Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works well. Need some s/w configuration
This was bought for a Raspberry Pi. Driver-wise it worked out of the box.

There are huge delays when using this dongle. That's because of power saving that's enabled by default. To fix that you'll have to run: iwconfig wlan0 power off

This can be added in /etc/network/interfaces as: wireless-power off

After that it works like a charm.
Published 14 months ago by V13

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just works but don't expect fast transfer rates...
Does the job, works with PI 2 although despite what previous comments say. I used it with Openelec and OSMC Kodi releases.
Tried to watch a full hd blu-ray quality movie streamed from my NAS and could not get to work properly, utterly stuttering. Transfer rate is really, really slow with that device. With the edimax device i had before i could stream a HD movie with...
Published 3 months ago by jean-marc


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works well. Need some s/w configuration, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB Wifi Adapter for the Raspberry Pi - By New IT
This was bought for a Raspberry Pi. Driver-wise it worked out of the box.

There are huge delays when using this dongle. That's because of power saving that's enabled by default. To fix that you'll have to run: iwconfig wlan0 power off

This can be added in /etc/network/interfaces as: wireless-power off

After that it works like a charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Got this with my PI. It works well at ..., 21 Sept. 2014
This review is from: USB Wifi Adapter for the Raspberry Pi - By New IT
Got this with my PI. It works well at close distances, however if you want to make sure you don't run into problems. Here's two things to do to solve wifi drop outs and timeouts:

First:
go to /etc/network/interfaces
add to the bottom

wireless-power off

This disables wifi power management, I found without this the wifi is much slower due to power saving.

And also do this:

Go to /etc/ifplugd/action.d/ and rename the ifupdown file to ifupdown.original
Then do: cp /etc/wpa_supplicant/ifupdown.sh ./ifupdown
Finally: sudo reboot

Now it works perfectly without any dropouts or timeouts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raspberry Pi Wifi Adapter, 27 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB Wifi Adapter for the Raspberry Pi - By New IT
Works as expected in my Raspberry Pi 2 on the 2.4GHz band, works without drivers on raspbian, but it isn't dual band so it doesn't detect my 5GHz network. Range is good, the only issues I had were when the pi was undervolted (rainbow square in top right of display)- connection kept dropping out but that's hardly the fault of the component. New power supply sorted that out and have had no issues since. Ultra low profile, sticks out a little but that's so if you have a case it won't interfere with the fit. Overall very happy with it for a fiver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Just works but don't expect fast transfer rates..., 21 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB Wifi Adapter for the Raspberry Pi - By New IT
Does the job, works with PI 2 although despite what previous comments say. I used it with Openelec and OSMC Kodi releases.
Tried to watch a full hd blu-ray quality movie streamed from my NAS and could not get to work properly, utterly stuttering. Transfer rate is really, really slow with that device. With the edimax device i had before i could stream a HD movie with no trouble.

Lost hours trying to understand where the stuttering came from...Buy cheap, Buy twice...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This item barely showed sign of life. Alternative branded ..., 3 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB Wifi Adapter for the Raspberry Pi - By New IT
This item barely showed sign of life. Alternative branded adapter communicated strongly. In addition this item was a very tight fit and needed some determination and care to remove it from a Raspberry pi A. Be aware that purchasers are obliged to pay for return of this item to New IT and refund of return cost is at their discretion. I got no refund of cost of return and am therefore out of pocket for an item that was not fit for purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good product, 15 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB Wifi Adapter for the Raspberry Pi - By New IT
Unit is excellent for short range use in normal home. A bit lacking in output power for slightly longer range
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works well, 7 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB Wifi Adapter for the Raspberry Pi - By New IT
It worked for me after some fiddling. Here is my working config (replace WirelessName and WirelessPassword by your setup SSID and wireless password. wireless-power off turns off power management which improves stability and performance) -

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback
iface eth0 inet dhcp
auto wlan0
allow-hotplug wlan0
iface wlan0 inet dhcp
wpa-ssid "WirelessName"
wpa-psk "WirelessPassword"
wireless-power off
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not for Raspberry Pi, 28 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB Wifi Adapter for the Raspberry Pi - By New IT
I wasted more than an hour trying to get this to work but it would not connect my raspberry pi to the wifi. Replaced it by an edimax unit which connected immediately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I bought this as a stopgap method to connect a PC in another room to my WiFi network but it's actually good enough to become an, 23 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: USB Wifi Adapter for the Raspberry Pi - By New IT
I'm very impressed! I bought this as a stopgap method to connect a PC in another room to my WiFi network but it's actually good enough to become an indefinite connection. It's small enough to fit in a rear USB port, without obstructing other ports or connections and I'm getting an 80%+ connection from a router situated two rooms away. Setup in Windows 7 was simple enough by using the accompanying driver disk
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only worked for me for a few hours, 18 Jun. 2014
This review is from: USB Wifi Adapter for the Raspberry Pi - By New IT
Was originally very pleased with this. was a straight plug and play, no configuration it picked up wireless network with no issue and connected ok.

Few hours later it played hell with my raspberry pi's network configuration. no longer picked up ANY networks at all.

I know usb dongles can get very warm when in use but when i pulled this one out it was roasting, extremely warm and actually hurt to hold.

looks like it massively overheated and damaged itself in a few hours. (this also affected my pi's static IP configuration. i could not get my old static IP to work after this even via a wired connection.

was very disappointed because it was working so well originally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews