Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
A brilliant, engaging translation by Tom Holland. I should also add that the forward and notes by Paul Cartledge are a real bonus too. Cannot recommend this highly enough.
Published 9 months ago by Thinking Through

versus
7 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this book from Amazon
The contents of the book are brilliant - a great read. However Amazon have not got their head around the fact that the book has no dust cover so needs careful packaging to prevent it getting scuffed in transit. The first copy was so badly scuffed that it was decidedly second-hand looking so I returned it, only to get a second that was almost as bad.

Buy from...
Published 6 months ago by Charles Lowe


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Oct 2013
A brilliant, engaging translation by Tom Holland. I should also add that the forward and notes by Paul Cartledge are a real bonus too. Cannot recommend this highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Herodotus:The Histories, a New Translation by Tom Holland, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Histories is a first rate book. I bought it after seeing a review in the Economist because I am interested in Greek and Roman history. It is an easy read and the included maps are very helpful. I also like the presentations done where several, often conflicting, explanations of certain historical events are made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best translation I have yet found, 5 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Histories (Penguin Hardback Classics) (Kindle Edition)
Inspired by the film The English Patient, I thought I had better get this from "The Father of History" Herodotus. I bought the Penguin book some ten years ago (not reading ancient greek I needed it in translation) but it was a bit "sticky". This version is such easy reading and with an excellent introduction.

It is not cheap but it is essential reading for all people who want to know a background to the ancient world and this translation makes it good reading too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History is fun?, 20 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A matchless classic translated into modern English. It flows really we and every so often there is a laugh out loud moment. Such an easy way to learn early history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new translation, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lovely unfussy prose written with humour and in a vernacular rather like the original text. wonderful introduction by co-editor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book anyone interested in history must read., 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can In say other than it is what everyone interested in history should read!!!! Nothing has changed in 2,000 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Herodotus The Histories, 8 Nov 2013
Tom Holland is just great. A wonderful book. This man has done so much to open up history to a new generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE HISTORIES, 26 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great read - lots easier to follow than some of the previous translations I've read. A great forward by Tom Holland. Get this for a worthwhile addition to your collection of great classics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 2 millenia right after all, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Of course it's Good

after 2000+ years requires no comment--a classic for good reason and asking for commentary on this sort of book is inane
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this book from Amazon, 19 Dec 2013
By 
Charles Lowe (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The contents of the book are brilliant - a great read. However Amazon have not got their head around the fact that the book has no dust cover so needs careful packaging to prevent it getting scuffed in transit. The first copy was so badly scuffed that it was decidedly second-hand looking so I returned it, only to get a second that was almost as bad.

Buy from someone else who takes more care with their packaging!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews