Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plain, simple and effective!
The recent success of "The Presentation Secrets of Steve Jobs" (which I also reviewed and loved) has really raised the issue (as though it were needed) of the importance of great presentations and story telling.

In her book "Resonate", Nancy Duarte takes the reader through all the issues of a great presentation. This is a beautifully designed book (as you'd...
Published on 2 Nov 2010 by Jonathan Kettleborough

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational but lacks an integrated approach
Inspirational book about presentations. It is not a template approach for how to put together an excellent presentation but rather serves as a launch pad for ideas. Important lessons include thoughts on contrast, audience, repeatable sound bites, the power of rehearsal and Murder Your Darlings.

I really like the design of this book which makes it a pleasure to...
Published 21 months ago by Melvin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plain, simple and effective!, 2 Nov 2010
By 
Jonathan Kettleborough (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
The recent success of "The Presentation Secrets of Steve Jobs" (which I also reviewed and loved) has really raised the issue (as though it were needed) of the importance of great presentations and story telling.

In her book "Resonate", Nancy Duarte takes the reader through all the issues of a great presentation. This is a beautifully designed book (as you'd expect from Nancy) which clearly marks the road for developing and delivering presentations and stories that resonate.

Nancy shows us the power of story telling and dismisses the overly corporate presentations (the ones with the meaningless words and over-engineered sentences) as being of little value or impact.

Throughout the book you'll find great charts, drawings and photographs that wonderfully illustrate the points being made; this really is a lovely book to look at.

Nancy has also included a great deal of reality within the book; real people giving real presentations and telling real stories. OK, they're amongst the best (Steve Jobs, Bill Gates, Ben Zander and Richard Feynman, to name a few) but you can see how a story, a well placed demonstration and simple explanation really mark out a great presentation.

Nancy is driving her readers towards the S.T.A.R moment (Something They'll Always Remember) and yet this is done by explaining ALL the key elements of making a presentation in a logical and meaningful manner. Nancy even has a section on how to organise your thoughts, refine them and then create your key messages . . this book has it all.

The book is also packed with facts about audience reactions, interest levels and so on. This allows the reader to design a message to hit the audience exactly at the right time.

This is a truly excellent book for both the professional and non-professional communicator. I've been giving presentations for years and wish I'd come across this sooner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perfectly serviceable guide to creating interesting presentations., 11 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The key purpose for a book like this is to get you thinking and experimenting with new techniques. Utilising numerous case studies the book gently weans one off the powerpoint slide teat and refocuses on the message. I picked up the book and within twenty minutes was rethinking a large presentation that I was about to give. The format, illustrations and typesetting of the book were also excellent.

My one annoyance with the book is that it focuses its case studies on individuals with innately interesting messages like political struggle, world changing products or catastrophic events. What about the hapless fools like me who have to recycle and present bone dry corporate messages? :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars resonate with Nancy, 1 April 2011
By 
C. buck (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been presenting professionally for about 20 years and have finally begun to learn the art the hard way. I've also read many books on the subject, with a few exceptions most are rather trite and obvious.This book, though, is the real deal. The author has clearly thought very deeply about the subject and, for me, what she says rings pretty much 100% true. Its one of those books that you could not easily read from cover to cover, there is little padding and so much content that it is a good idea to read one section or chapter and internalise it over days or weeks before moving on. Its not a beginners guide though.
I only write this review because I genuinely feel this is a praiseworthy book.
charlie b UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motivational stuff - how presentations should be, 3 Feb 2011
I loved Resonate. The book is an example in itself as to how to motivate. The key message being that you need to engage not just minds but also the emotions and the way to do that is through storytelling. Nancy Duarte sketches out a timeline (she uses the term Sparkline) for presentations and illustrates how all great presentations go through various phases. By using this structure anyone can plan their presentation to ensure there are elements of contrast, elements of surprise and balance between pathos(emotion), ethos(respect) and logos(logic). The book is very US centric and all the examples are American but for me the message is universal. This book will be something you will dip into for inspiration time and time again.

Presenting Yourself With Impact At Work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you speak or present you need this book, 3 July 2011
By 
E. M. Milnes "Eilidh" (Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Resonate will transform your performance. It is outstanding; aimed at creating amazing PowerPoint slides and is without doubt the BEST book I have read on how to make visual impact with your audiences.
As someone who speaks for a living and always on a journey of self development; I was looking for a book to help me craft slides with a difference; slides that would not only enhance my delivery but engage with every single delegate. Resonate has delivered this and so much more... you need to buy this book!
In addition, I now follow Nancy Duarte on Twitter and she is a generous, wise and helpful lady.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars how to make presentations stick, 3 Jan 2011
By 
A really great book. It goes into the theory and practice of a great presentation yet it is easy to understand and follow for your own presentations.
I can recommend this book to anyone who needs to get a message across to an audience.
This book goes much further than any other book I have read on presentations, it kindly has certain bits highlighted so that you do not have to read every word, especially useful when times are short or for reviewing sections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational but lacks an integrated approach, 22 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Inspirational book about presentations. It is not a template approach for how to put together an excellent presentation but rather serves as a launch pad for ideas. Important lessons include thoughts on contrast, audience, repeatable sound bites, the power of rehearsal and Murder Your Darlings.

I really like the design of this book which makes it a pleasure to read. Nice shape. Nice pictures.

Inspiring examples include Benjamin Zander, Steve Jobs, Ronald Reagan, Markus Covert, Leonard Bernstein, Alfred Hitchcock, Martin Luther King etc.

A collection of thoughts packed with useful insights, tips and visuals. It enhances awareness rather than improves skils. For that Duarte should have created an integrated approach such as Barbara Minto's Pyramid Principle. A good book but not an essential guide on presentations. 7 out of 10 for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lavishly illustrated and fresh in its observations, 3 Sep 2011
By 
William Cohen (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This is a handsome book - which makes it a pleasure to read. It's unique insight is the 'sparkline' which is a theory of the shape or contours of a great presentation. I run the UK Speechwriters' Guild and I've never seen anything like it before.

The book analyses great speeches and works of art illustrating how they alternate themes. Another great innovation in this book is the supporting web content. You can watch videos on the Duarte.com website illustrating the points. I found all the videos compelling.

The strength of this book is that it mixes up familiar 'great speeches' with unfamiliar ones. It's also very up-to-date with contributions from TED. She also mentions some amusing stories - like the fact that Kenneth Lay and Jeff Skilling from Enron were masters of the PowerPoint chart! This book is a treat, and should adorn every office bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and useful, 1 May 2011
I give public speeches regularly and am always looking for new ways to improve. This book provides pragmatic suggestions in an innovative, visual and interactive way. For example, it is interactive and entertaining in that it refers to youtube videos, case studies and has many fun and instructive visuals. The numerous case studies, the layout, the references to artistic and good presentations gives a fresh, new look to a well known subject. The more convergent thinking individuals might have wanted it tied together more cohesively in the conclusion but I found it great, useful and entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book!, 24 Jan 2011
This book is absolutely great! I have used some of the ideas at work already and it has been very successful. I recommend it to anyone who is determined to get their ideas across to others in the simplest possible way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb443a0a8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews