Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (80)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works well. Need some s/w configuration
This was bought for a Raspberry Pi. Driver-wise it worked out of the box.

There are huge delays when using this dongle. That's because of power saving that's enabled by default. To fix that you'll have to run: iwconfig wlan0 power off

This can be added in /etc/network/interfaces as: wireless-power off

After that it works like a charm.
Published 8 months ago by V13

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very limited usefulness.
Have to agree with others here. It gets HOT when plugged directly in to the R-Pi. The plastic cover comes off easily. The range is very poor, can't be specific but less than 10 metres. Some have mentioned using a powered USB hub to address heat issues, but it won't help the range. My advice is don't bother with this unless you are in the same room as your access point -...
Published 5 months ago by Johnny


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works well. Need some s/w configuration, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB Wifi Adapter for the Raspberry Pi - By New IT
This was bought for a Raspberry Pi. Driver-wise it worked out of the box.

There are huge delays when using this dongle. That's because of power saving that's enabled by default. To fix that you'll have to run: iwconfig wlan0 power off

This can be added in /etc/network/interfaces as: wireless-power off

After that it works like a charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Got this with my PI. It works well at ..., 21 Sep 2014
This review is from: USB Wifi Adapter for the Raspberry Pi - By New IT
Got this with my PI. It works well at close distances, however if you want to make sure you don't run into problems. Here's two things to do to solve wifi drop outs and timeouts:

First:
go to /etc/network/interfaces
add to the bottom

wireless-power off

This disables wifi power management, I found without this the wifi is much slower due to power saving.

And also do this:

Go to /etc/ifplugd/action.d/ and rename the ifupdown file to ifupdown.original
Then do: cp /etc/wpa_supplicant/ifupdown.sh ./ifupdown
Finally: sudo reboot

Now it works perfectly without any dropouts or timeouts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very limited usefulness., 19 July 2014
This review is from: USB Wifi Adapter for the Raspberry Pi - By New IT
Have to agree with others here. It gets HOT when plugged directly in to the R-Pi. The plastic cover comes off easily. The range is very poor, can't be specific but less than 10 metres. Some have mentioned using a powered USB hub to address heat issues, but it won't help the range. My advice is don't bother with this unless you are in the same room as your access point - use powerline adapters if you can, and connect via Ethernet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worked straight away, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB Wifi Adapter for the Raspberry Pi - By New IT
As other reviewers have said, this worked straight out of the box, no problems whatsoever. If you use Raspbian, as I do, you need to click the 'Wi-Fi' icon set it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very short range, 20 July 2014
By 
A. Hutchison - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB Wifi Adapter for the Raspberry Pi - By New IT
This is a tiny tiny piece of junk. It has a range of about 4 metres with clear line of sight, and it got wedged in the USB port. Pulling it caused the plastic cap came off revealing the electronics inside. Not recommended - at these distances it's much better to use a cable instead if you have the option.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works perfectly with R-Pi, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB Wifi Adapter for the Raspberry Pi - By New IT
This worked plug and play with my Raspberry Pi. It is now connecting my weather station to the internet, very stable only one connection problem and that was probably due to my router taking longer to recover from a power outage than this little baby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good product, 15 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB Wifi Adapter for the Raspberry Pi - By New IT
Unit is excellent for short range use in normal home. A bit lacking in output power for slightly longer range
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only worked for me for a few hours, 18 Jun 2014
This review is from: USB Wifi Adapter for the Raspberry Pi - By New IT
Was originally very pleased with this. was a straight plug and play, no configuration it picked up wireless network with no issue and connected ok.

Few hours later it played hell with my raspberry pi's network configuration. no longer picked up ANY networks at all.

I know usb dongles can get very warm when in use but when i pulled this one out it was roasting, extremely warm and actually hurt to hold.

looks like it massively overheated and damaged itself in a few hours. (this also affected my pi's static IP configuration. i could not get my old static IP to work after this even via a wired connection.

was very disappointed because it was working so well originally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Works fine on a Windows 8, 19 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB Wifi Adapter for the Raspberry Pi - By New IT
Doesn't work for me with latest Rasplex on B+ Pi
Apparently this is due to power management, which cannot be disabled on Rasplex.
Causes huge stuttering of video.

Also gets very hot in use in the Pi.

Works fine on a Windows 8.1 PC, but that's not the point really, as it's sold as specifically suited for Raspberry Pi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Handy little thing, 3 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB Wifi Adapter for the Raspberry Pi - By New IT
Seems fine on a Raspberry Pi B+.

Some configuration necessary before it can function but pretty straightforward.

It operates well outdoors to send wireless signal into the house router. The adapter is inside a car and transmits about 40ft through the car bulkhead and over the garden and into the house. The two way communication with the Raspberry Pi seems fine when working with terminal or any other python script I'm working with. I've not tried streaming media with it.

I also don't know (nor care) about build quality or in fact if it may last me more than a month as this dongle was bought for short-term tests. However, it runs warm but not hot. I also can see it falling to pieces if handled poorly but so would anything by anyone with ham fists!

Anyway, good for the price and helps me gain telemetry from my car outside whilst I'm warm at my desk in my study and free's me up from yards of clumsy wired Ethernet connection.

M.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews