Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars22
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£11.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 20 November 2013
One of my favourites and takes me back to the mid-80's with VHS rentals! Pleased to say though that Second Sight films has released the title in the UK and has given this some 'Special Edition' treatment that you would not normally see for a catalogue type title.

I will concentrate on the product details for this review as most arriving here will know of Walter Hill (Director of films such as The Warriors, Souther Comfort) and his particular style of films but may be wondering if this release is worth the cost. In this respect I consider this a bargain at just over £12 with film itself looking and sounding very good but also with a significant amount of special features. Full details as follows:

Picture quality is very good and the best i have seen the film. Most of the film is set at night so you will see some grain (as you would expect) but it is sharp throughout and I am very pleased with the version we have here. Audio comes courtesy of a DTS-HD Master Audio lossless 5.1 track and sounds very good. You will not get the head-turning surround sound effects as you would expect from a film such as this but the sound is strong (musical numbers are superb) throughout. There are 17 x chapters with pop-up menu access to key scenes.

Special features are extensive. There is a new 1hour 20min feature with Michael Paré, Walter Hill and others and offers a look back at the film production process. Very interesting throughout and great that this has been added to the title - from what I can see this may have been commissioned by the UK based Second Sight Films so very well done for taking this much effort for the release. USA based web sites seem to be looking to the UK disc as the one to buy! Elsewhere there is an 'electronic press kit' which provides interviews, features etc., that were made available at the time of the films release to promote the title and good to see them here. Music videos are also present but, as you would expect, in stereo so you are better off heading to the film to listen in glorious 5.1 lossless audio!

This is the second (!!) title I have purchased from Second Sight Films (Quest for Fire the other) and really pleased to see that the UK seems to have our very own version of the USA Criterion Collection in the making! Keep up the good work and I look forward to buying more of your titles if they are as well presented as the two I now own.

I have added a scan of the back cover to the product images above.

Great stuff and recommended.
review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 April 2015
Streets of Fire is directed by Walter Hill who also co-writes the screenplay with Larry Gross. It stars Michael Paré, Diane Lane, Rick Moranis, Amy Madigan and Willem Dafoe. Music is scored by Ry Cooder and cinematography is by Andrew Laszlo.

When the lead singer of Ellen Aim and the Attackers is kidnapped by biker gang The Bombers, her ex-soldier of fortune boyfriend is contacted and hired to go get her back...

There were a couple of movies released in 1984 by maverick directors that were frowned upon at the time, but are now significantly held in high regard and define the saying "cult movie". One was Alex Cox's Repo Man, the other was Walter Hill's Streets of Fire.

Streets of Fire is a bastard hybrid of ideas and influences. In part a rock opera set to the backdrop of blink blink blinkity blink neonvillle, an unnamed place that lives and breathes between 50s angst and 80s futurism, in others it's a straight forward road/mission movie headed up by an anti-hero taking notes from Snake Plissken whilst jostling for cool space with Kyle Reese. It's a film, that by Hill's own admission, is unashamedly a collage of things he finds cool in cinema. Yet this is not a detriment to the pic, the narrative is straightforward as can be and Hill throws everything he can into the mix, and it works.

In essence it's a live action comic book, it knows it's just a film and has no pretencions to seem remotely real life. The look is wonderfully flamboyant and campy, where the hero and villain wear braces and PVC overalls respectively. The girls are a mixture of a teenage diva babe and a beer swilling roughneck babe. The city itself is a vibrant mix of colours and carnage, beauty and beats, and where the streets literally are on fire. Hill weighs in with his adroit flair for action, always kinetic, while the soundtrack rocks and the dialogue bubbles with self aware glee. Cast are super, some sexy and tough, others weaselly and weak, but all pumping the pop culture blood through the veins of the movie.

With style and cool to burn, both only beaten out by the action quotient, Streets of Fire is an ode to live action fun. And watching it now you can see just how it has influenced many a film maker post its release. Streets of Fire, one bad ass bitch funky sex machine. 9/10
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 30 December 2013
A classic cult film finally getting some love on Blu! The feature length doco is fantastic but i only wish it focussed more on the amazing music of Jim Steinman & Fire Inc - would have been great to have had more insight into that.

Michael Pare, Diane Lane, Rick Moranis, Willem Dafoe, Amy can't go wrong.

The only way to improve this would have been to have added the re-mastered soundtrack with the extra tracks, 12" mixes etc that never made the original soundtrack ala Xandau a few years ago.

Great 80's film that deserved to be a bigger hit.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2015
A weird fusing of film noir with the 80's pop-video aesthetic. Its setting is supposed to be some kind of alternative dystopic future by my reckoning. The story is about a tough loner Tom Cody who returns to his hometown whereupon his ex-girlfriend (who is now a massive singing star) is kidnapped (direct from the stage!) by a gang of bikers led by Willem Dafoe. What they want with her is not clear but before we have a chance to find out Tom Cody storms their hideout (another neon nitespot with trans gender stage act) along with his new chum who he just met (ex-army tomboy called McCoy) and Rick Moranis (who plays a semi-straight role as the kidnapped singers manager/boyfriend). Willem Dafoe then swears revenge on Cody and the film has a finale of a fight between the two tough guys wielding pick axes. The dialogue of the movie is an important part, though it comes across as very cheesy, sub-Humphrey bogart/Mickey Spillane-esque. The director was going for a certain aesthetic which adds to the film. Everyone in this film is either a tough guy or someone who loves money. Its fair to say the look and feel of this movie has influenced a fair number of films since. But be warned because of the dialogue it is often very very cheesy, im unsure whether this was intentional, perhaps.
In terms of the quality of the Blu Ray, I would say that the source is at fault. The Blu Ray is definitely better than DVD and the picture has a lot more depth, though it often lacks sharpness, but maybe this is the best possible? I was happy enough with the image quality due to the enhanced screen depth.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
I'm a big Walter Hill fan. In the 80's his films The Warriors, Southern Comfort, 48 Hours etc were watched constantly in the days when video was king! Streets of Fire was a disappointment to me when I first saw it. It looked the part, the cast is brilliant, the action is good but it didn't come together as a whole film. When I saw it was to be released on Blu Ray I gave it a second chance, unfortunately my opinion hasn't changed. Its like a 90 minute, 80's pop video dry ice, neon lit, big hair and leather! The story is Ellen Aim is kidnapped by Raven Shaddock and his biker gang. The kidnapping is witnessed by Reva who contacts her brother Cody, who comes back to the unnamed city and with the help of scrappy McCoy set out to do just that.

The extras include a great documentary with the director Walter Hill, Michael Pare and others full of anecdotes and trivia. The picture and sound are good too. Like all three star films its a matter of personal choice. Some people will love it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
If you've seen this you know what it's about. Diane Lane in one of her first grown-up roles. All newcomers that went on to have long careers. Bill Paxton, Willem DeFoe, EG Daley, Amy Madigan and Rick Moranis. Look for Marine Jahan, who doubled Jennifer Beals in Flashdance, as the dancer in Torchies.

Yes it's hockey but, it's supposed to be. A Rock and Roll Fantasy, as it's billed.

The fantastic score by Ry Cooder sets the mood perfecty.

The extras are excellent. Even though there are no subtitles, it's really not needed as the dialog is very clear.

I have the old Universal DVD, which was non-anamorphic, and this beats that to death. For an 80's movie the picture is clear and color is very natural. Some grain but that can be expected.

Whether you've seen this or just like a good old fashion right vs wrong movie with a strong hero you should get this.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
Like a lot of people been waiting years for this to come onto blu ray. One of my favourite guilty pleasure films it's excellent!

Sadly the blu ray isn't. The quality is the same as the dvd, a poor transfer. The music video to Nowhere Fast is missing.

When Streets Of Fire came out in the 80s they also released a video EP you could buy on VHS which contained all three music videos and a making of documentary (not the one on here) Surely somebody somewhere at Universal has got this so they could have made a decent HD release.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
The video consider good quality for a 1984 movie with very
good DTS sound.Collector item worth it ! Best Version among
all release, just the movie trailer was in old version.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
Happy to get hold of it while someone still has it. Perfect condition, and the film was as good looking and good sounding as hoped.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
Good action movie, honest, clean with everything for everybody. Great soundtrack. From the master Walter Hill
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Streets Of Fire
Streets Of Fire by Streets Of Fire (Audio CD - 2006)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.