Customer Reviews


204 Reviews
5 star:
 (167)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HUGE STONES FAN
HUGE STONES FAN-HAD TO HAVE IT FOR MY COLECTION!

VERY SURPRISED TO SEE SO MANY YOUNG FACES IN THE CROWD--MADE ME FEEL PROUD TO BE A FAN
Published 10 months ago by Geraldcharleswaters

versus
26 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Frustrating!!
Having been fortunate enough to go to the second Hyde Park show and witness the best gig I've ever been to, it's frustrating to see the Japanese release of this show has extra tracks. The disparity between versions is really annoying. I can understand different packages and bundles, but missing tracks??? My anticipation of this dvd is immense and can't wait to relive the...
Published 13 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HUGE STONES FAN, 12 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
HUGE STONES FAN-HAD TO HAVE IT FOR MY COLECTION!

VERY SURPRISED TO SEE SO MANY YOUNG FACES IN THE CROWD--MADE ME FEEL PROUD TO BE A FAN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Blu Ray for The Stones live in 2013, 11 Nov 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been looking forward to this one and it arrived bright and early and was straight on to the Blu Ray player! What I found was a superb record of what looks like an amazing night in London. A full review as follows:

The Blu Ray contains most of the Hyde Park show from back in the Summer along with some nicely done band introductions to the `4 acts' as they are presented. Glastonbury features at the start with some comets from each of the band as commentary along with various shots of the site and back stage (no on stage views). This cuts to some gorgeous shots of London in the Summer before we head off to Hyde Park (occasional cuts back to the 69 show with comments from each of the band) and Start Me Up minus the few notes missed by Keith on both nights (thankfully!). What follows are the key hits from The Stones that need no introduction. My only gripe with the disc is over the use of `Bonus Tracks' where you have 3 tracks that are not part of the show meaning you have to go to the menu to access them. What is the point of this - two of these are favourites of mine (Emotional Rescue and Paint It Black) so why not just leave them in the main show? Who is the bonus for - we have already purchased it so want to see them where they occurred during the show. Oh well, on the plus side the tracks are all in the exact same quality as the main feature which is great news.

As for the show itself it looks superbly staged. Love the way the video wall literally encompasses the entire backdrop of the stage (good for those there at the back!) and nice touches like the building style fronts to some of the concession stands around Hyde Park - makes it all look very nice!

Picture quality is absolutely fantastic and stated that it is presented in 1.78:1 but others have reported the ratio is wider than this which will mean black bars top and bottom of the screen if you are viewing on a widescreen display. All adds to the cinematic feel for me though and I love the widescreen feel looking superb throughout of demonstration quality. One fault with this is that they seem to have used a standard definition camera for some of the high shots of the crowd from the back and the sharpness of the main feature means this stands out like a sore thumb. How weird that a HD cam was not used for these shots. Hyde Park 69 shots are generally OK but showing their age as you would expect. Sound is as good as the picture with a 5.1 lossless DTS-HD master track and it is fantastic. I noticed some very good separation of the bands instruments with guitar being very well placed with front right/left speakers etc., Some good use of surrounds throughout.

There are options via the pop-up menu to select the song tracks which are presented by 'Act' meaning you have some scrolling to get to the later ones. Same for the 'Bonus Tracks' which are easily found.

The Blu Ray comes in a slipcase and uses the nice thin plastic case which is fine by me (takes up less shelf-space). Some nice touches inside too with the case cover having a reverse shot of the crowd plus you will find a small booklet with photos and text covering the event. Overall a nicely put together package.

Highly recommended Blu Ray which offers a superb record of The Stones Live in 2013. In my opinion this is a superb record of The Stones live in 2013 - fantastic stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic.....memories are made of this!, 15 Nov 2013
By 
David Robinson (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Summer Sun - Hyde Park Live [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
HOW can you not give 5 stars for this....FANTASTIC sound.....brilliantly filmed...captures the day perfectly......shows just HOW great this band still are....forget the moaners and snobby critics ...this is THE business....doesn't get better than this. There will always be inverted snobs who say 'Oh, old guys playing rock' n'roll..not on!' BS!!! BUY it and make up your own mind. Great is great. They are THE best. Sorry, all you cynics. Get a life, and go see the Bieber Brat.... Or the oh-so-pretentious U2....!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To all rock music lovers it is the greatest rock and roll band in the world at there best brill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't be there so this is the next best, 1 Jan 2014
By 
C. Winterburn (Wakefield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
if you saw the BBC 2 screening then maybe you got what you needed but there was quite a bit missing which is included on this Blu-ray so I'm happy to have bought it. The Rolling Stones are the world's biggest and best band and this concert proves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rolling Stones, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sweet Summer Sun - Hyde Park Live [DVD] [2013] [NTSC] (DVD)
70 year olds performing like that after 50 years Magic !!!
Fabulous concert by Rolling Stones Excellent DVD very well presented
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keep on rollin', 18 Nov 2013
By 
Nikolai (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Rolling Stones returning to Hyde Park after 44 years, celebrating over 50 years of their peerless rock 'n' roll with a combined audience of 130,000 on two stunning summer nights in London. Does it get any better than that?

I was at the gig on the 6th of July, my first ever Stones show, and whilst this film and album are a mix of the two concerts, the absolute beauty of Sweet Summer Sun is that it completely captures the essence of what it was like to be at Hyde Park rocking out with the Stones at these shows. The sound quality is exemplary, with the band on sensational form, and the film completely immerses the viewer in the whole experience: On stage with the Stones, in amongst the jubilant crowd - one of the most brilliantly diverse crowds I've ever been part of at a gig - backstage, it's all captured here to utter perfection.

There are so many highlights contained in this set of some of the greatest songs of all time, but a perfect showcase of just how good the Rolling Stones are in 2013, and just how much of a 'wow' their performances were at Hyde Park, is the rendition of Jumpin' Jack Flash alone. The energy, strut and unrivalled showmanship of Jagger, the timeless riffing of Richards, the zeal and licks of Wood, and the pounding heartbeat of the band in Watts, all combined to produce pure rock 'n' roll at its absolute finest. They don't make 'em like this anymore, sadly.

If you were at one, or indeed both, of these shows, savour the opportunity to relive that magic again now. And for those folks who didn't manage to make it to the Park in July '13, this is the next best thing.

Pros:

The greatest rock 'n' roll band of all time captured in incredible form at a venue of huge significance.

Beautifully filmed. One of the best looking concert films you'll ever see. Especially in 1080p on Blu-ray.

Stunning sound quality. Again, especially on the Blu-ray.

The perfect souvenir for gig goers or next best thing to being there for everyone else.

Cons:

Would have been nice to have had All Down the Line, Bitch, Beast of Burden and Tumbling Dice on the extras.

I don't have a time machine to take me back to the morning of July 6th so I can go to the actual concert again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An awsome experience, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
To all Rolling Stones fans, if you have Grrr (2012), these CDs will add nothing to that excellent release. However, the reason I have given it five stars is for the DVD. I have been a Stones fan since they started and have never managed to see one of their shows, however this stunning DVD is as good as being there (well, almost). With snippets of film from Glastonbury 2013, the main focus is on their show in Hyde Park that summer. I loved Keith's rendition of You Got The Silver - a song I was less familiar with. He sang it quite poignantly in that gravelly voice of his to a quiet crowd. The film has noise, bags of atmosphere, all the old favourites and fascinating glimpses backstage during its two hour length. Proof yet again that the Stones truly are top of their game. It is worth it for the DVD alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hyde Park Heroes, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Glad they released Hyde Park and not the Glastonbury show which I thought was very much under their normal par.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rolling Stones , well done again boys !!, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant ! ! The Stones have been rocking us with their classic hits for over 50 years. These songs are timeless classics that appeal to all ages looking at the fans in Hyde Park, and will do so for ever. Other bands take note , and if you too have a formula that works stick to it !!
A big thanks to all in the band and everyone behind the scenes to make this a memorable concert never to be forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 221 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sweet Summer Sun - Hyde Park Live [DVD] [2013] [NTSC]
£14.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews