Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walter Hill classic receives Blu Ray release it deserves
One of my favourites and takes me back to the mid-80's with VHS rentals! Pleased to say though that Second Sight films has released the title in the UK and has given this some 'Special Edition' treatment that you would not normally see for a catalogue type title.

I will concentrate on the product details for this review as most arriving here will know of Walter...
Published 8 months ago by GreenSt

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray quality so so. No subtitles at all
I was surprised at the picture quality. I could have easily stayed with my DVD. Sound quality was good. Music videos does not have good quality.
Published 5 months ago by UK Trolley


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walter Hill classic receives Blu Ray release it deserves, 20 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Streets of Fire [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
One of my favourites and takes me back to the mid-80's with VHS rentals! Pleased to say though that Second Sight films has released the title in the UK and has given this some 'Special Edition' treatment that you would not normally see for a catalogue type title.

I will concentrate on the product details for this review as most arriving here will know of Walter Hill (Director of films such as The Warriors, Souther Comfort) and his particular style of films but may be wondering if this release is worth the cost. In this respect I consider this a bargain at just over 12 with film itself looking and sounding very good but also with a significant amount of special features. Full details as follows:

Picture quality is very good and the best i have seen the film. Most of the film is set at night so you will see some grain (as you would expect) but it is sharp throughout and I am very pleased with the version we have here. Audio comes courtesy of a DTS-HD Master Audio lossless 5.1 track and sounds very good. You will not get the head-turning surround sound effects as you would expect from a film such as this but the sound is strong (musical numbers are superb) throughout. There are 17 x chapters with pop-up menu access to key scenes.

Special features are extensive. There is a new 1hour 20min feature with Michael Paré, Walter Hill and others and offers a look back at the film production process. Very interesting throughout and great that this has been added to the title - from what I can see this may have been commissioned by the UK based Second Sight Films so very well done for taking this much effort for the release. USA based web sites seem to be looking to the UK disc as the one to buy! Elsewhere there is an 'electronic press kit' which provides interviews, features etc., that were made available at the time of the films release to promote the title and good to see them here. Music videos are also present but, as you would expect, in stereo so you are better off heading to the film to listen in glorious 5.1 lossless audio!

This is the second (!!) title I have purchased from Second Sight Films (Quest for Fire the other) and really pleased to see that the UK seems to have our very own version of the USA Criterion Collection in the making! Keep up the good work and I look forward to buying more of your titles if they are as well presented as the two I now own.

I have added a scan of the back cover to the product images above.

Great stuff and recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About time!, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Streets of Fire [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
A classic cult film finally getting some love on Blu! The feature length doco is fantastic but i only wish it focussed more on the amazing music of Jim Steinman & Fire Inc - would have been great to have had more insight into that.

Michael Pare, Diane Lane, Rick Moranis, Willem Dafoe, Amy Madigan....you can't go wrong.

The only way to improve this would have been to have added the re-mastered soundtrack with the extra tracks, 12" mixes etc that never made the original soundtrack ala Xandau a few years ago.

Great 80's film that deserved to be a bigger hit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Walter HIll at his best, 17 May 2014
By 
J. L. Alberti "Just A Film Fan" (Southwest) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Streets of Fire [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you've seen this you know what it's about. Diane Lane in one of her first grown-up roles. All newcomers that went on to have long careers. Bill Paxton, Willem DeFoe, EG Daley, Amy Madigan and Rick Moranis. Look for Marine Jahan, who doubled Jennifer Beals in Flashdance, as the dancer in Torchies.

Yes it's hockey but, it's supposed to be. A Rock and Roll Fantasy, as it's billed.

The fantastic score by Ry Cooder sets the mood perfecty.

The extras are excellent. Even though there are no subtitles, it's really not needed as the dialog is very clear.

I have the old Universal DVD, which was non-anamorphic, and this beats that to death. For an 80's movie the picture is clear and color is very natural. Some grain but that can be expected.

Whether you've seen this or just like a good old fashion right vs wrong movie with a strong hero you should get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film... not a great blu ray, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Streets of Fire [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Like a lot of people been waiting years for this to come onto blu ray. One of my favourite guilty pleasure films it's excellent!

Sadly the blu ray isn't. The quality is the same as the dvd, a poor transfer. The music video to Nowhere Fast is missing.

When Streets Of Fire came out in the 80s they also released a video EP you could buy on VHS which contained all three music videos and a making of documentary (not the one on here) Surely somebody somewhere at Universal has got this so they could have made a decent HD release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good quality HD sound., 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Streets of Fire [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The video consider good quality for a 1984 movie with very
good DTS sound.Collector item worth it ! Best Version among
all release, just the movie trailer was in old version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars streets of fire, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Streets of Fire [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
i loved everything about this bluray.awesome movie that i have loved since i first saw it in the 80s.great new documentary that was an hour and a half.loads of old docs and ads and music videos from when the film came out.was well worth every penny spent.would recomend it to everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "stay and see the show", 13 Jan 2014
By 
M. L. Howell (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Streets of Fire [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
one of the best movies of the 80;s great music... just waiting on release of the "the road to hell" sequel...go on buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray quality so so. No subtitles at all, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Streets of Fire [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I was surprised at the picture quality. I could have easily stayed with my DVD. Sound quality was good. Music videos does not have good quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 28 Sep 2013
By 
mr_ugli (Northampton) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Streets of Fire [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Amazing. Unique. Funny. Macho. Ridiculous.
If you don't like this overblown movie, then you don't like cinema, end of story.

It's brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I have been waiting years for this since Blu Rays first came out!!, 25 Oct 2013
This review is from: Streets of Fire [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I cannot beleive that it has taken this long for the Blu Ray, at least we have it now.

Absaloute Class!!

I just hope that Walter Hill has done the same with this (Streets of Fire BR) as he did with the Blu Ray release of The Warriors (Cartoon Segments)that would be very cool i think.

I wonder when we will be able to purchase Road to Hell Blu Ray to go with it????? we have only been waiting for this since 2008... not long.

Mr Pyun hurry up..

Tom Cody...The Original action Hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Streets of Fire [Blu-ray]
Streets of Fire [Blu-ray] by Walter Hill (Blu-ray - 2013)
11.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews