Customer Reviews


478 Reviews
5 star:
 (352)
4 star:
 (73)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This was a perfect read with no flaws and had me hooked from start to finish xXx
After thoroughly enjoying Don’t Want to Miss a Thing last year I was looking forward to reading another book by Jill Mansell.
The Unpredictable Consequences of Love follows a large cast of characters but each of their stories all weave around each other effortlessly. As you can imagine from the title the book is full of troubled romance.

Because the...
Published 14 months ago by realovesbooks

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yawn.....
Not Jill's finest. The characters are laid out for in detail too early. You can see the path they will follow and how it's going to end. From then on through the book, it's just a very average batting back and forth of courtship, for want of a better word. It gets very tedious, the characters are far too stereotyped and the book is altogether predictable without gathering...
Published 7 months ago by Bakergirl


‹ Previous | 1 248 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This was a perfect read with no flaws and had me hooked from start to finish xXx, 30 Jan. 2014
By 
realovesbooks (South east London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Unpredictable Consequences of Love (Kindle Edition)
After thoroughly enjoying Don’t Want to Miss a Thing last year I was looking forward to reading another book by Jill Mansell.
The Unpredictable Consequences of Love follows a large cast of characters but each of their stories all weave around each other effortlessly. As you can imagine from the title the book is full of troubled romance.

Because the book had such a big cast of lead characters it did take some time getting to know each of them but because each of them were so well developed I didn’t have any trouble remembering who was who.

Sophie has absolutely no interest in men much to Josh’s disappointment, something has clearly happened in her past to put her off men for life and Josh is determined to get to the root of the problem.
The gorgeous babe magnet Reily has a big crush on Sophie’s friend Tula but she keeps knocking him back which has never happened to the surfer dude before.

Reily’s aunt is a successful author and she has eyes for Josh’s grandfather but it looks like he still holds a torch for his ex-wife Dot.

So much love is flowing in this little seaside town and each of the characters were all loveable and entertaining. I picked this book up at every spare moment I got as I was hooked and couldn’t put it down, eager to see what was going to happen next and if any of these romances were going to blossom.

My favourite thing about this book is that there is one almighty twist that I really didn’t see coming. I am not going to say any more about this or who it involves otherwise you will be watching out for it and not seeing it coming was what made this such a shock as there were no clues that made this obvious!

This was a perfect read with no flaws and had me hooked from start to finish, one of my favourite reads in a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Yawn....., 15 Aug. 2014
Not Jill's finest. The characters are laid out for in detail too early. You can see the path they will follow and how it's going to end. From then on through the book, it's just a very average batting back and forth of courtship, for want of a better word. It gets very tedious, the characters are far too stereotyped and the book is altogether predictable without gathering interest and pace. Sorry, but so disappointing and a bit dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book (as usual!), 30 Jan. 2014
By 
Best Crime Books "Best Crime Books" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Unpredictable Consequences of Love (Kindle Edition)
When I received this latest offering by Jill Mansell I was a little surprised. The book itself looked like it was a little smaller than previous offerings. After a little scout on Amazon I saw that it was actually only marginally shorter than her two latest books. Not deterred I started the book and within the first few pages was once again transported into the wonderful fictional word Jill created. Sophie at first glance appears to be the main character but in this book, by the end I felt like there were maybe 5 or 6 ‘main’ characters. Initially Sophie wasn’t a character that I immediately liked. She seems like a friendly girl who lives in Cornwall and is trying to build up her photography business. The thing was she was such a closed book it was really difficult to warm to her that much. Shortly after we meet Sophie’s friend Tula who is somebody who is an open book and a character you like almost from the off. In addition to them, we see Dot who is running her hotel in Cornwall jointly with her Grandson Josh. Josh has recently moved back to the UK and in addition to seeing him work around the hotel we meet his friend Riley. Now do you see what I mean about the characters?

Jill Mansell has a magical ability to transport you into the worlds she creates and by the end of the book I found myself wanting to go and visit the hotel in Cornwall and meet the characters she has lovingly created. Each character has its own flaws and the most major one, seems to be Sophie. As the story unfolds we see everybody’s issues start to jump to the forefront and as time went on and I realised what Sophie’s issues were it made me like her even more. There were plenty of plot threads going on too, but I can assure you this wasn’t overdone and the characters all made their own mark on me.

I was so engrossed in this book that by the time I finally got around to starting it (two weeks later than planned)! I finished it the same day. Jill’s last two books were 5 star reads and this one is no different. I found myself totally absorbed, and this book gives you everything you could want from a book in this genre. It has fantastic characters and an interesting storyline that takes you straight into their world without pausing for breath. In my eyes, Jill Mansell is a legend! I kid you not people; the lady has been writing books for over two decades and the only way I can describe her (in the nicest possible way) is like a fine wine. She just gets better with age! Do yourself a favour and pre-order this one, I don’t think you will be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Already looking forward to the next book from Jill, 31 Jan. 2014
By 
Sharon (Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Every year I look forward to a new Jill Mansell book and this year was no exception so I was excited to receive a proof copy of her latest book The Unpredictable Consequences of Love which was published today.

The last thing on Sophie's mind is romance as she's come to St Carys to concentrate on her career, following a traumatic break-up which has put her off men for life, much to the disappointment of Josh who has returned home to the seaside town to help his grandmother run the family hotel and would love to get to know her more. Local playboy Riley takes an instant liking to Sophie's friend Tula, who has decided to move to the town too, but she's just not interested in him which is not something he's used to...

Add into the mix an interesting cast of supporting characters to get to know too and you might think it would get a bit too overloaded or complicated to follow who was who but I can assure you it doesn't, I loved getting to know the older generation just as much as I did Sophie and the others. In fact I enjoyed reading about the love triangles of Josh's grandparents almost as much as I did of his and Riley's attempts to break down the barriers of Sophie and Tula.

This was such a fun read and was perfect reading material for these damp drab January evenings, I found myself picking up the book at every opportunity to be transport to St Carys to see whether love would conquer for all...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Predictably :) brilliant read, 3 Feb. 2014
I have read every book written by Jill, all 25, some of them more than once, ekhm, or more than twice, or even more than that, and I am still waiting for more. Every year I am looking forward to her new novel and as soon as I finish it, I start to long for the next year, for a new story. No exceptions this time. The cover of the book, so typical to all Jill's covers, is in bright yellow colour and with a brilliant picture, and it is just as great as the whole book, optimistic and in my opinion it suits the whole plot.

As usual, we have here a fair share of characters. Meet Sophie, who is trying to concentrate on her career after moving to St Carys, and the move was a consequence of a very traumatic situation in her past, which put her off men totally. Josh, after leaving US and his job as a manager of a music band, running a hotel with his grandmother Dot. Dot and her ex - husband Lawrence - I can't say more, don't want to be a spoiler! Reily, Josh's best friend and a golden - boy, surfer with no problems, has his eyes set on Sophie's best friend Tula, who on the other hand thinks that she develops feelings for Josh. A successful best - selling author, an aunt of Riley who thinks very highly about Lawrence...
See what I mean???

So many characters but they are so wonderfully and clearly written, and each story is so good developed, that I had no problems with all the people and I knew who is who from the beginning. But while I thought that it is Sophie who is the main character and that the main story is going to develop around her - we know that something happened to her and that she's hiding a secret - I must admit that two other people have stolen the whole book for me, as I totally haven't seen it coming! Also the story of Sophie was a surprise to me, and I love to be surprised when reading a book, and here we already have two surprises!
Even with such a big cast of the leading characters, I have liked them all, without exceptions. They were warm, likeable and the situations they found themselves in or things that happened to them were also probable, not exaggerated, which always makes the read for me much more comfortable and enjoyable. And I have a feeling that the book actually needed such cast of the characters, every single person added something to the story.

As well as many characters, there were also a few plot threads going on in the book, every one as enjoyable as the other one, but thanks to the easy, clear writing they were not confusing at all and they were easy to keep up. Jill Mansell is just a queen of a good plot and is perfect in drawing brilliant, characters. She can create a world that you can immediately feel a part of. The story is what it's meant to be, it's fun, it's light, and slightly touching. It was a feel good book, a book that every one of us really need to read. Highly recommended!

I received a copy of this book from publisher in exchange for a review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yet another enjoyable Jill Mansell read, 3 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unpredictable Consequences of Love (Kindle Edition)
Another easy to read by Jill Mansell, set in lovely Cornwall. Only downside it finished too soon........can't wait to read her next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as her previous books., 18 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unpredictable Consequences of Love (Kindle Edition)
Sophie, living in Cornwall, is working hard to build up her business as a photographer - early on in the book, we learn that something in her past has made falling in love just not an option for her. A good friend Tula, comes to live in the same village and to work at the local hotel......... The story is basically - boys wants girls, girls play hard to get, boys gets girls............ It really is as simple as that. The predictability of it all is a bit of an insult to the reader. The book lacks the usual wit and clever twists of her previous books.

I have read, and loved, a couple of Jill Mansell's other books, this one was such a disappointment for me. Nothing much happens throughout the book, the personalities of the characters are spoon fed to us very early in the story - nothing left to discover later on. The storyline is so very predictable, I don't think anyone reading this book could doubt the ending. I found myself getting very bored halfway through the book and was glad when I'd actually finished it - it became very tedious.

Sorry, but I can only give it three stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The unpredictable consequences of love, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unpredictable Consequences of Love (Kindle Edition)
This book is brilliant, as are all Jill mansells books, loved the characters all with different stories.Will definitely recommend to family and friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book as always, 4 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unpredictable Consequences of Love (Kindle Edition)
really enjoyed this book always enjoy Jill mansell's books and this one hasn't disappointed.
a good love story with loads of twists and turns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book by Jill Mansell!!, 4 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Unpredictable Consequences of Love (Kindle Edition)
I have read all Jill Mansell's books and this one did not disappoint! Great storyline and great characters in a beautiful setting. Finished the book in one sitting - now have to wait for her next book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 248 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews