Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eccentric Legend.
This is The Kindle version of the now out of print Autobiography of Tom Baker, One of Britain's greatest eccentrics & one of Doctor Who's best incarnations.

From humble beginnings as a child in Liverpool, to his years training to be a monk in a monastery these anecdotes have to be read to be believed.

From Rasputin To Sinbad & his life as a...
Published 8 months ago by Timelord007

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but covers more interesting aspects of life in too little detail
I suspect that I am like a lot of people who want read this book, which is a fan of Tom Baker from his Doctor Who days. He was 'my' Doctor Who. I thought that reading this book would give me some insight into the actor and some background and anecdotes from the most famous and successful part of his career. I was left a little disappointed.

The book starts off...
Published 1 month ago by Mr. M. Randall


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eccentric Legend., 20 Oct 2013
By 
Timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: WHO ON EARTH IS TOM BAKER? An Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
This is The Kindle version of the now out of print Autobiography of Tom Baker, One of Britain's greatest eccentrics & one of Doctor Who's best incarnations.

From humble beginnings as a child in Liverpool, to his years training to be a monk in a monastery these anecdotes have to be read to be believed.

From Rasputin To Sinbad & his life as a struggling actor to working as a building site's labourer Tom reels off these woeful tales of nostalgia in the only way Tom Baker can.

The middle section deals with his casting of The Fourth Doctor in Doctor Who & explains how he felt about playing the Doctor during his 7 year tenure who describes the part as Tom Baker just playing Tom Baker
as the benevolent Alien.

Parts of this are a entertaining read but parts could've done with being expanded upon as Tom's reputation for being awkward in later Who seasons became very apparent to the actor's he worked with at the time, Poor Louise Jameson & Matthew Waterhouse felt his wrath on many occasions as did his relationship with co-star Lalla Ward who played Timelady Romana whom he was briefly married to.

Writers, Producers & Director's suffered Tom's wrath & moody antics which usually involved throwing scripts across a room shouting "Audible print" or just berating director's so bad they'd just walked off st & so on.

Tom eccentric idea's for the show involved a talking cabbage I kid you not, As for if Tom was being serious who knows as Tom is Tom & his anarchic humour & anecdotes maybe sometimes are slightly exaggerated?

Eventually this all came to a end when New Producer John Nathan Turner took over in 1980 on season 18, Attempting to reign in Tom resulting in a clash of egos & personalitys which i think resulted in Tom's eventual leaving of Doctor Who & his non-participating in the 20 Anniversary of The Five Doctor's.

What is completely true is the love of the general public, Men, Women, Children & grannies whom adored Tom.

As Tom says he was the only stranger parents would allow children to talk to & accept Jelly Babies from, It's clear that Tom loved being adored by the general public & took his public image seriously usually dressing as The Doctor & would never be seen drinking alcohol or smoking around children at Doctor Who events to maintain a childs sense of wonder that this man was The Doctor.

Tom discusses his life & love of his Third wife Sue Jerrard & his battles with the insecurities in his life, Tom is brutally honest but usually gives a humourous explanation discusses how his parents never spoke to one another for many years & gos into dtil a little about his first wife & his children.

Tom discusses he's enthusiasm for writing as along with this autobiography he's written the dark humoured by excellent story The Boy Who Kicked Pigs.

As this book hasn't been updated since 1997 it doesn't go mention Little Britain or Tom's return as The Doctor in the Hornets Nest Trilogy, The loss of Elisabeth Sladen or his debut at Big Finish after 13 years or saying No.

Leela actress Louise Jameson whom over time has kiss & made up becoming good friends with Tom eventually persuaded Tom to meet with Nick Briggs for a discussion, As they say the rest is history as Tom is now on his Third season of audio adventures with Big Finish with a fourth & fifth already in the can.

Tom is even reuniting with ex wife Lalla Ward who is reprising Romana once again coming full circle as the Doctor by portraying his Definitive role as brilliant as he ever did.

This is a excellent Kindle adaption of the 1997 autobiography & a must for fans of Tom Baker & Doctor Who.

Timelord Rating.
10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars glad to find this on Kindle, 9 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WHO ON EARTH IS TOM BAKER? An Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
A lovely book and a fantastic read, funny, joyous and at times bleak and sad. Tom Baker was "my Doctor Who" when I was a boy and was also very polite and charming when he met me and my late mum in Maidstone. This is a must read for all fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get ready to read the most entertaining autobiography ever., 3 May 2014
By 
Rob State (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: WHO ON EARTH IS TOM BAKER? An Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
I've purchased this in various formats - hardback, paperback, audio and now digital. As an autobiography, it engages you straight away - as Tom living precariously as a young boy living in war torn Liverpool. Brought up as a God-fearing Catholic, he details his time as a monk, in the army, entertaining his fellow officers, then training to be an actor, the beginnings of his success on stage & screen, then ultimately leading upto his time as doctor who. He then has to deal with leaving the role, when he takes vsanctuary in the bars and pubs of Soho, mixing with t The style he writes in is very self deprecating, very well informed and very very funny. I read this firstly in a couple of days, a classic and also a classic case of once you pick it up, its hard to put down. i only wish they would put the audio version on cd and download, as i have a version on cassette, but nothing these days to play it on. Well worth downloading - your life will be richer for it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WHO ON EARTH IS TOM BAKER? An Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
I have loved Tom Baker since being a teenager watching him as the best Dr Who. This book of course was written a long time ago,but is a fascinating and very funny read into this quirky man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great raconteur, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WHO ON EARTH IS TOM BAKER? An Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
Mr Baker is the sort of person you want as a friend, even though he freely admits to having none. In that case, you would certainly want him as a drinking buddy. The man sounds like he's lived a dozen lives within his lifetime, much like his most famous alter ego.
A highly entertaining read Tom. I hope the Honda is still in good nick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read., 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WHO ON EARTH IS TOM BAKER? An Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
A must for any Who fan. Tom Baker has a great gift for anecdotes, entertaining and witty. I think the audiobook read by the man himself is a must too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, but covers more interesting aspects of life in too little detail, 4 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. M. Randall (Wakefield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: WHO ON EARTH IS TOM BAKER? An Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
I suspect that I am like a lot of people who want read this book, which is a fan of Tom Baker from his Doctor Who days. He was 'my' Doctor Who. I thought that reading this book would give me some insight into the actor and some background and anecdotes from the most famous and successful part of his career. I was left a little disappointed.

The book starts off with a tremendous amount of enthusiasm as Tom describes his early years as a boy and his early life in a monastery, his subsequent rejection of religion, and his struggles in the early years of his acting career. It glosses over some of the more painful aspects of his life such as the failures of his first two marriages and his estrangement from his two sons. Perhaps this was just a little too painful to recall for him.

It covers the Doctor Who years in less than a chapter and there is very little actual detail other than relating what great fun it was to suddenly find himself so popular - a children's hero - and how the character was a wonderful escape from himself. He dwells quite a lot on his own failings, particularly in relationships and occasionally as an actor.

The post Doctor Who years mostly ramble on about vaguely remembered drinking sessions in pubs, never achieving much post Doctor Who, and is rather dull reading.

It was still interesting to read, but not particularly compelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a fascinating read, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WHO ON EARTH IS TOM BAKER? An Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
From a monk to a famous doctor. Couldn't put it down. If you like autobiographies read this book. Be warned though it is not a doctor who story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a superb read, 18 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WHO ON EARTH IS TOM BAKER? An Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
for young and old alike. A fascinating insight into the person and the acting world, as well as life 1940 to 1980's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WHO ON EARTH IS TOM BAKER?, 26 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WHO ON EARTH IS TOM BAKER? An Autobiography (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read which would be tragic if it wasn't so funny! It perfectly sums up the eccentric legend that is Tom Baker. Although if you are planning on purchasing to read about his time on Doctor Who then this perhaps isn't for you. Tom only covers it in the book over around 20 pages, much of which steers off-topic or is remembered inaccurately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews