Customer Reviews


215 Reviews
5 star:
 (142)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Planes
Planes. Wanted for grandson as he is fascinated by aircraft .He is only 2year and 8months and we could not find this film anywhere.So very pleased when it arrived in 24hours.
Published 1 month ago by Mr Richard & Angie Needham

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Passable entertainment for the kids, but could have been far better
Planes didn't sound amazing when I first heard of it (everyone suggested it was merely a clone of "Cars") and they were pretty close to the mark. Problem was Cars wasn't bad, but it was far from the best Pixar had offered up animation wise (in fact most feel it's one of their weaker products esp with Toy Story standing out as one of their best)

Despite the fact...
Published 10 days ago by Mr Baz


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Passable entertainment for the kids, but could have been far better, 18 July 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Planes [DVD] (DVD)
Planes didn't sound amazing when I first heard of it (everyone suggested it was merely a clone of "Cars") and they were pretty close to the mark. Problem was Cars wasn't bad, but it was far from the best Pixar had offered up animation wise (in fact most feel it's one of their weaker products esp with Toy Story standing out as one of their best)

Despite the fact Pixar is now owned by Disney, this production is made by "DisneyToon Studios" which is a different group of people.
Story wise it's very predictable (and honestly not as good as Cars) it just feels like a lower level re-run of that production. The animation is reasonably decent, though it doesn't have the polish and shine one would expect from a Pixar production. Honestly the humour and fun isn't really here either (it's not really funny, bar a few moments)

Cast wise, a bit of a mixed bag I'm not crazy about Dane Cook (Dusty Crophopper) though there are a few well known people such as Teri Hatcher (Dottie), Val Kilmer (Bravo) but Danny Mann (Sparky) is an experienced voice over actor and he's done voices for many animations. Not quite the top tier voice acting I'd have hoped for, and it's hard to attach to many of the characters in the film (not really much variation in appearance unlike Cars) The biggest issue is you've just seen it all before, and in stronger films so this will probably not go down well with adult film viewers (I got bored quite quickly)

It's an ok way to kill and hour and a half and kids aged 5-8 will probably like it. Older ones might find it a bit thin and nowhere near as funny as one would have hoped. My Son watched it and thought it was "ok" but no more than that. I'm going on his rating here hence the 3 stars. Worth a look if you are desperate for more animation films to add to your collection, but there are many more that should be far higher up your buy list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Copy of Cars with Planes but nowhere near as good..., 29 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very disappointed with this one. This film, in many ways, is a carbon-copy of 'Cars' in terms of plot and characters type. But lacking 90% if the the charm, depth, and humour. I feel the producers were simply wanting to cash-in on the success of Cars, but without having any substance or quality to offer. Surprised that this has such a high rating on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 3D??????????????????????????, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Why do walt disney bother with 3D?, don't get me wrong the 3D depth is good, but there is no 3D jumping out of your screen, you would think a film called planes would be a no brainer, but no its the same old rubbish, this is not the only walt disney film that does this. There are brief moments in films like tangled(lanterns floating), tron leagcy(clues face at the end) and the lion king,(leafs blowing) but this is not good enough for the price you have to pay, you are much better off with film's like despicable me, despicable me 2(bubbles popping) and sammys adventure. WOW the turtles are swimming in your liveing room and much cheaper than the over rated disney films. Please save your money and just buy the 2D version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Planes, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planes [DVD] (DVD)
Planes. Wanted for grandson as he is fascinated by aircraft .He is only 2year and 8months and we could not find this film anywhere.So very pleased when it arrived in 24hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab young childrens film, 8 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planes [DVD] (DVD)
I have been to see this 3 times at the cinema with my 5 yr old she loves it so much. She even did a very exciting "show and tell" on it the parents of her classmates tell me as they persuaded their parents take them. Not as many adult jokes as in some Disney films but enough. Bulldog saying "I don't cry I'm British" had everyone in the cinema laughing. She is desperately awaiting DVD release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its a kids film & guess what the kids loved it..., 20 Nov 2013
Yes this film is basically the same as cars but with planes... I don't think it would take a genius to work that out, but its a children's film and both of my sons aged 2 & 4 love it and will be receiving diecast planes for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 July 2014
By 
C. Barker "reflux" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Grandchildren loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planes [DVD] (DVD)
A1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planes [DVD] (DVD)
Great movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars slightly disappointed.., 11 July 2014
This review is from: Planes (Blu-ray)
Was expecting a little more with how well Disney are doing.....slightly disappointed....however my son enjoyed this....which to be fair to him is the target audience...so he would throughly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Planes [DVD]
Planes [DVD] by Dane Cook (DVD - 2013)
7.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews