Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Evolution of 3D Documentaries.
It seems that David Attenborough and the team he works with at Sky, are at the forefront of 3D documentary filming and this is another in a series of high quality film packages on Blu Ray. Attenborough brings his own unique style of commentary but also a commitment to high standards in terms of scientific rigour and quality of images.

Throughout, the...
Published 19 months ago by Bruce

versus
9 of 29 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No subtitles :-(
Was rellay looking forward to the release of what seems to be a true great series, but was amazed to find out that it doesn't have any subtitles. So inconsiderate of the production Company to release this with no subtitles. A bummer.
Published 19 months ago by DionysosBacchus


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Evolution of 3D Documentaries., 21 Nov. 2013
By 
Bruce "from Brighton" (UK - England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galapagos 3D with David Attenborough [Blu-ray 3D] (Blu-ray)
It seems that David Attenborough and the team he works with at Sky, are at the forefront of 3D documentary filming and this is another in a series of high quality film packages on Blu Ray. Attenborough brings his own unique style of commentary but also a commitment to high standards in terms of scientific rigour and quality of images.

Throughout, the photography is stunning and the 3D footage in HD, adds to the overall experience. It feels like you are following the presenter, while he explains how the Galapagos demonstrate the inexorable process of evolution and adaptation in flora and fauna.

Apart from the 3D nature footage, there are many models and maps, created in 3D, to show the currents of winds that intersect here and the situation underneath the islands, as the magma flows into a hotspot that creates volcanoes. We also get to see amazing film of microscopic animals in 3D and there are 3D models of animals, showing how they have adapted from the creatures that first arrived at these isolated islands. So you can see a demonstration of how Penguins have changed shape and Cormorants lost their wings, for example.

All of these wonderful images go to enliven the scientific 'story' that David Attenborough tells us of how islands emerged from the sea and were populated by floating insects and lizards, as well as birds and seeds from small plants - although not trees. The lack of trees and mammalian predators lead to the unique evolution of species and diversity on the Galapagos.

Overall, we get 3 separate full-length programmes and a 50 minute "making of" film, totalling 220 minutes of 3D or HD - great value, considering the shortness of some IMAX films presented as a single Blu Ray disc. Sound is excellent in surround or stereo, with a full orchestral score that adds to the whole soundtrack, as you would expect in a high class documentary from the BBC - although this is of course the Sky 3D team, who gave us Kingdom of Plants in 3D (Blu-ray 3D),The Penguin King 3D (Blu-ray 3D + Blu Ray) and so on.

If you are interested in 3D nature documentaries, this is a "must have" and a top recommendation on every consideration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pictures stunning!, 28 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The film work and pictures are stunning, and the footage and commentary was everything I expected it to be!

However, as a hard of hearing person, I was disappointed that there were no subtitles available on the DVD! I have given it four stars for this reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sir David's Dream..., 9 Mar. 2014
By 
Paola Tor (Rua Tomás Antonio Gonzaga, 9-5º-D-Odivelas - Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Galapagos, a ''Place of Wonders'' as Attemborough says...

Origins, Adaptation and Evolution in 3 Episodes and still 50 minutes of a 'sugestive' 'making-off'.

Computer Models, X-Ray and Sattelite Images, help our understanding of the 'Birth' (Origins) Geological changes and 'metamorfose' (Evolution) of Its inhabitantes. Help us to understand how Its privileged position in the Pacific Ocean and the unique confluence of Currents help the extraordinary development of the various types of Life.

All these Islands ( over 16 ) are Volcanos, some dormant some active and 6 were chosen to film this Series: Isabella. Alceda, Fernandina, Sta. Cruz, Española and Tortuga, each one with a specific Geology and Life.

After following Sir David's Programs for 20 years with no reason to question the superb quality of all them, I feel extremely unpleasant considering this version of Galapagos a ''dejà vu''...
Everything is ( as always was ) very well written and presented by Attenborough, but for those like me who have the 2006 BBC remarkable Blu-ray Documentary ''Galapagos the Islands that changed the World'', this version in terms of contents has very few inovation...
Of course Sir David knew it well! I'm sure his purpose was not to 'reply' anything ( He doesn't need it...) but to achieve the dream of building the first 3D Documentary about Galapagos!
He made it and made it well! He...and his Sky Team! Hard work indeed in such terrain and I hardly suggest everyone not to miss the 'Making-off'.
Still speaking about contents, there are only 4 new details to consider:
In Isabella, something very sad and intriging to Science is happening protagonized by Giant Tortoises, and one more type of Iguana was discovered living in borroughs in the remote areas of the Volcano. A very 'charming' Pink Iguana...
In Sta. Cruz, a handful of new arrivals to Science live inside the Lava Tubes of its Subterranean Worlds. Some Biologists give us a fresh 'panorama' of these new Species most of them thriving in complete darkness.
At last, the death of ''Lonsome George'' the eldest Giant Tortoise and Ícone of Galapagos, over two weeks after the end of the filmaking. It seems He knew this was the last chance to say good bye to Us and to Sir David, who was side by side with Him.

The DVD has not an appealing Image but as I don't know the Bluray I can only guess it must be better!
And the rest... is 3D...
Enjoy it

Anyway, for those who don't know the 2006 BBC Doc I have to insist : don't miss it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Form and content!, 13 Oct. 2014
By 
Pepper (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galapagos 3D with David Attenborough [Blu-ray 3D] (Blu-ray)
This is an excellent Blu- Ray disc in terms of both content and technical production.

As ever David Atteborough's soothing voice opens up all sorts of wonders of the Galápagos Islands which seems to be a real world "Jurassic Park" abounding with unique species. There's plenty of educational value here too.

Apart from the documentary content I bought this disc to try out a new Panasonic Blu-Ray player and the 3D effects are stunning - this is the disc I'd use to showcase the format. The sound is also excellent.

In summary, this Blu- Ray disc delivers in terms of content as well as demonstrating the 3D Blu-Ray format to full advantage. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Galapagos, 1 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galapagos 3D with David Attenborough [Blu-ray 3D] (Blu-ray)
Again David Attenborough at his best. Brilliant documentary film about Galapagos islands. Excellent camera and 3D effects. Absolutely five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome series, very surprised, 26 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galapagos 3D with David Attenborough [Blu-ray 3D] (Blu-ray)
I was very happy with this series. i already thought it would be good, but i was blown away. the images are awesome. and it has that old school david attenborough style meaning he talks you through the evolution of the islands and the animals on it. starting with how the islands were created, how the animals got there and the gradual process of evolution. you see attenborough also very often like in his old life series. i was very happy with that. its one of my favorite nature docs among the about 200 nature doc dvds i own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful., 18 Sept. 2014
By 
A John (Uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galapagos 3D with David Attenborough [Blu-ray 3D] (Blu-ray)
This is a wonderful Blu-ray. It contains both the documentaries, and the stories about how they made the documentaries, including instances where part of the crew were stranded in a remote area with no water when the helicopter developed a fault. It really makes you think about what the teams go through to make these films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Galapagos 3d, 11 Mar. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galapagos 3D with David Attenborough [Blu-ray 3D] (Blu-ray)
Exceptional. The 3d is amazing. David Attenboroughs narration is always superb, with added 3d the DVD is even better.
Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great documentary, 5 Oct. 2014
Wonderful photography.David attenborough is the best in these kinds of documentaries. This three pary series is beautiful explaining the islands history, it's wildlife and it's future. I was so downhearted when I heard that Lonesome George had died, he was featured on another david attenborough documentary life in cold blood, just to show the effects that humans can do to nature. Great documentary a must have for anyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding series, 13 Mar. 2014
By 
G. Baird - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Galapagos 3D with David Attenborough [Blu-ray 3D] (Blu-ray)
Saw this last night and was simply blown away. I've been fortunate to be able to watch it on my new UHD telly which up-scales the 3D content via my Samsung blu ray player and it's like nothing I've seen before. You feel like you are looking through a window due to the extra depth and detail of the images. Wow wow wow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Galapagos 3D with David Attenborough [Blu-ray 3D]
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews