Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Ultimate" versus "The Masterpiece Collection"
This set is an "upgrade" of the previously released "Alfred Hitchcock: The Masterpiece Collection"
"The Ultimate Filmmaker Collection", This new set, costs £35 less than the old one ( update: prices on 22 december)
and it has two more films, "To Catch a Thief" and "North by Northwest". These two differences are very likely to make pointless to order the...
Published 12 months ago by lucas

versus
26 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cool but not an Ultimate Hitchcock
The packaging looks amazing, and digital restorations are tempting, but I'd quibble with the "Ultimate" appellation: this is yet another incomplete set of Hitchcock movies. Where are films such as "Notorious", "Spellbound", "Lifeboat", "Stagefright"? Where is "Dial M for Murder", "I Confess", "Strangers on a Train", "The Paradine Case" and "Rebecca"?
Published 13 months ago by Greg White


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Ultimate" versus "The Masterpiece Collection", 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock: The Ultimate Filmmaker Collection [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This set is an "upgrade" of the previously released "Alfred Hitchcock: The Masterpiece Collection"
"The Ultimate Filmmaker Collection", This new set, costs £35 less than the old one ( update: prices on 22 december)
and it has two more films, "To Catch a Thief" and "North by Northwest". These two differences are very likely to make pointless to order the older set now.

If you don't already have the set "The Masterpiece Collection", then there is no doubt that it is better to order "The Ultimate Filmmaker Collection".

If you already have the first set and is considering to get the second, newest one then you could always make an excellent Christmas present of the first set or donate
it to charity. I thought in sell my old set and checked Momox but the price they pay for it is surrealist: £2.32

Here I will outline the main differences between both sets, hoping that the information will be useful to other customers.

1. "The Ultimate" has two more films, "To Catch a Thief" and "North by Northwest". The quality of images is very good but the night scenes of "To Catch a Thief" are green...
The disc "To Catch a Thief" has no label with photo of the film, what singles it out from all other discs. That was some sloppy work of Universal. In addition, there are no extra features in "To Catch a Thief",
unlike all other films of the set, where you can find excellent extra features such as interviews with Hitchcock's daughter, actors, writers and so on.

2. "The Ultimate" has a considerably better price. I am considering here Amazon's price. There is a new seller selling "The Masterpiece" for half the price but I don't know if the sets are really new
and, in any case, that offer will not last long.

3. Both boxes have about the same height and length but "The Ultimate" has more than twice the width of "The Masterpiece". You will need more space for the new set. The oldest box seems more elegant to me
and they occupy half the space of the new box. There is a drawing of "The Birds" on the box of the old collection whilst the new box has a design of "Vertigo". The drawing of "Vertigo", unlike the one
from "The Birds", could be a drawing from many other films and it is not so much of a "trademark" as "The Birds" is.

4. There were many complaints about the discs being put inside paper slots in "The Masterpiece". It looks like Universal listened to those complaints because the films in "The Ultimate" come inside a nice metal case
that looks like a film can. The case has a soft styrofoam on both of its internal sides what makes for very good protection to each disc.

5. The extras such as booklet, film posters and so on are basically the same in "Masterpiece" and "Ultimate". Both sets have a collection of 14 (Masterpiece) or 16 (Ultimate) movie poster cards of each film. They also have a small booklet , replicas of letters and storyboards. "The Masterpiece" has eight costume cards that are not present in the new edition.

6. I was hoping that Universal would improve, in the new edition, the quality of copies such as "Marnie" but they didn't. The discs are exactly the same. The images in "Marnie" are good but they are not up
to blu ray standards. Even if the transfer of some of the films to blu ray wasn't to a high standard it doesn't mean that the images are
bad, unwatchable. They are good and they are better than their dvds' counterparts. "Frenzy", for example, looks much better on blu ray than on dvd.

7. It is much easier to handle the discs from the new collection, "The Ultimate", as each film has its own case. The discs are also better protected what would be the main reason why customers who were unhappy
with the placement of discs in paper slots, as they are on the first set, would consider ordering this set. Each metal case has the film title on the front and on the side making it very easy to find what you are looking for.
The films are in order of their year's production, like in the older set.

8. I checked the blu ray disc "To Catch a Thief" and Amazon is selling it for £7.50. That disc has several extra features, unlike the one in this collection. I wonder why.

Both box sets are, as far as I know, the best sets of films on disc ever made. It is definitely worth ordering the collection, even if you have
Hitchcock's films on dvd, because the blu ray discs are of better quality than the dvds and
are put together in cleverly, beautifully designed boxes.

I still didn't decide if I will keep the new set and will get rid of the old one or if I will return the new set but, if you don't have the first set then the newest one is definitely the best choice because of price, number of films and
quality of cases. It is just a shame that they did such a poor job with "To Catch a Thief" in the new box set, "The Ultimate Filmmaker Collection".

It is an easy guess that everybody considering this set have already watched most of its films but we can always come back to Hitchcock, reason why he is one of the great masters of cinema. Away from noisy crowds and smelly food
that now populate cinemas, you can watch Hitchcock's movies with blu ray quality ( mostly... ) in your home.

The sets have a few faults. I know that and pointed them out but the main thing is that both sets are of unique quality and they really are extraordinary.
Thank you, Universal, for all the work and care shown in the excellent "Masterpiece" and "Ultimate" sets.

Winter is coming and, as film experiences go, there is nothing like watching Hitchcock in a rainy, cold day, whilst having tea and cakes and biscuits
and blueberry jam...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beauty and suspense, 15 Jan 2014
By 
W. Rodick (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock: The Ultimate Filmmaker Collection [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This being a world record price for a box-set I believe it has earned a glowing review. My previous world record was walking out of my local Asda in January 2005 having paid £49.97 for the Lord of the Rings Extended production. The same price was also paid for Band of Brothers complete with tin box, like soldiers used to carry.

It was for aesthetic reasons as much as any other for me purchasing The Ultimate Hitchcock. Proudly perched beneath my plasma upon a thick glass shelf it says: 'feck off Spielberg, cop-for-that Scorsese and the rest.' Only David Lean and Stanley Kubrick can live with this movie CV. Posthumously.

I've had Hitchcock on VHS (those great black covers) and on various dvds (those crappy two-tone covers). But they never got watched. Only the big three movies: North by Northwest, Vertigo and Rear Window had repeated viewings where I live. It was not until I got a projector and 100' screen that I wandered into blu ray Hitchcock territory.

I have rediscovered cinema whilst sat at home. There are many options for Hitchcock blu ray. It can not be denied that money will be your main driver for your decision. But I urge you to find a space on your credit card for this blu ray collection. It's beautiful.

I watched the first movie last night. I found that my decision to buy blu ray Hitchcock had been more than vindicated. You may think a story about sabotage in a second world war airplane factory in the USA would be old hat. But the tight corners the man and woman find themselves in WILL have you on the edge of your sofa wondering how they will get out of this or that situation. Real suspense. And the dialogue does resonate with today. It was only last night that I realised that people in the 1930s and 1940s were what we now term 'radicalised.' Rich people were the enemy.

On the practical front the box is 7' high by 6' deep and 14½' long. Each disc within each tin is padded with foam both sides. The paperwork looks a bit naff at first appraisal but the booklet may be worth a read. I can only see running time information on the cardboard enclosure: I'm not sure how to keep this since it is best removed from the box-set for final placement.

As gorgeous as his female leads, this 16 movie collection has 'Hitchcock' as the last word in great cinema.

UPDATE: There was mention of green night time scenes in To Catch a Thief by another reviewer. These scenes are meant to be a green tinge from nearby lanterns. The film itself is a colourful, sunny cinema movie which I enjoyed immensely on 100' projection. I understood how 1950s cinema worked. Those dire black and white days must have been lit up by the colour and opulence of Cary Grant and Grace Kelly in the sunny South of France. The blu ray is rich, vivid and totally perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any Blu Ray collector, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock: The Ultimate Filmmaker Collection [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Great edition giving Hitchcock The treatment he deserves.... Very beatiful ir every aspect. Resistent material and the metal cases are very diferent and organize your Blu rays very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The box is wonderful. Full of extras, 26 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock: The Ultimate Filmmaker Collection [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The box is wonderful. Full of extras, the sixteen cans which wrap the disks are beautiful. The acrylic cover has come unglued a bit on the side, but no problem. great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cool but not an Ultimate Hitchcock, 4 Nov 2013
By 
Greg White (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hitchcock: The Ultimate Filmmaker Collection [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The packaging looks amazing, and digital restorations are tempting, but I'd quibble with the "Ultimate" appellation: this is yet another incomplete set of Hitchcock movies. Where are films such as "Notorious", "Spellbound", "Lifeboat", "Stagefright"? Where is "Dial M for Murder", "I Confess", "Strangers on a Train", "The Paradine Case" and "Rebecca"?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classy collection of Hitchcock's films., 17 Aug 2014
By 
Agustin Torres (Victorville, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock: The Ultimate Filmmaker Collection [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Beautiful collection of blu rays, in individual movie reel tins. And thank you Amazon UK for helping me with the shipping issue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's a great set. There are as others have remarked some ..., 25 Aug 2014
By 
W. Fleitz - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock: The Ultimate Filmmaker Collection [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
It's a great set. There are as others have remarked some quality issues with some of the prints but all in all I'm pretty happy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Sep 2014
By 
Shmuel Weiss (tel aviv, Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock: The Ultimate Filmmaker Collection [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Love this set.
True, it is not the ultimate collection, but it a real nice one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock: The Ultimate Filmmaker Collection [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Two words absolutely brilliant and well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hitchcock: The Ultimate Filmmaker Collection [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Bought as a gift for an enthusiast who is delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hitchcock: The Ultimate Filmmaker Collection [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Used & New from: £79.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews