Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars So long Kenny, thanks for the trip
So these episodes are the final eight chapters of the Kenny Powers story. Those that have watched the previous seasons will know exactly what they're getting into and it's very much more of the same from Danny McBride, Jody Hill and the rest of the crew.

Eastbound and Down has always been a show that cuts close to the bone and this season is no different, in...
Published 1 month ago by Richard Morton

versus
6 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible way to go out - what a shame
Eastbound has probably been my favourite comedy of the past few years (along with anything Alan Partridge) - I love Kenny Powers' delusions about himself and the beautiful American vulgarity in this show. Kenny is up there with Fawlty, Partridge, Brent etc in terms of a nightmarish character and I have rewatched the first 3 seasons loads of times because there are so many...
Published 4 months ago by Stephen Crawford


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars So long Kenny, thanks for the trip, 18 Aug 2014
By 
Richard Morton (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eastbound and Down - Season 4 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
So these episodes are the final eight chapters of the Kenny Powers story. Those that have watched the previous seasons will know exactly what they're getting into and it's very much more of the same from Danny McBride, Jody Hill and the rest of the crew.

Eastbound and Down has always been a show that cuts close to the bone and this season is no different, in fact it may push a little further. It may be my selective memory but the language feels even cruder, the situations more absurd and Kenny is even more of a tool than usual (most of the time). Not that that's necessarily the worst thing in the world of course.

There's almost no baseball this year as things skip forward a few years and we find Kenny settled down with April as a loving family man. Then a TV career comes calling and it's a speedy descent into depravity from there in the way that only Kenny Powers can do. Kenny's life falls apart but can he still find redemption? Most of the series regulars are present and correct along with Ken Marino joining the roster and a few amusing cameos in the fun final episode.

I found a few less belly laughs this season and a few more open mouthed, cringetastic moments. The last couple of episodes are real standouts though and provide fitting closure for this character and co-horts, particularly the final montage of the final episode. Overall, I felt this season didn't provide quite the consistent highspots of some previous efforts but there's still more than enough to enjoy for fans of the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Prompt delivery, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eastbound and Down - Season 4 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Very happy with the delivery service.
Brilliant and funny season 4, kenny powers is loveable as ever despite being such an idiot. Very very funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kenny At His Best, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this, didn't disappoint at all, recommended to all over 18's, managed to watch the whole series in 1 day
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it., 10 Jun 2014
By 
C. Reilly (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As strong as the last seasons. The end of Eastbound And Down was awesome. Danny McBride kills it as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Non PC hillarious, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As good as season one.
Eastbound and Down is the only TV series that I have watched more than once and they are better the second ot third time around, love it. Outtakes really funny too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning ending, 17 Jun 2014
By 
K Thomson "K Thomson" (Brading, Isle Of Wight) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Eastbound and Down - Season 4 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Possibly the best series of the show since its first, Eastbound and Down goes out in stunning form. The man they tried to kill, but couldn't, this finale cements Kenny Power's place in history as one of the finest characters ever written for a US comedy show. Whilst the show can dip into a more dramatic tone, the dark humour behind every single quip keeps the show flowing, and in this final series we see Kenny go into TV work: a massive arena for embarrassment.

Funny, exciting, rude, and with possibly the most bonkers ending to a series I've ever seen, Eastbound and Down will go down in history as one of the finest TV shows that just didn't get the exposure it deserved in the UK. Long may it live as a cult series. A must buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome finale, 2 Aug 2014
This review is from: Eastbound and Down - Season 4 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Awesome finale to an awesome series. The end. Y'all can smoke my fat nuts if you is in disagreement! Peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Aug 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eastbound and Down - Season 4 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Super last season, seriously hilarious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eastbound and Down - Season 4 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Ledge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible way to go out - what a shame, 5 May 2014
By 
Stephen Crawford "stephen_crawford1978" (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eastbound and Down - Season 4 [DVD] [2014] (DVD)
Eastbound has probably been my favourite comedy of the past few years (along with anything Alan Partridge) - I love Kenny Powers' delusions about himself and the beautiful American vulgarity in this show. Kenny is up there with Fawlty, Partridge, Brent etc in terms of a nightmarish character and I have rewatched the first 3 seasons loads of times because there are so many jokes and quips that you can miss on a single viewing. I couldn't understand why they did a fourth season given that they had wrapped it up so well at the end of season 3. This feels so tacked on and underwritten. I don't recall laughing much at anything in this season and by the end of it Kenny and Stevie were just annoying, stupid jerks without any redeeming features. I am so glad I bought the box set of the first three seasons so I can act like this abomination never happened (kind of like the last series of The Thick Of It!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eastbound and Down - Season 4 [DVD] [2014]
Eastbound and Down - Season 4 [DVD] [2014] by Danny McBride (DVD - 2014)
£14.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews