Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really not as bad as reviews say!
I purchased this in my local asda. Watched twice over the weekend with my partner. Very funny. Great cast. And has a sweet & endearing theme. Am glad tammy is slightly diff from melissas previous characters. Worth buying for fans of the cast.
Published 4 months ago by Mad4Movies

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT GONNA LET 'EM CATCH THE MIDNIGHT RIDER,
Melissa McCarthy revives her over-the-top bossy fat chick role. This role worked extremely well in "The Heat" but fails to create chemistry in "Tammy." Melissa plays the victim. After hitting a deer, wreaking her car, losing her job, and leaving her cheating husband she teams up with her drunken grandma (Susan Sarandon) for a road trip to Niagara Falls...
Published 9 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really not as bad as reviews say!, 7 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Tammy [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
I purchased this in my local asda. Watched twice over the weekend with my partner. Very funny. Great cast. And has a sweet & endearing theme. Am glad tammy is slightly diff from melissas previous characters. Worth buying for fans of the cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really good movie that i could watch over and over, 25 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Tammy [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
really good movie that i could watch over and over. Melissa McCarthy is great maybe some of the jokes lingered a bit but i can forgive that :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NOT GONNA LET 'EM CATCH THE MIDNIGHT RIDER,, 13 July 2014
This review is from: Tammy [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Melissa McCarthy revives her over-the-top bossy fat chick role. This role worked extremely well in "The Heat" but fails to create chemistry in "Tammy." Melissa plays the victim. After hitting a deer, wreaking her car, losing her job, and leaving her cheating husband she teams up with her drunken grandma (Susan Sarandon) for a road trip to Niagara Falls. They meet some guys along the way, share stories, and then the truth gets ugly creating a downer to a film already flailing, looking for direction.

You would be better off watching "The Heat" again. 3 stars is generous.

Parental Guide: F-bomb. Implied sex. No nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I think she's hilarious so enjoyed the film, 13 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tammy (Amazon Instant Video)
I rented this through my Amazon Prime account. If you're a fan of Melissa McCarthy it's her usual wacky style. I think she's hilarious so enjoyed the film. The other well known cast members played their parts well too, in particular Susan Sarandon who totally sends herself up playing Tammy's 'Gran' - she's brilliant. Worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Tammy [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Great movie sooo funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not brute humor but in fact a tragic comedy, 20 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Tammy [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
“Tammy” currently fails at both, audience and critics. This is probably caused by the marketing of the movie as a comedy, making most people expecting chavvy jokes due to the involvement of Melissa McCarthy. Okay, her character is kind of chavvy, yet sledgehammer jokes are the exception. “Tammy” is more of a sociocritical tragic comedy with many contemplative moments, wrapped up in a classic road-movie.

All of this does not go together so easily, making the plot bumpy now and then, still it is not a bad film. At its best moments, “Tammy” is really moving and sometimes also funny as hell, for example when it comes to robbing a diner, one famous scene from the trailer. The problem that this movie cannot seem to choose whether to be loud or silent makes it a bit weird and in some people’s eyes probably half-baked, but on the other hand it is true-to-life. It’s touching to join these quite wacky girls – Tammy and her grand-ma played by the marvellous Susan Sarandon – on their journey to fight loneliness and despair.

In this understanding, it is a well-made film with some weaknesses, which will probably charm you if you like the concept. It suffers most from the fact that a lot of people – mislead by the trailer and the name of McCarthy – were expecting a different concept.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 19 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tammy (Amazon Instant Video)
Terrible film. Poor story, cheesy and only one funny bit springs to mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't., 26 Oct. 2014
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Tammy [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
What an awful choice of movie for Melissa McCarthy, Susan Sarandon et al. I seriously cannot contemplate why would quite successful Hollywood actors star in this unimaginative and clichéd film. “Tammy” incorporates the disgusting principle: it wants you to laugh and cheer at a fat loser and celebrate scenes from which most of the people would turn away in pain.

If you are looking for good-hearted fun, a thoughtful script, and somewhat engaging characters, “Tammy” is not it.

Watching this film was quite a humiliating experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars not that good or funny, 6 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tammy [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
This film wasn't that great at all really! Such a shame as I thought Melissa McCarthy was great in the heat and identity thief. This film was a bit nothingness, the character Tammy was very irritating and annoying, not funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Meh!, 22 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tammy (Blu-ray)
Suprised at the 4 and 5 stars for this film, and I'm a Melissa fan! It started off funny, but it ended there for me. The trailer was definetly one of those that picked all the good bits. Ok, but disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tammy [DVD] [2014]
Tammy [DVD] [2014] by Ben Falcone (DVD - 2014)
£4.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews