Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The definitive Family compilation - well, almost!
At long last, a 2CD compilation that includes all of Family's greatest songs and most of the stand-out tracks from each of the studio albums, lovingly re-mastered, nicely packaged and all for around a tenner! Previous such efforts have always fallen well short (whoever heard of a Family set that didn't include "The Weaver's Answer", "Observations from a Hill" and "Hung...
Published 9 months ago by Mike C, Shropshire

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I love Family, but...
What happened to "Music in a Doll's House"? Two songs only - and not the best two by far. I mean, "Peace of Mind" is an early classic, of course, but what is "See Through Windows" doing here? What happened to "The Chase", "Voyage" and "Winter"? Hold on - I just remembered "Mellowing Grey" too. I never really dug...
Published 6 months ago by jo pageri


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The definitive Family compilation - well, almost!, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History (Audio CD)
At long last, a 2CD compilation that includes all of Family's greatest songs and most of the stand-out tracks from each of the studio albums, lovingly re-mastered, nicely packaged and all for around a tenner! Previous such efforts have always fallen well short (whoever heard of a Family set that didn't include "The Weaver's Answer", "Observations from a Hill" and "Hung Up Down", for example? Unforgiveable!) This issue sets that record straight and is essential listening for new and old (very old, in my case) fans alike. The re-mastering really brings the original mixes to life; despite its stand-out tracks, I always found the "Family Entertainment" album rather flat in that respect but here, for example, Ric Grech's bass work is sublime and the interplay between Charlie Whitney and John Weider on the "A Song for Me" tracks is a revelation. I guess everyone will have their own views on what should/shouldn't have been included; personal favourites I would have liked to have seen include "How-Hi-The-Li", "Willow Tree" and "Top of the Hill" but these are readily available on the original albums and it would be churlish to bemoan their absence, given the constraints of 2CDs. In summary, an excellent, timely issue - outstanding value for money. Until I can save up enough (or Amazon substantially drops the price) to buy the comprehensive but very expensive "Once Upon A Time" box set - as much as I love Family, this is 40+ year old back catalogue stuff, after all - "Family History" more than adequately fills the gap. Highly recommended - get it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "History" - Family, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History (Audio CD)
An excellent compilation, well presented with decent recordings and a fascinating insight into the band especially for anyone new to Family. I would definately recommend this CD to anyone wishing to hear a best of compilation as covers the whole spectrum of the bands personnel changes over the years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great albums, 14 April 2014
By 
Mr. Ian Grant "I.R.G" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History (Audio CD)
You like Family you don't need anything else great album great music what else to say . Its about time a great band
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family History, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History (Audio CD)
At last a full compilation CD of all the singles released by Family between 1969 and 1972 - this even includes the Strange band EP version of The Weaver's Answer for the first time ever on an official release CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A much under rated band, 23 Mar 2014
By 
Stephen Spencer (derby, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History (Audio CD)
Way back when I purchased some of their singles and saw them live but never delved into their album material and for the life of me I cannot remember why.. but at that time their was such a diversity of great music to listen to and to go see..which is why I have only just got around to delving into Family in more depth and what a treat It is.. Ok you have to get use to Roger Chapmans distinctive vocal style but it works it really does.. This album shows a wide range of influences, rock, jazz, folk, R and B, Americana though I dont think that term was in use back then..Family could rock and do justice to gentler stuff as well. They included some great musicians in their ranks and featured instruments such as saxaphone harpsichord flute violin and Vibrophone.. All to great effect.
A great collection...Love it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All in the family, 7 Jan 2014
By 
GlynLuke (York UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: History (Audio CD)
Roger Chapman had one of the most distinctive, not to mention frenzied, voices in late sixties/seventies rock. His fellow Family members were a superb bunch of musicians, and I would see them often at the Roundhouse in London, or at festivals here and there back in their considerable pomp. They were a terrific live band, and Chapman, with his soulful tremolo ravings, could scare the life out of you if you weren`t careful.
This is without doubt the best compilation of the Leicester ne`er-do-wells ever released - excepting the expensive multi-disc extravaganza which would set you back a lot more than the asking price for this two-disc collection of most of the very best of the band.
The classics are all present and correct (for once - other available compilations are rendered pointless without most or all of the following): Weaver`s Answer, Observations From A Hill, Peace Of Mind, Hung Up Down, A Song For Me, No Mule`s Fool, In My Own Time, Burlesque, My Friend The Sun...
Many of the lesser known tracks will be a pleasant surprise to new visitors, and even to some old friends of the Family.
Trouble is, they really were a live band, and a damn fine one, consistently good, with a repertoire fine-tuned over the years they were together. But do their songs work in the recording studio, and on remastered CD? Well, yes and no. Occasionally they can take your breath away, but all too often - and it pains me to say this, as I have only happy memories of seeing & hearing the band - they sound like they are meandering through a formless song, with only Chapman`s searing vocal anchoring them to anything substantial.
Nevertheless, this nicely packaged, long overdue retrospective does Family justice, and I guess it`s a set that old fans and newcomers will play with pleasure every now and then, though - unlike for example the lavish Procol Harum compilation Secrets of the Hive that came out a while ago - I can`t imagine wanting to hear it that often.
If you love Family, this is definitely the one to buy, and if you`re interested to hear what one of the most unusual bands of their era sounded like, then it`s all here, and most of it is well worth hearing.
But you really had to be there...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost as new songs, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History (Audio CD)
I have always been a fan of Family and I really appreciate this opportunity to listen to this old songs collection enriched with a new sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice quality., 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History (Audio CD)
Bought for my husband good value CD.Has a lot of tracks what he likes.Bringing back memories as his music taste is mostly the 60' & 70's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice selection, 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History (Audio CD)
My only criticism is the use of bronze ink on black paper for the notes.
Most people who buy this collection will be "of a certain age" and optically challenged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family, 27 Dec 2013
By 
Russ G. Mills - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: History (Audio CD)
One of my favourite groups of the late 60's early 70's and finally a best of with ' The weavers answer ' thereon , a super Album with a promp delivery/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

History
History by Family (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews