Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable unseen Jimi Hendrix concert footage!
This dvd (or blu ray) has two main sections: Section one offers a documentary of Jimi's life while the focus of section two (Extras") is on three concert performances.

The documentary part (almost 2 hours) about Jimi's (too short) life is quite similar to the previously released "West Coast Seattle Boy" documentary. Added are excerpts of concert footage...
Published 9 months ago by Hans Behlendorff

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hardly "Definitive"...
I can't add much to what's already been written by other reviewers, but quickly:

Plusses:

lots of unseen footage, plus rare/unseen concert footage from Miami, New York and Fehmarn, which alone is worth the damage for the DVD. The July 1970 New York gig was supposed to be poor but I thought it was OK, a pity that there was no footage for a superb...
Published 5 months ago by Geoffrey Millar


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable unseen Jimi Hendrix concert footage!, 8 Dec 2013
By 
Hans Behlendorff (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This dvd (or blu ray) has two main sections: Section one offers a documentary of Jimi's life while the focus of section two (Extras") is on three concert performances.

The documentary part (almost 2 hours) about Jimi's (too short) life is quite similar to the previously released "West Coast Seattle Boy" documentary. Added are excerpts of concert footage published on previous Hendrix dvds. However, the entire part one is presented in widescreen format, which means that all the original concert clips have also been cut (reduced in height) compared to the originals which were filmed in 4:3 format. In my opinion that`s clearly a wrong and disappointing decision! These concert clips could have been presented in their original format with added black areas left and right to fill the widescreen format, thereby avoiding the mutilation of the original material!

There are also some new interviews, among them some with former girl friends of Jimi`s (Fayne Pridgeon, Linda Keith and Colette Mimram (now with a new last name). Other important girlfriends of Jimi`s, like Kathy Etchingham, Jeanette Jacobs and Carmen Borrero are not interviewed (Kathy probably might have declined to work with Janie Hendrix`s company. She has a very interesting homepage, mainly about Jimi, however). Carmen(blonde)is at least briefly seen with Jimi, in a clip on the road from Noel Redding`s home videos. There are also new comments by Paul McCartney, Steve Winwood, engineer and sound master Eddie Kramer and several other contemporaries who are still alive, Billy Cox being the last surviving band member. All the best to you, Billy!

Many documentary comments are illustrated with (mostly silent) short clips of Jimi performing (for example Stockholm 1967, bits of the psychedelic color film shot at Falcon Lair (formerly Rudolph Valentino`s house, in L.A.) on August 17, 1967, some very short film cuts of Jimi`s performance at Madison Square Garden, NYC, on May 18, 1969, a very interesting film piece of Jimi recording Voodoo Child" (with Mitch on drums and Jack Casady on bass) at TTG Studios in Hollywood, in 1968. This I would have enjoyed more had it been presented without interruptions, but here it is chopped into pieces.

The extras have 3 sections:

1. First, there is the documentary about the concert at the Miami Pop Festival on May 18, 1968. The former organizer Michael Lang (also organizer of Woodstock 1969) gives us some background information and then we see four filmed clips of Jimi's performance: "Foxy Lady" and "Tax Free" are about complete and there are also fragments of "Fire" and "Purple Haze". These clips are really exciting, in good (color) picture quality and 5:1 sound! Jimi and also Mitch are in good form. But, as with the documentary the Miami Pop film has been cropped to 16:9 from the original full 4:3 format, which leads to the stupid effect of cutting off the upper parts of Jimi`s and Noel`s heads (forehead and above) in some shots (not that many, thank God!) If video engineers are given the task to cut a 4:3 film down to 16:9, it would be nice to at least make sure they don`t chop off parts of heads!

2. The second concert film is from the New York Pop Festival, on 17 July 1970, Downing Stadium, Randall's Island, NY. Running time is approx. 20 minutes.
Parts of this concert I've seen on youtube, but here the quality is obviously much better. Jimi plays "Message To Love," "Lover Man", "All Along The Watchtower", "Purple Haze" and "Voodoo Child, SR". The sound is mixed to 5:1. This film has not been trimmed down. So there`s no frustration to fear. Funny: The producers actually apologize and warn us that this film is shown in it`s original form. They do the same for the Fehmarn film:

3. Recently discovered footage of Jimi on the Isle of Fehmarn, September 6. 1970, his last concert performance. He died only 12 days later, on the 18th of September.

Attention! Your tv must be switched to 4:3 format for this film! The access to the Fehmarn film is somewhat awkwardly hidden in the dvd menu: Below the song list for the New York Pop movie you have to click on the "more" button.

This Fehmarn concert film is a really pleasant surprise, especially for someone like me who experienced Jimi Hendrix performances live (all three performances in Berlin: May 15. 1967, January 23. 1969, and September 4. 1970).

Running time of this part is about 16 minutes. The footage shows Jimi from the perspective of the audience. Most of the time the camera catches him up close, quite clearly and always in color, doing "Killing Floor", "Spanish Castle Magic", "All Along The Watchtower" and "Foxy Lady". Finally, the last seconds of Hey Joe". In between the camera cuts to the audience, trying to protect themselves from the bad weather, but most of the time it`s Jimi. The stereo sound was caught by two overhead microphones that had been installed on the stage without Jimi knowing about it. The sound is quite good, realistic and enjoyable, pretty much the way the audience must have heard it, but not remastered or according to the standards of a professional recording, of course.

4. As an added extra, there's the complete clip of Jimi's appearance on "Top Of The Pops" with "Purple Haze" (in black and white) of 30 March, 1967.

Okay, I guess fans of Jimi Hendrix, especially those who experienced him performing live, like myself, have different preferences as to how his legacy should be presented to the public than the owners with their (mainly?) commercial considerations. Also, I`m not an "objective" reviewer, for whom Jimi Hendrix is just one among many other musicians. He was and still is very special to me. (My other favorite musicians are John McLaughlin, Miles Davis and Jeff Beck, who I also experienced live many times over the decades.)

So this dvd (or blu ray) is mainly worth having or at least watching for longtime Jimi Hendrix fans, the main reason being the concert films. The publication policy of the company "Experience Hendrix" has it's advantages and it`s disadvantages. Well, I was not too happy about what Alan Douglas did before, either.

There is still a lot of very interesting Jimi Hendrix concerts material in the vaults. We fans have been waiting for the restored film of the Royal Albert Hall concert (24 February 1969) - where Jimi gave a great performance, absolutely worth seeing and hearing - nearly half a century ago now! So far only a bootleg DVD of it has been released, many years ago, with low quality video material, assembled from the collections of various fans. According to what I read Experience Hendrix" has up to now been unable or unwilling to come to terms with the producers and owners of this film, Steve Gold and Jerry Goldstein. An insider book on Jimi Hendrix tells us he himself had agreed to the filming of the Albert Hall show, but not without strong misgivings, allegedly considering Gold and Goldstein to have adding machines for minds". Well, if that should be true and Experience Hendrix" is unwilling to pay enough to finally get the publishing rights, the film is probably kept in the vaults until it rots and nobody will have any advantage of it, which would be a real shame, especially for those who really love Jimi Hendrix.

Anyway, it`s astonishing how much unpublished video and sound material of Jimi's still exists and then suddenly surfaces after all those decades. But will there still be a public big and interested enough and willing to spend money on it when most of those who actually saw and heard him during his lifetime have also passed away? He was a great and exceptionally creative musician with undeniable personal charm and magnetism, that`s for sure. Forever in our hearts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jimi Hendrix - Hear My Train A Comin' DVD, 25 Nov 2013
Hear My Train A Comin' is another documentary about Jimi Hendrix. Since 1973 there has been numerous documentaries produced about Jimi.
The first produced in the early 1970s was made shortly after Jimi's passing. It had interviews with Eric Clapton, Pete Townshend and other people close to Jimi. It is still a great document of the life of Jimi Hendrix and is also available on DVD.
The last decade has seen more documentaries of Jimi produced including one that was issued with the West Coast Seattle Boy Box Set.
This new documentary includes some footage from all the previous films plus some new concert footage such as Miami Pop and some snippets that fans have identified as the concert Jimi played at Madison Square Garden from 1969 and some snippets of Jimi's concert at the Hollywood Bowl.
The film itself has a lot of interview footage of an ageing Fayne Pridgeon and the woman who discovered Jimi Linda Keith.
I feel this is a very well produced story about Jimi but it does not include several important people who were heavily involved in Jimi's life such as Kathy Ethingham and even his brother Leon who is never mentioned.
Chas Chandler is mentioned but does not get the recognition he deserved as the major producer for Jimi's 3 studio albums.
Although there are some flaws this is an entertaining film and well worth getting.
The extras are what most Hendrix fans want this DVD for. The 4 songs from Miami 1968 have been highly anticipated and are well worth the wait. The NewYork Pop 1970 footage is poor visually but a great performance.
Jimi's final concert from Germany is a bit of a let down despite being very historic and the final testament of Jimi's legacy on film. The picture is poor as is the sound and I find it not easy to watch due to the poor sound. However this is the last chance we have of seeing Jimi Live therefore it is essential to view at least once.
Overall this is a good document of Jimi Hendrix that hopefully will enable the bonus Miami footage issued in full in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff., 13 Nov 2013
By 
M D. McCarthy "Matt" (Oxon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Unlike the version broadcast on British television
, this DVD has the performances from Miami, Isle of Fehmarn and New York pop festivals, along with a 1967 'Top of the Pops' appearance. The film is good, although I felt it didn't offer anything that hadn't already been said in previous films, most notably the 'South Bank' show a few years ago. All in all, worth buying for the 'bonus features' alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth buying for the bonus footage., 25 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. Kim Brown - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I won't say much about the actual documentary on this DVD, apart from the fact that it is worth watching once and is the usual documentary fayre.

The fans, like myself, are buying this DVD for the bonus footage and it is definitely worth buying for these clips. My only problem with the bonus footage is that the Miami Pop Festival clips have been 'chopped' down from 4:3 aspect ratio into 16:9. This does spoil viewing the footage somewhat, as Jimi and Noel's heads are often 'chopped off' while watching the footage. The other bonus footage on the DVD has been left in 4:3, so I can't understand why the Miami clips have been tampered with. Shame.

The New York Pop clips are great with slightly grainy quality, but this does not spoil the viewing of them.

The Fehmarn clips were a revelation to me, as I never knew there were any good quality video clips from this show. The colour is great and the sound is better than some bootlegs circulating from this show. There does seem to be slightly more footage of the crowd than of Jimi unfortunately, but I still thoroughly enjoyed the Fehmarn clips, as I think this show was one of the strongest from the 1970 European Tour.

The clip of Purple Haze from March 1967 is fantastic! Not the best quality picture, but still a brilliant clip and one which I don't think has been in circulation at all I don't think.

So, if you're a true Jimi Hendrix fan, buy this DVD for the bonus footage, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hardly "Definitive"..., 30 Mar 2014
By 
Geoffrey Millar (Brunswick Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I can't add much to what's already been written by other reviewers, but quickly:

Plusses:

lots of unseen footage, plus rare/unseen concert footage from Miami, New York and Fehmarn, which alone is worth the damage for the DVD. The July 1970 New York gig was supposed to be poor but I thought it was OK, a pity that there was no footage for a superb 'Red House';

some interviews with people who haven't been interviewed before, such as one of Curtis Knight's Squires and Ellen McElwaine, or since 1973 (when the 'Film About Jimi Hendrix' was released), such as Collette and Linda Keith

good film and sound quality overall

Minuses:

the lack of interviews with people like Kathy Etchingham, Leon Hendrix (Jimi's brother) and other important people, who were/are critical to his life and music;

no real content about Jimi's drugs, women, equipment, or tragic death, or the constant argybargy about his music, legacy and issues concerning his Estate

no information that sadly many of the people interviewed are no longer with us, which would be handy for those new to Jimi's music

Nevertheless, if you view the main content DVD with a bucket of salt, worth a look and worth a purchase for the new footage.

But "definitive' no way?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the greatest, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimi Hendrix: Hear My Train A Comin' [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
i`m a Danish fan, i saw him live in denmark way back in the sixties. he is the greatest ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST DOCUMENTARY ON JIMI TO DATE, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most probably the best documentary on Jimi so far, while we still await the infamous Royal Albert film, that's if any of us are still alive to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every single penny I word recommend this to anyone who wants know about Jimi Hendrix ..., 21 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimi Hendrix: Hear My Train A Comin' [Blu-ray] [2013] (Blu-ray)
Worth every single penny I word recommend this to anyone who wants know about Jimi Hendrix Life in music Etc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars better than not bad but not "warts and all", 9 Nov 2013
By 
gerryg - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A well constructed history of Jimi Hendrix the musician between 1966-70, supported by some excellent new interviews with Linda Keith, Paul Caruso and Steve Winwood, but if you are interested in the formation of Jimi Hendrix the man you have to look elsewhere.

The interviews with Al Hendrix appear to have been judiciously edited, (other interviews too, including the gimmick interview with JH) but the relationship is well documented, e.g., Jimi Hendrix: Talking (In his own words) or broadly contemporaneous interviews with Kathy Etchingham (noticeable here by her absence) and others in Jimi Hendrix [Special Edition] [DVD] [1973].

The broken ankle anecdote by Bob Hendrix seems to have been adequately debunked in Room Full of Mirrors: A Biography of Jimi Hendrix. Janie Hendrix was not there before JH died so it's unclear what she brings to the party whereas Leon Hendrix, his younger brother, was definitely there at the time and Jimi Hendrix: A Brother's Story is worth a read. Then there's a reasonably contemporaneous biography by Curtis Knight Jimi: Intimate Biography of Jimi Hendrix which definitely paints an interesting portrait. Anything by Steve Roby is worth a look too.

This film, in a very harsh light, is too little and too late, but if you are only mildly interested in the background is worth a look, especially for the interviews mentioned above. Just in case it isn't obvious, I'm glad I watched it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
brilliant I realy love it great jimmy documentary thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jimi Hendrix: Hear My Train A Comin' [Blu-ray] [2013]
£16.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews