Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extinction Level Event
I really enjoyed this book , couldn't put it down , I think it would make an excellent series of films !
Published 7 months ago by andy

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Going out with a whimper
This is, in my opinion the weakest of this series, which is sad because you always hope for a strong finish.

Predictably, dodgy grammar and incorrect transposition of words remains a major problem, though not quite so bad as in 'The Heart of Matter', which remains the low point for editorial quality in this series.

As has been mentioned in other...
Published 5 months ago by Ben


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Going out with a whimper, 28 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Black (Odyssey One Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
This is, in my opinion the weakest of this series, which is sad because you always hope for a strong finish.

Predictably, dodgy grammar and incorrect transposition of words remains a major problem, though not quite so bad as in 'The Heart of Matter', which remains the low point for editorial quality in this series.

As has been mentioned in other reviews, there is a whole chunk of 25-30% of this book that is entirely irrelevant to the main story, this is the section that the story starts with, set on earth during the alien invasion. It is far too long and seems solely designed to convince us that Eric Weston is not only the most brilliant ship captain since Drake and Nelson combined, but also the best ground commander ever. It is too long, repetitive and badly plotted.

Sadly, in a huge change in scope from the previous books which dealt in months and years, Out of the Black spends 90% of its time dealing with a single month and restricts itself almost exclusively to Earth and its solar system, in excruciating, repetitive detail. Hardly the deep space opera we have grown used to. The story flip flops repeatedly between who has the upper hand so many times that you just want it to be over. It feels as though Currie ran out of ideas and decided to drag out one chapter to fill an entire book.

Characters other than our glorious hero continue to make stupid decisions either to create plot points or it seems in an attempt to demonstrate how magnificent Weston is by comparison. Sadly it just breaks immersion and makes the story even more disjointed. This is most apparent when someone other than Weston is in charge and inexplicably forgets all about their most powerful weapon until it is almost too late. A slew of new supporting characters are introduced, and forgotten almost as quickly, begging the question, why bother?

This series is pure pulp sci-fi, easy reading, so the tedious drawn out ground war is doubly damning as it brings the entire story to a shuddering halt while adding nothing substantive in return. It goes from a story that move fast enough that you can generally ignore many of its flaws as it is quickly moving on to something new, to a story that seems content to wallow in a dead end. This story does not remotely flow, but rather leaves you feeling as though you slogged through an entire invasion yourself to reach the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extinction Level Event, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Black (Odyssey One Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this book , couldn't put it down , I think it would make an excellent series of films !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I'm going to have to say that I was disappointed. I've been avidly following this series and it's ..., 3 Nov. 2014
By 
William Dutton (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Black (Odyssey One Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
I'm going to have to say that I was disappointed. I've been avidly following this series and it's fascinating premise of where dd we come from, who the hell are the Prims and what is going on and none of that has been addressed here at all.

The last volume - The book is ok by itself, it's not great, would be an alright $1 or free read but against the backdrop of the previous books and the questions they posed I can only assume that Evan Currie simply didn't know how to explain it all and so didn't bother trying.

Really disappointing as for a while there I thought we were on the verge of something magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Read., 15 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Out of the Black (Odyssey One Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant and Griping read. Sadly I arrived at the last page, tantalising hints of more to come with promise of deeper mysteries yet to be told. Sigh, I guess I can go back to looking out the window until book 5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great finale to the fight to save Earth and other ..., 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Black (Odyssey One Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
A great finale to the fight to save Earth and other planets from a plague of alien fighter beings. Really great i enjoyed it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good for commuting, 23 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Black (Odyssey One Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Not a bad read, good escapism and an easy read when commuting to work and back. Will I read the rest of the series, probably yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book four Out of the Black., 29 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Black (Odyssey One Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Another great book, I have really enjoyed this. The story is fantastic I hope that Eric and the gang will be back soon. The whole series of books has been brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4th book in series and it all goes pear shaped., 19 July 2014
By 
Stephen Lowe (Birmingham, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Black (Odyssey One Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
I'm hoping there is another book the way this ended. Don't want to spoil it but we beat the baddy but a what cost. Excellent syfy book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant story., 28 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Black (Odyssey One Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
Have now read the full series and really enjoyed them all. Didn't want the book to end. Look forward to the next adventure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Conclusion up to previous standard., 15 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Out of the Black (Odyssey One Book 4) (Kindle Edition)
A good conclusion to the current series leaving plenty of scope for the next instalments. Well thought out and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews