Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have no fear and buy it!
This is a cracking read. It has two main female characters - a detective hunting a serial killer who suffers from an injury which leaves her fighting disabling pain and the doctor treating her for that pain, who has a genetic disability which prevents her from feeling pain herself. Just to add a twist to the tale, the doctor is also a daughter of a serial killer. Both...
Published 14 months ago by p r neil

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not her best
Three lone, single women are murdered in Boston by 'the rose killer'. The crimes have parallels to a serial killer who has been dead for forty years, and his serial killer daughter who is currently in a maximum security prison.

Hunting down the killer, is D.D Warren. Recently injured on the job, her excruciating pain leads her to Dr. Adeline Glen, a...
Published 13 months ago by Jackie


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have no fear and buy it!, 14 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear Nothing (Detective D.D. Warren 7) (Kindle Edition)
This is a cracking read. It has two main female characters - a detective hunting a serial killer who suffers from an injury which leaves her fighting disabling pain and the doctor treating her for that pain, who has a genetic disability which prevents her from feeling pain herself. Just to add a twist to the tale, the doctor is also a daughter of a serial killer. Both the characters are engaging - you really want to know what happens to them next. I was surprised at how interesting the doctor character was and would love to see her in another book.

It is a psychological thriller as well as a crime book and the plot races and twists, with background given by insights into the main characters. The whole related to a killer plot has become rather hackneyed but I felt this writer really brought a breath of fresh air to it and made it thought-provoking. I did not manage to guess `whodunit' until late in the book. Word of warning - I have never felt this before but some of the descriptions were so gory I simply could not read them. I have never read this author before but I will now look out for her books as I really enjoyed this one .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely gripping, 9 Jan. 2014
By 
Anne (Sheffield, Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear Nothing (Detective D.D. Warren 7) (Kindle Edition)
Lisa Gardner writes novels with twists and turns in the way that few others writers do and this book will keep you guessing all the way through.

Our favourite detective DD Warren is injured and in extreme pain. She receives therapy from a woman who has a strange physical condition in that she can feel no pain herself. Adeline is the sister of a serial killer and the daughter of another and she becomes embroiled in DD's investigation following the appearance of another killer who appears to mimic the others. There are lots of plot strands here which weave together nicely into a coherent plot. What Adeline does near the end of the book stretches the boundaries of believability more than a little but it makes sense within the narrative of the book as a whole. I didn't find it easy to guess the killer nor to work out what would happen next and I very much enjoyed the twists and turns of the storyline.

This is a book about powerful women (DD, Adeline and even the prison governor) but it is not a "woman's book" - it is a great crime/suspense novel which is quite graphic in its descriptions of the crimes and thus not for the very squeamish. I never felt, however, that the author was revelling in the violence but rather displaying it as a destructive force. I was also pleased that, although the author had obviously done a considerable amount of research, the technical details of the injury which DD has and the condition suffered by Adeline and their consequences were nicely embedded in the story.

There are lots of themes here - the role of pain, nature versus nurture, the destructiveness of rage, the consequences to many of the actions of one, the bonds within families - and the author doesn't give us any real answers to any of this but poses many questions. The themes are there and they make you think, but overall what you will remember is that this is a gripping and clever story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hanging on the edge of my seat, 17 Jan. 2014
By 
D. Phillips (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear Nothing (Detective D.D. Warren 7) (Kindle Edition)
I love Lisa Gardners work and stumbled upon her books recommended by Karin Slaughter. As usual the suspect have interesting back stories and our heroine - Detective DD is fighting her own demons. This book had me guessing to the very last pages.
Lisa Gardner gives a psychological spin on the characters involved and it's the understanding of them that makes the read a thriller.

I'd recommend even as a standalone but really it'll want you reading all her books before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fear nothing, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear Nothing (Detective D.D. Warren 7) (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book,could not put it down and it kept me guessing until the very last chapter.cant wait til next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!, 29 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Fear Nothing (Detective D.D. Warren 7) (Kindle Edition)
Book review of Fear Nothing by Lisa Gardner
I received this book as a giveaway from Goodreads in return for an honest review.
The story is about a Boston homicide detective called D. D. Warren who is investigating a rather gruesome murder. She returns to the crime scene late at night alone and is startled by someone which results in her falling backwards down the stairs, firing her gun 3 times and knocking herself out. When she comes around she can’t remember what happened or why she fell down the stairs. Detective Warren is referred to a psychiatrist Dr Adeline Glen who has a rare condition which means she is unable to feel pain.
The body count increases and the detectives realise they are looking for a serial killer.
The book is very well written and easy to read. The story simply flows without any unnecessary distractions which keeps the reader turning the pages. The descriptive passages bring the scenes to life in a clear and vivid way without slowing the pace of the story.
The characters are complex, well rounded and totally believable having both good and bad traits. They are all human. As a result of this the dialogue is well constructed and well balanced.
The story starts with drama and continues at a good pace throughout the book. There are no boring pages as the tension is maintained from start to finish. This is managed because the storyline is detailed and well constructed with plenty of twists and turns to keep the reader guessing. The end of the story is as dramatic as the beginning, a rare thing to find.
This is a book for people who enjoy thrillers and especially murder mysteries. However, I would add a word of caution as it is quite gruesome in parts and some people may find the details of the murders upsetting.
I really enjoyed this book, finding it hard to put down and am a little sad to have finished reading it. I will certainly be looking for more books from Lisa. Readers who enjoy this type of book will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not her best, 21 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Three lone, single women are murdered in Boston by 'the rose killer'. The crimes have parallels to a serial killer who has been dead for forty years, and his serial killer daughter who is currently in a maximum security prison.

Hunting down the killer, is D.D Warren. Recently injured on the job, her excruciating pain leads her to Dr. Adeline Glen, a psychiatrist specialising in pain management, who herself suffers from a rare genetic condition that means she cannot feel pain. Shana Day, Adeline's psychotic older sister, is in prison and is believed to know the rose killer. Only problem is that D.D is officially on leave and should technically be trying to recuperate.

I liked the concept of this novel, but there were too many strands that went nowhere and had no real purpose. The idea about the funeral homes was good, but then it just fizzled out into nothingness, never to be heard of again. References to D.D's severe shoulder injury seemed to exist purely to introduce Adeline, and then the only references were when she needed help showering or dressing or when it was 'tucked protectively against her left side'. That was it. I understand Gardner was trying to alienate this workaholic by injuring her, but she basically led the investigation so I didn't really see the point. She has done the whole 'falling off the rails' thing before with Bobby Dodge and characters from the FBI series and that was so much better written. She also has a child and husband now, to make her more 3D, but the child is always in day care or with grandparents and the husband is just described as endlessly patient. What would have been great was if the child had been in danger – say falling from a swing or something and having to rely on a stranger to help her son and take him to hospital. That would have shown the effect of a serious, debilitating injury far better than struggling to pull on some trousers.

The other issue with this novel is the endless dialogue! There are literally whole chapters of people just talking. I know this needs to happen to move the story along, but it was literally as though certain characters existed to tell, rather than show, the reader what was going on. I also do not like Alex, her husband. Gardner just hasn't developed him enough – he's too perfect. I'm not saying he should be a recovering alcoholic, but it would be nice to see him lose his temper with D.D occasionally, rather than being 'endlessly patient' with her...in short, I'd like him to be a bit like some of her other stronger male characters, like J.T Dillon, Mac McCormack and Bobby Dodge. All great but none perfect.

Overall, not her best work (I much prefer the FBI series, in particular Say Goodbye) but definitely not her worst (The Neighbour is my least favourite).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent, 27 Oct. 2014
By 
Elaine Tomasso (Troon. Uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear Nothing (Detective D.D. Warren 7) (Kindle Edition)
I think Ms Gardner who always writes a good book - there isn't a dud in her entire catalogue - but I don't think Fear Nothing is amongst her best. For once I had a good idea who the killer was, if not why and I saw some of the twists coming which is most unusual. Having said that I thoroughly enjoyed the journey. Someone is killing women and then flaying them. Detective D.D. Warren is badly injured at the crime scene and through the department meets Dr Adeline Glenn, a pain management psychiatrist who can't feel pain, who is the daughter of a serial killer who also killed and flayed his victims and the sister of Shana Day incarcerated as a teenager for killing and flaying a young boy. Ok, that's the background and what follows is the densely plotted hunt for a serial killer which I found engrossing. This is a book about physically restricted women - D.D. is struggling with pain and feeling inadequate in the face of her disability, Adeline can feel no pain so lives a very physically restricted life to keep her from harm and Shana is in solitary which automatically restricts her movement - and how they deal with it as well as being a crime novel. I can see an exam question - compare and contrast physical constraint on the 3 characters. I found it fascinating, well researched and quite realistic (character development as opposed to the plot!). I think this is a good, intelligent read and worth your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, Lisa Gardner, for writing this terrific yarn!, 18 Jan. 2015
Fear Nothing was a thoroughly engrossing thriller starring Boston Police Detective D.D. Warren. This is book 7 of her series. I have read one or two previous books but not the entire set. I may have to rectify that situation after reading this. D.D. is one tough lady who will stop at nothing to catch the bad guy. She has grown on me and I would like to know more of her story.

This book features an intriguing case of the Rose Killer, who flays single women in their homes. Sounds creepy, eh? Just wait. This is quite a twisted tale that focuses on two daughters of 40-years-deceased serial killer Harry Day. One daughter is in prison for a murder she committed while only 14 and the other is a pain therapist who, ironically, cannot feel pain. What skills have they learned from their father? Could they be linked to the latest murders? This penetrating novel tells it all and then some.

Be warned. This is a book that will keep you up reading into the night. Is it worth it? Oh yes. Nail biting psychological thriller that is well paced and interesting. I loved every word of it and hated to see it end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 16 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear Nothing (Detective D.D. Warren 7) (Kindle Edition)
Lisa Gardner didn't let us down! Her books are excellent and allways a pleasure to read - I love a good who dunnit with a bit of forensics mixed in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fear Nothing, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fear Nothing (Detective D.D. Warren 7) (Kindle Edition)
i really enjoyed this book. It was full of red herrings, and I didn't expect the ending to this one at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews