Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars273
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£14.04+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 11 November 2013
I have been looking forward to this one and it arrived bright and early and was straight on to the Blu Ray player! What I found was a superb record of what looks like an amazing night in London. A full review as follows:

The Blu Ray contains most of the Hyde Park show from back in the Summer along with some nicely done band introductions to the `4 acts' as they are presented. Glastonbury features at the start with some comets from each of the band as commentary along with various shots of the site and back stage (no on stage views). This cuts to some gorgeous shots of London in the Summer before we head off to Hyde Park (occasional cuts back to the 69 show with comments from each of the band) and Start Me Up minus the few notes missed by Keith on both nights (thankfully!). What follows are the key hits from The Stones that need no introduction. My only gripe with the disc is over the use of `Bonus Tracks' where you have 3 tracks that are not part of the show meaning you have to go to the menu to access them. What is the point of this - two of these are favourites of mine (Emotional Rescue and Paint It Black) so why not just leave them in the main show? Who is the bonus for - we have already purchased it so want to see them where they occurred during the show. Oh well, on the plus side the tracks are all in the exact same quality as the main feature which is great news.

As for the show itself it looks superbly staged. Love the way the video wall literally encompasses the entire backdrop of the stage (good for those there at the back!) and nice touches like the building style fronts to some of the concession stands around Hyde Park - makes it all look very nice!

Picture quality is absolutely fantastic and stated that it is presented in 1.78:1 but others have reported the ratio is wider than this which will mean black bars top and bottom of the screen if you are viewing on a widescreen display. All adds to the cinematic feel for me though and I love the widescreen feel looking superb throughout of demonstration quality. One fault with this is that they seem to have used a standard definition camera for some of the high shots of the crowd from the back and the sharpness of the main feature means this stands out like a sore thumb. How weird that a HD cam was not used for these shots. Hyde Park 69 shots are generally OK but showing their age as you would expect. Sound is as good as the picture with a 5.1 lossless DTS-HD master track and it is fantastic. I noticed some very good separation of the bands instruments with guitar being very well placed with front right/left speakers etc., Some good use of surrounds throughout.

There are options via the pop-up menu to select the song tracks which are presented by 'Act' meaning you have some scrolling to get to the later ones. Same for the 'Bonus Tracks' which are easily found.

The Blu Ray comes in a slipcase and uses the nice thin plastic case which is fine by me (takes up less shelf-space). Some nice touches inside too with the case cover having a reverse shot of the crowd plus you will find a small booklet with photos and text covering the event. Overall a nicely put together package.

Highly recommended Blu Ray which offers a superb record of The Stones Live in 2013. In my opinion this is a superb record of The Stones live in 2013 - fantastic stuff.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 12 December 2013

0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on 18 November 2013
The Rolling Stones returning to Hyde Park after 44 years, celebrating over 50 years of their peerless rock 'n' roll with a combined audience of 130,000 on two stunning summer nights in London. Does it get any better than that?

I was at the gig on the 6th of July, my first ever Stones show, and whilst this film and album are a mix of the two concerts, the absolute beauty of Sweet Summer Sun is that it completely captures the essence of what it was like to be at Hyde Park rocking out with the Stones at these shows. The sound quality is exemplary, with the band on sensational form, and the film completely immerses the viewer in the whole experience: On stage with the Stones, in amongst the jubilant crowd - one of the most brilliantly diverse crowds I've ever been part of at a gig - backstage, it's all captured here to utter perfection.

There are so many highlights contained in this set of some of the greatest songs of all time, but a perfect showcase of just how good the Rolling Stones are in 2013, and just how much of a 'wow' their performances were at Hyde Park, is the rendition of Jumpin' Jack Flash alone. The energy, strut and unrivalled showmanship of Jagger, the timeless riffing of Richards, the zeal and licks of Wood, and the pounding heartbeat of the band in Watts, all combined to produce pure rock 'n' roll at its absolute finest. They don't make 'em like this anymore, sadly.

If you were at one, or indeed both, of these shows, savour the opportunity to relive that magic again now. And for those folks who didn't manage to make it to the Park in July '13, this is the next best thing.


The greatest rock 'n' roll band of all time captured in incredible form at a venue of huge significance.

Beautifully filmed. One of the best looking concert films you'll ever see. Especially in 1080p on Blu-ray.

Stunning sound quality. Again, especially on the Blu-ray.

The perfect souvenir for gig goers or next best thing to being there for everyone else.


Would have been nice to have had All Down the Line, Bitch, Beast of Burden and Tumbling Dice on the extras.

I don't have a time machine to take me back to the morning of July 6th so I can go to the actual concert again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
on 15 November 2013
HOW can you not give 5 stars for this....FANTASTIC sound.....brilliantly filmed...captures the day perfectly......shows just HOW great this band still are....forget the moaners and snobby critics ...this is THE business....doesn't get better than this. There will always be inverted snobs who say 'Oh, old guys playing rock' n'roll..not on!' BS!!! BUY it and make up your own mind. Great is great. They are THE best. Sorry, all you cynics. Get a life, and go see the Bieber Brat.... Or the oh-so-pretentious U2....!
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 13 December 2013
70 year olds performing like that after 50 years Magic !!!
Fabulous concert by Rolling Stones Excellent DVD very well presented
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 7 December 2013
To all Rolling Stones fans, if you have Grrr (2012), these CDs will add nothing to that excellent release. However, the reason I have given it five stars is for the DVD. I have been a Stones fan since they started and have never managed to see one of their shows, however this stunning DVD is as good as being there (well, almost). With snippets of film from Glastonbury 2013, the main focus is on their show in Hyde Park that summer. I loved Keith's rendition of You Got The Silver - a song I was less familiar with. He sang it quite poignantly in that gravelly voice of his to a quiet crowd. The film has noise, bags of atmosphere, all the old favourites and fascinating glimpses backstage during its two hour length. Proof yet again that the Stones truly are top of their game. It is worth it for the DVD alone.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 6 April 2014
If you were fortunate enough and saw the Rolling Stones in the summer of 2013 in Hyde Park, London, then you need to get this release. Even if you weren’t one of the lucky ones, this is the Stones firing on all cylinders. Sure, at the first gig which was the one I attended, Keef fluffed the intro to Start Me Up but in this live version, he plays it perfectly! Only the most jaded and cynical will find something to actually complain about here, rather than find it amusing.

Overall, this is an excellent package. The film begins with the Stones talking about the Glastonbury gig a few weeks before and is intercut with tremendous crowd reaction. This live release is a compilation of the two gigs, edited together. Why they chose to put Before They Make Me Run as a “bonus” item and not edit it into the actual concert is an unusual decision but – hey – at least it’s on the package. The coffee table book, which houses the four disks, is really just a few stills taken from the film which is a bit cheap; some proper photography wouldn’t have gone amiss here.

Sure, this live concert isn’t going to replace Get Yer Ya-Ya’s Out! or Ladies and Gentlemen but for a contemporary Stones gig, it’s up there with Shine a Light, though it’s not as amazingly well filmed as that concert.

More than just a memento of an unforgettable gig from the 50 and Counting tour, this is an essential document of the last great rock n roll band on the planet.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 19 September 2014
Nothing to say, the music and pictures bring that magic day all back and serve as a living reminder of a great day out seeing the Stones playing better tahn I've seen them play for years, and there have been a lot of times seeinf the Stones. But boy was was it hot. Great value for money
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 16 November 2013
The Blu-ray has great picture and sound - and the Stones deliver a sumptuous feast of rockin' tunes - a classic concert - probably the best live performance captured for twenty years: Moves like Jagger! Guitar like Richards! Guitar like Ronnie! And thunderous drums like Charlie! "

"Start Me Up" opens in true rocking style and the bands energy level could shame younger bands. Case in point: An intense "Jumping Jack Flash" thrills from start to finish with Keith driving the band. Keith and Charlie are the heartbeat, and it's interesting to see them work. Keith - the band master with eager pupils, Ronnie, and the excellent Daryl Jones on bass (listen to Darryl's bass on SFTD & SFM - fantastic!) Note: Charlie's drumming is simply PHENOMENAL!

MIck's on best form here too and obviously the HYDE PARK shows meant a great deal to him and the band. His voice defies belief; strong and powerful without missing a lyric - and just watch those moves during the blues tour-de-force -'Midnight Rambler! And Mick's no slouch on harp either.
Highlights: Lisa Fischer brings hot soul stew to the classic "Gimme Shelter" and the delicious bluesy twin guitar attack. Lucifer's in town for "Sympathy For The Devil" and it's a visually stunning extravaganza - Keith smiling like a cat whose got the the cream and those buzz-saw riffs and bluesy solo's - and Mick's stage show swagger full of Jagger delight up and down the catwalk.

It's FULL of Stone cold CLASSIC after CLASSIC - "Brown Sugar" - Ruby Tuesday - "You Can't Always Get What You Want" and closer "Satisfaction" - all have never sounded better. Ronnie's look of awe as Keith's solos fill Hyde Park with rock 'n' roll fever on SATISFACTION... The band are enjoying themselves, as too the crowd. Furthermore Mick Taylor adds BLUES POWER and Bobby Keys on sax and all assorted musicians and choir deserve the plaudits too. There's fantastic shots of the crowd, enjoying the spectacle on a HOT summer day. All things considered, a timeless, poignant document of British rock history. It's only ROCK 'N'ROLL - but we like it!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 11 January 2014
Some bands never lose their ability to entertain however long they may have been together or, to put it another way, sheer class never dims with the mere passing of time. And so it is with the remarkable phenomenon that for the last half century has been the Rolling Stones. This must have been a great concert to attend and this set should be part of every serious rock n roll fan's collection. As a friend (and former A&R man for a major record label) once said of the Stones, these guys are "serious rock n roll". Never were truer words spoken! Buy and enjoy!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
From The Vault - The Complete Series 1 [5 x DVD set] [2015] [NTSC]

Sweet Summer Sun-Hyde Park Liv
Sweet Summer Sun-Hyde Park Liv by Rolling Stones (Audio CD)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.