Customer Reviews


115 Reviews
5 star:
 (94)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The maestro of County Durham is back
"You surely are a truly gifted kid / But you're only as good as the last great thing you did." These famous words from the Prefab Sprout song "Moving the River" echo in my mind as I listen to the new album "Crimson/Red" for the umpteenth time. Yes, songwriter Paddy McAloon is undoubtedly truly gifted, and this the last great thing he did makes him better than ever...
Published 13 months ago by Rivermoving

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant start but that's it
Fantastoc opening track (Best jewel thief in the world) but after that it goes all identikit Prefab Sprout. One's reminded why bands are such a great idea for songwriters - they say when things arent up to scratch.
Published 13 months ago by Kludge


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Paddy, 29 Nov 2013
By 
Mr. IAN MCCORRY (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crimson/Red (Audio CD)
There is a 6 letter word that is greatly overused to the point of loosing it's meaning and impact. Paddy McAloon is a GENIUS - there, I said it. He is able to meld beautiful, engagingand sensual melody to lyrics by turns witty, heartbreaking and CLEVER. It really isn't an exaggeration to put this calibre of song writing alongside Cole Porter or George Gershwin. Another absolute must-have recording.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank God, Paddy is Back!, 23 Nov 2013
This review is from: Crimson/Red (Audio CD)
This is already my new favourite Prefab Sprout Album, and that is after 28 years of being a fan. I cannot stop playing it. Every track is wonderful. I heard Paddy being interviewed by Mark Radcliffe and the other blokes show on BBC 6music. Apparently Paddy was told that he was overdue to make this album, so he chose a few song's from his large collection of previously written material and recorded them in his studio.

I love all of the tracks but if I had to choose a favourite it would be "Billy".
Thank You Paddy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of the year, 19 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crimson/Red (Audio CD)
Like a lot of people I had forgotten about Prefab Sprout, and then Paddy McAloon produces this incredible album. So glad I bought the album rather than the download, so I can listen to it in the car. Considering the body of work Prefab Sprout have produced to date, this album is definitely one of their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crimson/Red an excellent entry, 12 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crimson/Red (Audio CD)
The new album has McAloon's gifts for writing, arranging, and performing on full display. This is a more focused and original effort that the last few albums, which were produced in unusual circumstances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prefab, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CRIMSON/RED [VINYL] (Vinyl)
What can you say! after such a long absense! this is another classic prefab sprout album.
Clever lyrics and great melody's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crimson/Red (MP3 Download)
Love Prefab Spout's new album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than ... not quite up there with ..., 8 Nov 2013
By 
A. Miller "allanm" (Cumbria) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crimson/Red (Audio CD)
A fickle bunch, we Sprout fans! More glowing reviews for this than LCTWWM ... yet for me, it's not quite up to that standard. Aurally better, since it's more than just demos, but God Watch Over You and Angel of Love from that collection were among the best Sprout songs ever. There is nothing on this perfectly fine collection that hits that spot. But it is good - very good. Paddy on the radio amusingly recounted the tale of how he was gently reminded he'd promised a new album - 'promised' as in contractually obliged! - and flew into the studio in panic. Hearteningly, he shelved another project to do so, so perhaps things are looking up for the thirsty fan. The album suffers a little from some non-ideal sound choices - 'Billy', for example, not enhanced by the clunky harmonica sound on the intro - but that voice, not heard since 2001 but for the acoustic Steve McQueen tracks, is as fine as ever. Not to everone's taste, of course - some of us are *far* too macho to respond to romantic visions - but for others, even those of us old enough to know better, being in love with love still matters (just don't tell the missus, as he wryly notes on the sleeve!).

Just one thing: no lyrics? Again?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: CRIMSON/RED [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Everything giid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crimson / Red (Audio CD)
I just love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Present for a fan, 19 Jan 2014
By 
A. Cooke (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crimson/Red (Audio CD)
Impossible to find in our local high street. Young shop assistant had never even heard of them. Can't tell you much about the music though as bought as a present for a fan of the group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 19 10 11 12 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crimson/Red
Crimson/Red by Prefab Sprout (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews