Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good and valuable item
Accurate description and helped me to to have signals in all corners of my house.
Good competitive price as well.
Published 12 months ago by Abdool Carrim

versus
32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good design but unreliable/unstable wifi coverage
I have set up this wifi extender at home to reach the outer most edges of the house. While the design looks great, it doesn't perform well.

I have tried:
(1) Pairing it up with Virgin Media Superhub.
(2) Pairing it up with Linksys Router.

I also used various devices to connect to it and tested it out. I have used
(1) Android phone...
Published 17 months ago by Hwasung Lee


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good design but unreliable/unstable wifi coverage, 8 Feb 2013
By 
Hwasung Lee (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I have set up this wifi extender at home to reach the outer most edges of the house. While the design looks great, it doesn't perform well.

I have tried:
(1) Pairing it up with Virgin Media Superhub.
(2) Pairing it up with Linksys Router.

I also used various devices to connect to it and tested it out. I have used
(1) Android phone
(2) Windows Phone 8
(3) BlackBerry PlayBook tablet
(4) HP laptop running Ubuntu/Windows 7
(5) MacBook Air running MacOS X
(6) Fujitsu laptop running Ubuntu/Windows 7

But the connection is patchy at the best. I have thoroughly tested this extender, and I would like to strongly discourage you from buying this product. (And yes, you guessed right I work in IT.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wi-fi Range Extender, 8 July 2013
By 
C. Brooks (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you have a dead spot in your home then this is the tool to resolve it. Simple plug in the extender at the limit of your wifi signal, then search for the Belkin device on your computer and select it. You will see your network / wifi and again select it, then just follow the on line instructions and enter your network key. There you have it, dead spot no more. The only slight thing is that it was advertised with a 3 pin plug fused to the device but it came with a 2 pin plug. However an adapter was supplied so not too bad. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good and valuable item, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Accurate description and helped me to to have signals in all corners of my house.
Good competitive price as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 29 Sep 2013
I have the Belkin N600 as the main router which works great.
My home office is around 15 meter away from the N600 and there are 4 walls between the two points.
I can use my laptop and iPad ok but only with a weak signal. Also wireless printing works most of the time.
e-mails a little less reliable.
Range extender arrived yesterday, 2 minutes to set up. found network and connected instantly.
I now have full signal strength through to the office. 24 hours so far.
Have not needed to reboot. Does every thing well. Watched a streamed movie without a glitch.
I should have bought this months ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute doddle to set up and use, 20 Oct 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have had range extenders before now and none of them has been easy to set up the moment I tried to use encryption or to allow network resources to be seen across the whole extended network.

This Belkin is different.

To set up, just plug in and search for the Belkin network. Now connect to it. Now try to browse to any page and the Belkin set-up page appears. Apart from putting in the security code, I used the default for absolutely everything else and, guess what, it worked immediately.

I've tried in a few sockets around the house before I have found the best place and, with the exception of the room where my router is, the Belkin provides more bars than the original router. A good strong signal anywhere.

So for ease of set-up and performance, I can't give this anything other than the full 5 stars.

Highly recommended.

PS - One final tip. The default name for the new wireless access point is the same as your original SSID, but with "_xt" as a suffix. If you edit the SSID to the same as your original router SSID (this is an obvious option as part of the set-up), then your laptop, tablet, 'phone, etc. will always automatically connect to the stronger access point without you having to select manually. (If this paragraph means nothing to you, you can safely ignore and go with the defaults all the way through and it will still work great).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent equipment, 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased the extender to fill in a coverage gap in our house, found the model very easy to set-up (I dint need a degree in Computer science) and it works very well.. Great service as always from Belkin, would recommend if you need to fill a WiFi gap in your home and connect to a TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy peasy!, 12 Jan 2013
By 
Stephen M. Smith (Haywards Heath, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This range extender is so easy to set up it took truly seconds. It replaced an older model from a different manufacturer which was forever needing re-booting and had a poor signal.

This baby has a strong signal and a good range...and it looks good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent extender for your network, 13 Nov 2012
By 
purpleheart (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This was perfect for a dead area in the house where the L shape meant that we couldn't access the network

Pros

* Set up was straightforward and took only minutes
* Neat design
* Plugging into the power socket means that the extender is not intrusive
* Successfully extends the network into the dead area and now into the garden so it will be possible to work in the garden in the summer
* 1 extra ethernet socket a the bottom (limited to wiFi speed) for wired connection
* Remembers setting if turned off or repositioned slightly
* Have not needed to reboot or any other maintenance since set up

Cons

Nothing to report on the product itself - it was somewhat over packaged

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does the job - at a price., 12 Aug 2012
By 
Book Critic (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Setting this repeater up is about as simple as it gets. The whole procedure is a Wizard based walk through which culminates in a secure and speedy connection to the router. After that simply move the repeater to a mid way point between the router and any dead spot or poor wifi reception area and that should be that. The Belkin Wireless Range Extender Dual Band then relays and extends the effective range of your router with minimal reduction in signal quality.

The unit is well constructed with sleek and modern good looks following the current vogue for piano black and will fit into any family home without looking too much like an office refugee.

Performance is good and after several days of testing it has not yet lost sync with the router. A feature often missing from cheaper range extenders but which can be found here are the four Ethernet ports on the rear of the unit. This allows non wifi equipped devices in remote parts of the house to connect to the router without long trailing cables or the need for individual network adaptors.

On the downside for a new and by no means cheap device there are a few features lacking. There are no USB ports so printers, scanners and other devices cannot be made available on the network. Also, there is no support for IPV6 networking, which will (one day) finally be the norm as will the new high speed 802.11ac wireless standard which again is lacking here.

This is a good and well specced device which does the job well although lacks a few features which may well mean it has to be replaced in a year or two.

The Good
Easy to follow wizard based setup
Looks good
Simultaneous Dual band at up to 300Mbps
4 Ethernet ports
WPS security support

The Bad
No IPV6
Lengthy startup time
No USB ports
No support for 802.11ac connections
Not cheap
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Frustrated, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belkin N600 Universal Dual Band Wi-Fi Range Extender/Wireless Signal Booster (Easy Setup, WPS Function, Ethernet Port) - Wall Plug Mounted (Accessory)
Belkin N600 Dual Band Wi-Fi Range Extender

I have a Belkin N150 router so I bought the Belkin repeater thinking they would work together and set up easily.
I followed the very brief set-up instructions for the Belkin repeater. Lost all connections to the web. Started the installation at 1 pm and finished at 10 pm.- during which time I had to reset the router many times, put back factory defaults then start over and over again.
The repeater worked ok eventually (but coverage was disappointing)for 48 hours. Then it simply died.
I have now had to use Google chrome browser because Internet Explorer 11 has been knackered by all this. Sometimes life just ain't worth living.
Now the good news! Amazon made it very easy to return the thing.
Tip! Keep the packaging for a week or so after delivery if you decide to buy it... and don't kick the cat if you have problems- it's not his fault.
Am now looking down the list of other makes-but they all look strangely familiar. Perhaps they're all made by the same bloke? I think I'll go for wires all over the house.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews