Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series - please do not let this be the end
I honestly think that this series has got better with each book. The battle for Earth is thrillingly told and the author has really surpassed himself with this book. The only thing is that according to the Amazon description on the website - this is it the end. Really the author cannot leave it like this. I really want to know what happens next and who the originators etc...
Published 3 months ago by Bagsy

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Going out with a whimper
This is, in my opinion the weakest of this series, which is sad because you always hope for a strong finish.

Predictably, dodgy grammar and incorrect transposition of words remains a major problem, though not quite so bad as in 'The Heart of Matter', which remains the low point for editorial quality in this series.

As has been mentioned in other...
Published 25 days ago by Ben


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Going out with a whimper, 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Black (Odyssey One Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
This is, in my opinion the weakest of this series, which is sad because you always hope for a strong finish.

Predictably, dodgy grammar and incorrect transposition of words remains a major problem, though not quite so bad as in 'The Heart of Matter', which remains the low point for editorial quality in this series.

As has been mentioned in other reviews, there is a whole chunk of 25-30% of this book that is entirely irrelevant to the main story, this is the section that the story starts with, set on earth during the alien invasion. It is far too long and seems solely designed to convince us that Eric Weston is not only the most brilliant ship captain since Drake and Nelson combined, but also the best ground commander ever. It is too long, repetitive and badly plotted.

Sadly, in a huge change in scope from the previous books which dealt in months and years, Out of the Black spends 90% of its time dealing with a single month and restricts itself almost exclusively to Earth and its solar system, in excruciating, repetitive detail. Hardly the deep space opera we have grown used to. The story flip flops repeatedly between who has the upper hand so many times that you just want it to be over. It feels as though Currie ran out of ideas and decided to drag out one chapter to fill an entire book.

Characters other than our glorious hero continue to make stupid decisions either to create plot points or it seems in an attempt to demonstrate how magnificent Weston is by comparison. Sadly it just breaks immersion and makes the story even more disjointed. This is most apparent when someone other than Weston is in charge and inexplicably forgets all about their most powerful weapon until it is almost too late. A slew of new supporting characters are introduced, and forgotten almost as quickly, begging the question, why bother?

This series is pure pulp sci-fi, easy reading, so the tedious drawn out ground war is doubly damning as it brings the entire story to a shuddering halt while adding nothing substantive in return. It goes from a story that move fast enough that you can generally ignore many of its flaws as it is quickly moving on to something new, to a story that seems content to wallow in a dead end. This story does not remotely flow, but rather leaves you feeling as though you slogged through an entire invasion yourself to reach the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series - please do not let this be the end, 9 July 2014
By 
Bagsy (Northamptonshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Black (Odyssey One Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
I honestly think that this series has got better with each book. The battle for Earth is thrillingly told and the author has really surpassed himself with this book. The only thing is that according to the Amazon description on the website - this is it the end. Really the author cannot leave it like this. I really want to know what happens next and who the originators etc are. I can only hope that the author is going to continue the series so that we find out who are behind the Drasin and why they do what they do. If you are new to the series read them from the start. If you like military sc fi you can do a lot worse than read this series. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great scifi!, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Black (Odyssey One Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Great story & writing - sadly I read this in one day... still - love the characters, the tech setup and story.
Please write another one - genuinely enjoyed reading this series! A mixture of near future and sci-fi makes this a great sci-fi tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent conclusion I enjoyed the full series, 22 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Black (Odyssey One Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent conclusion I enjoyed the full series. One of those books it is difficult to put down. Definitely think there is a further plot line to develop regarding this series looking at who controls the Drasnin or looking retrospectively how the characters developed into their current positions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yet again another great part of the ongoing space opera., 7 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Black (Odyssey One Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Always gripping, always leaves you wanting to start the next page or the next book.
Epic space opera with all you could want. Other races, more baddies, more high tech weapons and great battles.
I want a ship with a transition drive 😄
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed the whole series of books, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Black (Odyssey One Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the whole series of books, and would read them again at a later date. They fulfil the criteria of moving past reality, but not so far that the situations are unbelievable. Well worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT..., 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Black (Odyssey One Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Evan is a very good writer and the way he pictures the battles and events in the book makes you want more and more. He now is in my Top 3 sci-fi writers due to this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible space battles and more heroes., 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Black (Odyssey One Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
I sincerely hope that this series will continue, Evan Currie is a brilliant sf author and I will certainly buy more of his books.
June Finnigan - writer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... (so far) the technology feels plausible the stories are excellent. Recommended without reservation and worthy of a film, 9 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Black (Odyssey One Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
A compelling series of 4 books (so far) the technology feels plausible the stories are excellent. Recommended without reservation and worthy of a film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 5 Aug 2014
By 
Sundodger (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Black (Odyssey One Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
I hope this isn't the last we see of Captain Weston. This is a great space action series and this book a worthy finale to the Odyssey One series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews