Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all SW fans.
Having just returned from the fantastic show at the Royal Albert Hall on 20th October, I was very pleased to see the Drive Home EP drop through the letter box the following day.

It does not disappoint. The DVD as we all have come to expect from SW has the 5.1 option and really makes it a quality listen. The live footage is superbly recorded and took me right...
Published 9 months ago by Damian Steels

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Music
Like this album. Like the music of Steven Wilson. I hope he will bring out soon an album with PPT!
Published 6 months ago by Finedog


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all SW fans., 22 Oct 2013
This review is from: Drive Home (Audio CD)
Having just returned from the fantastic show at the Royal Albert Hall on 20th October, I was very pleased to see the Drive Home EP drop through the letter box the following day.

It does not disappoint. The DVD as we all have come to expect from SW has the 5.1 option and really makes it a quality listen. The live footage is superbly recorded and took me right back to my night before. The live Insurgentes is an absolute treat as it layers up by bringing the whole band into play in contrast to the album version. The Audio tracks again in 5.1 are a joy to the ears especially the haunting orchestral version The Raven'.

The cd, with the exception the lp version and video of The Raven' is the DVD slightly rearranged. I believe this may have been done as the DVD has grouped the song videos, the live footage and the audio for visual continuity which could have made the cd sound a little lop sided if it shared the same track order.

An easy 5 stars for me and a good introduction to those who have yet to sample this insanely talented master of all things in the world of prog.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE RAVEN FLIES!, 11 Jan 2014
This review is from: Drive Home (Audio CD)
This is a great update on the Raven tour and the films for 'The Raven that Refused to Sing' and 'Drive Home' are a bonus.

One point to note is that the live tracks in Frankfurt are taken from the first leg of the tour and for those that went to the shows on the second leg they will note how much better, as you'd expect, and tighter the songs sounded second time around.

One thing that is puzzling is to why the show at The Royal Albert Hall was not recorded/filmed. Such shows for such a successful album do not come along every day. It is a shame as memories fade.

Five stars all day long!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellenti..., 7 July 2014
By 
Kirk Markham "metalikirk" (SCOTLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drive Home (Audio CD)
It's steven wilson, enough said...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love love love it, 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drive Home (Audio CD)
Beautiful as always, well cared for, the mix has a sound flawless, Steve personally never disappoints me.
% stars like always
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The quality just keeps on coming......., 1 Dec 2013
By 
D. A. Bennett "OLDTIMER" (west yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drive Home (Audio CD)
Got back from Royal Albert Hall Gig after 2 days in London to find this behind my front door. Suitcase in hall fire up the DVD - wow theres not much to complain about here except perhaps could you not have put even more on her Mr Wilson come on your not trying.
2 discs about an hour each............. But seriously this is quality from start to finish - the visuals - live tracks fantastic, of course the animations for Drive Home and Raven equally spectacular.
All backed up by a cd to listen to in my car to keep the memories of RAH concert fresh including the "unreleased track" which was fantastic - cant wait for next album.....
Anyway - for me this release is 5 star all the way, if you have not dipped into Mr Wilsons catalogue yet (whats the matter with you...) try this as an intro you will be hooked ....if your an out and out fan.... could not be better get it bought.....now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reduced to tears, 6 Dec 2013
This review is from: Drive Home (Audio CD)
What more is there to be said? For sheer value for money alone, this release rates five stars. I spent all this morning - my birthday - listening to this music over and over and I can with honesty say that it includes some of the most melancholic and emotionally affecting that I have heard for some time. The videos for 'Drive Home' and 'The Raven ...' literally reduced a 56 year old man to tears - in a good way - no mean feat. Steven Wilson has gone even beyond Porcupine Tree and is currently producing some of the best 'neo-prog' music around today. Avoid or dismiss at your peril!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steven Wilson "Genius", 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drive Home (Audio CD)
Always been a big big fan of Porcupine Tree and especially Steven Wilson, and once again not disappointed with anything that he does, if you have already purchased "The Raven that Refused to Sing, I would also get Drive Home if not for the brilliant songs, but for the DVD, video for the songs "Drive Home", and "The Raven that Refuse to Sing"plus live tracks."fantastic"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drive Home (Audio CD)
Like this album. Like the music of Steven Wilson. I hope he will bring out soon an album with PPT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 12 Jan 2014
This review is from: Drive Home (Audio CD)
Got this as a Christmas present for my dad, very well recoeved, and a good after dinner entertainment for us all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why does he go off on one. Sometimes crap or maybe it grows on you, 16 Feb 2014
This review is from: Drive Home (Audio CD)
I still am trying to get used to this. I just grabbed this of an hhmv rack stuck it in the CD player and started to enjoy it. Then some of the tracks just go off on a self important jam of rubbish ...then back to good stuff. Camps somebody explain it they really enjoy it when a track loses way on a jam. Maybe if I play it and play it I will enjoy it. I just find it hard if it's really planned music or just a band jamming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drive Home
Drive Home by Steven Wilson (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews