Audio CD)
The liner notes quite rightly make the point that this is not a "relaxation tape". I find the interplay between the two instruments so exciting that I find I can't relax at all while listening - but in a good way! One of the best musical "fusions" I think I've ever come across. Beautiful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cd, 19 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. Hugh T. Churchman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clychau Dibon (MP3 Download)
Excellent cd one of my favourites, it is beautifully produced, the 2 instruments compliment each other really well, nice one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clychau Dibon, 20 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. Roy Tomkinson (wales-uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clychau Dibon (MP3 Download)
I had the good fortune to attend their concert last year, a truly magical evening. Often concerts are better than cd's, but this is a wonderful cd capturing a live performance of two masters of their instruments totally in tune with each other. If you love beautiful happy music, buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 8 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clychau Dibon (Audio CD)
I would advise this to anyone who wants to be amazed or relax in the sunshine, very soothing and a perfect present for someone revising or interested in the harp
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 30 April 2014
By 
C. A. York "chrisanth" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clychau Dibon (Audio CD)
every track is first class and it is such inspiring and uplifting music. I recommend this to everyone I know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Clychau Dibon (Audio CD)
I have heard some of Catrin's music before and liked so sampled this on MP3 to be sure.I was not disappointed together with Secko this is a unique sound, very ambient and excellent to un wind to.....certainly recommend this for something different, 6stars+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Clychau Dibon
Clychau Dibon by Seckou Keita Catrin Finch
Buy MP3 Album4.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews