Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant
A brilliant, engaging translation by Tom Holland. I should also add that the forward and notes by Paul Cartledge are a real bonus too. Cannot recommend this highly enough.
Published 19 months ago by Thinking Through

versus
13 of 82 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Book came beat up and scuffed
This was a brand new hardboudn book. It came beat up with scuff marks on outside and inside of pages, and bent corners. Inside binding looks a little questionable too. Next time I'll wait for the American copy.
Published 19 months ago by Eric Martin


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Oct. 2013
A brilliant, engaging translation by Tom Holland. I should also add that the forward and notes by Paul Cartledge are a real bonus too. Cannot recommend this highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extremely entertaining and absorbing read, 25 Aug. 2014
By 
Mr. GM De La Bedoyere "Guy de la Bedoyere" (Grantham, Lincolnshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The hardback edition is quite a large book (it's 51mm thick, 160mm wide and 242mm high) but this also makes the type easier to read for those of us confounded by the microtype of small paperbacks. I started reading a copy in Barnes and Noble while on holiday in the US and couldn't put it down so I ordered it for delivery when I got home. Oddly the US edition has a far more attractive orange and black cover design featuring a Greek and Persian fighting (as well as possessing a dustjacket) so it is a shame the UK edition is so drab by comparison with a dreary grey cover featuring just a couple of partial hoplites popping over the edges. I wish I’d bought my copy in the US.
Unlike so many translations of ancient texts this has been written in the lively, readable, and entertaining spirit of the original rather than feeling a need to produce a literal translation. Purists will prefer the latter; those after a gratifying and absorbing read will prefer the former.
So, for example the Persians 'kept on badgering him [Croesus] until he told them about Solon' (p. 44) and 'The Scythians had no idea what had hit them' (p. 302). I've no doubt the translator will be cursed by some Greek pedants for being overly 'free' in his version of the text, and it is worth bearing in mind that English translations vary wildly. In 1890 G.C. Macaulay provided this for the last part of Book I.20, '... sending a messenger told Thrasybulos [sic] in order that he might have knowledge of it beforehand and take such counsel as the case required'. Aubrey de Sélincourt's 1954 translation for Penguin gives, '...had thereupon sent to tell Thrasybulus all about it, knowing that to be forewarned is forearmed'. Holland has '... promptly sent a messenger to his friend, letting him in on the secret. Intelligence is, after all, always the key to forward planning'. De Sélincourt's words move it on a bit but I'd say the Macaulay is truer to the exact wording of the Greek. Holland turns the sentence into two and the result is quite different and really far more of a paraphrase though the underlying meaning of course remains. The real question is whether there is more of Holland in this sort of phrasing than there is of Herodotus.
There is much that could be debated about this sort of approach. Macaulay has 'The Scythians meanwhile were not able to understand the matter' (IV.111). De Sélincourt's version is very similar, whereas Holland has 'The Scythians had no idea what had hit them'. The Greek very definitely doesn't 'say' literally what Holland says; a fairly literal translation would be something approximating to ‘the Scythians did not have a conjecture on the matter’. Macaulay’s version is more easily understood as a better way of rendering the literal Greek into English; Holland takes the essence of the meaning and supplies a vernacular modern English phrase – whether it goes beyond what the Greek actually says is a moot point, but it certainly makes it more readable for a modern audience. In large part the appeal of this text is Holland’s contemporary prose and in that sense it is an original work in its own right. So long as the reader appreciates this he or she will not be disappointed.
There is ample introductory material by Paul Cartledge as well as maps, extensive footnotes and a Glossary Index which makes for a good browse but can be rather indigestible. Greece, for example, has 2.5 pages of entries in the order they appear in the book which might confound a reader trying to find something specific. Under Herodotus there are a number of sub-headings such as ‘considers miraculous’ which is an unlikely category a reader would start off by looking for even if it is then fun to pursue the entries.
Overall, this is an excellent read. It provides a modern audience with an entertaining and absorbing version of Herodotus’ reckless and undisciplined stream of consciousness that provides an unmatched tour of his epic world just a few centuries before the Roman Empire turned Greece into a backwater.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best translation I have yet found, 5 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Histories (Penguin Press Ancient Classics) (Kindle Edition)
Inspired by the film The English Patient, I thought I had better get this from "The Father of History" Herodotus. I bought the Penguin book some ten years ago (not reading ancient greek I needed it in translation) but it was a bit "sticky". This version is such easy reading and with an excellent introduction.

It is not cheap but it is essential reading for all people who want to know a background to the ancient world and this translation makes it good reading too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Herodotus:The Histories, a New Translation by Tom Holland, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Histories is a first rate book. I bought it after seeing a review in the Economist because I am interested in Greek and Roman history. It is an easy read and the included maps are very helpful. I also like the presentations done where several, often conflicting, explanations of certain historical events are made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History is fun?, 20 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A matchless classic translated into modern English. It flows really we and every so often there is a laugh out loud moment. Such an easy way to learn early history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good book for the indepth views of a philosopher writing ..., 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good book for the indepth views of a philosopher writing his account of not just Ancient Greece but also Persia, Egypt and other civilisations around at his time. Herodotus also writes based upon what people have told him. Herodtus does seem to go off on tangents at times and leaves some stories unfished, but it gives a good view of life at the time, including culture and customs of different peoples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new translation, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A lovely unfussy prose written with humour and in a vernacular rather like the original text. wonderful introduction by co-editor
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific read as well as eye-opening about the carryings-on of ..., 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Terrific read as well as eye-opening about the carryings-on of the ancient Babylonians, Egyptians etc as well as the Greeks. Excellent translation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In general quite satisfied., 2 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It arrived quite quickly, though, the book is not as new as the outside is a bit worn, though there is no mark inside. In general quite satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book anyone interested in history must read., 1 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What can In say other than it is what everyone interested in history should read!!!! Nothing has changed in 2,000 years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews