Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mizoguchi Blu-Ray Box Set
4 discs in 4 separate cases. Very large book with text collected from DVD editions. Nice slipcase. Overall a very nice package. The films from this set that I have already seen are some of the greatest films of all time. I'm looking forward to re-watching them and getting to see the others for the first time. This set is limited to 2000 copies so I suggest if you are on...
Published 18 months ago by James B. Mccann

versus
1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars unplayable
Beautiful box set with lovely booklet. None of the discs played on the two blu ray players we have at home - not acceptable. A shame as I love Mizoguchi's films.
Published 12 months ago by Neil


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mizoguchi Blu-Ray Box Set, 5 Nov. 2013
By 
James B. Mccann "Film Scholar" (REDFORD, MICHIGAN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Late Mizoguchi LTD EDITION BLU-RAY BOX SET (Masters of Cinema) (BLU-RAY) (Blu-ray)
4 discs in 4 separate cases. Very large book with text collected from DVD editions. Nice slipcase. Overall a very nice package. The films from this set that I have already seen are some of the greatest films of all time. I'm looking forward to re-watching them and getting to see the others for the first time. This set is limited to 2000 copies so I suggest if you are on the fence not to wait to much longer as these will surely sell out. Great addition to any collection of classic films. Buy with confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome release, 24 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Late Mizoguchi LTD EDITION BLU-RAY BOX SET (Masters of Cinema) (BLU-RAY) (Blu-ray)
yes i owned the previous releases ! and still i bhought this set. its just awesome to get 8 mizoguchi movies and this awesome BOOK (its no booklet anymore!)
grab your copy while its still avaible, Eureka is gonna lose the license to these 8 mozoguchi movies, thats why they released the new movies only in this boxset.

get it before its to late. these movies look awesome ! highly recommend this set for this price. (better order it directly @ eureka shop)

greetings from germany
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Late Mizoguchi Blu Ray Boxset, 18 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Late Mizoguchi LTD EDITION BLU-RAY BOX SET (Masters of Cinema) (BLU-RAY) (Blu-ray)
This Blu ray box set will be available for a limited period before price and availability exclude the possibility of obtaining this set at a reasonable price. If you are at all curious about classic Japanese cinema this Blu ray release will not be bettered anytime soon, if ever. Mizoguchi is one of the very best directors of the early to mid 20th century, with these late films included in this set being the pinnacle of his art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Box Set, 12 Feb. 2014
By 
Edgar Bonito (Lisbon, Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Late Mizoguchi LTD EDITION BLU-RAY BOX SET (Masters of Cinema) (BLU-RAY) (Blu-ray)
A wonderful collection .. I had the previous releases of Ugetso Monogatari + Oyu-Sama and Sansho Dayu + Gion Bayashi so I was a little upset when I discovered that I had to buy them again to get the new ones. But it paid off. I got number 1440 of 2000.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful!, 25 Dec. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Late Mizoguchi LTD EDITION BLU-RAY BOX SET (Masters of Cinema) (BLU-RAY) (Blu-ray)
This is such a wonderful set! I feel sorry for those who had already purchased Sanshō Dayū, as the other discs will not be made available other than with this boxset. Not a great move by Eureka.

This is regardless, a fine collection of Mizoguchi's later years!

The video quality is the best possible and so is the audio! The presentation is classy and comes with a highly detailed book.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful Boxset, 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Late Mizoguchi LTD EDITION BLU-RAY BOX SET (Masters of Cinema) (BLU-RAY) (Blu-ray)
I got number 1783 out of 2000, so if you want to buy it, do it now!!!
Great boxset, amazing transfers, vital for any Mizoguchi fan. Massive booklet with 320 pages, but it's doubtful I'm going to read much of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A piece of ART., 15 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Late Mizoguchi LTD EDITION BLU-RAY BOX SET (Masters of Cinema) (BLU-RAY) (Blu-ray)
That is what it is. A true piece of art. These late movies by Mizoguchi are of sheer beauty and were already presented in a DVD box earlier by those fine people at Eureka! however this BD reissue is a jewel. The packaging and the booklet takes your breath away. Mizoguchi is together with Ozu and Kurosawa the holy 3some of the masters of Japanese cinema. Don't wait too long on this box because it is limited to 2000 and shines perfectly under that Christmas tree but highly recommend to buy it now while you still can before vultures will jump on the bandwagon and seriously increase the demanding price ( see what happens now with the Tarkovsky DVD box on Artificial Eye eg. ). See it ( or don't ). The tablets have come down the mountain and they are yours to grab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Late Mizoguchi LTD Edition Blu Ray Box Set, 16 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Late Mizoguchi LTD EDITION BLU-RAY BOX SET (Masters of Cinema) (BLU-RAY) (Blu-ray)
Firstly Eight Classic Japanese Films. The Films Themselves Are Rich And Rewarding Entertainment And Will Be Watched Many Times. For Anybody Concerned About The Quality Of The Transfers As Admittedly I Was Rest Assured No Need To Be. All This And One Of The Most Exhaustively Informative Book(Lets) Ever To Grace A Box Set. Anyone Looking To Expand Their Knowledge And Horizons Of World Cinema And Classic Cinema Look No Further As This Is A Great Starting Point. The Packaging Is Excellent With A Sturdy Slipcase, The Aforementioned Booklet,And Four Separate Disc Cases. All In All An Impressive Set And Limited To 2,000 Copies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what a shame..., 17 Nov. 2013
This review is from: Late Mizoguchi LTD EDITION BLU-RAY BOX SET (Masters of Cinema) (BLU-RAY) (Blu-ray)
i would love to buy this set but it is against my principles...i'll explain...
4 movies from this set i own seperatly and yes...from Eureka.
to be able to buy the other 4 i need to shell out(again!) and that honestly is against my principles,shame...
it's great for people that didn't had the 4 movies from the seperate releases and now have them in 1 box set,but i'm pretty sure most japan movie lovers would have the 4 at time of release and are now in the same position ..me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars unplayable, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Late Mizoguchi LTD EDITION BLU-RAY BOX SET (Masters of Cinema) (BLU-RAY) (Blu-ray)
Beautiful box set with lovely booklet. None of the discs played on the two blu ray players we have at home - not acceptable. A shame as I love Mizoguchi's films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Late Mizoguchi LTD EDITION BLU-RAY BOX SET (Masters of Cinema) (BLU-RAY)
Used & New from: £120.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews