Customer Reviews


379 Reviews
5 star:
 (268)
4 star:
 (53)
3 star:
 (32)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment for the whole family
Great entertainment for the whole family, an inspirational, and gripping underdog story. I kids watched this in the cinema and want to watch part of it every night since we got it. The animation in great, the story really makes this special.

Dusty Crophopper has high hopes of being a professional racer. Only two problems, one he is a crop duster, and two he is...
Published 17 days ago by K. G. A. Alavi

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Passable viewing for the kids, but not nearly as good as it could have been
Planes didn't sound amazing when I first heard of it (everyone suggested it was merely a clone of "Cars") and they were pretty close to the mark. Problem was Cars wasn't bad, but it was far from the best Pixar had offered up animation wise (in fact most feel it's one of their weaker products esp with Toy Story standing out as one of their best)

Despite...
Published 7 months ago by Mr Baz


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Passable viewing for the kids, but not nearly as good as it could have been, 18 July 2014
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Planes [DVD] (DVD)
Planes didn't sound amazing when I first heard of it (everyone suggested it was merely a clone of "Cars") and they were pretty close to the mark. Problem was Cars wasn't bad, but it was far from the best Pixar had offered up animation wise (in fact most feel it's one of their weaker products esp with Toy Story standing out as one of their best)

Despite the fact Pixar is now owned by Disney, this production is made by "DisneyToon Studios" which is a different group of people.
Story wise it's very predictable (and honestly not as good as Cars) it just feels like a lower level re-run of that production. The animation is reasonably decent, though it doesn't have the polish and shine one would expect from a Pixar production. Honestly the humour and fun isn't really here either (it's not really funny, bar a few moments)

Cast wise, a bit of a mixed bag I'm not crazy about Dane Cook (Dusty Crophopper) though there are a few well known people such as Teri Hatcher (Dottie), Val Kilmer (Bravo) but Danny Mann (Sparky) is an experienced voice over actor and he's done voices for many animations. Not quite the top tier voice acting I'd have hoped for, and it's hard to attach to many of the characters in the film (not really much variation in appearance unlike Cars) The biggest issue is you've just seen it all before, and in stronger films so this will probably not go down well with adult film viewers (I got bored quite quickly)

It's an ok way to kill and hour and a half and kids aged 5-8 will probably like it. Older ones might find it a bit thin and nowhere near as funny as one would have hoped. My Son watched it and thought it was "ok" but no more than that. I'm going on his rating here hence the 3 stars. Worth a look if you are desperate for more animation films to add to your collection, but there are many more that should be far higher up your buy list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment for the whole family, 17 Feb. 2015
By 
This review is from: Planes [DVD] (DVD)
Great entertainment for the whole family, an inspirational, and gripping underdog story. I kids watched this in the cinema and want to watch part of it every night since we got it. The animation in great, the story really makes this special.

Dusty Crophopper has high hopes of being a professional racer. Only two problems, one he is a crop duster, and two he is scared of heights. However on the plus side he is all heart and with the right trainer he might just shock the world.

Great family time movie. The only problem we have with this movie is while my kids are watching this they are so glued to the screen the forget about anything else like eating while they are watching it. To be watched over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad not great, 4 Mar. 2015
By 
T. Cosens (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Planes is a mildly entertaining adventure set within the world of Cars. It is a curious venture for Pixar, firstly to make something dominantly based for the straight to DVD market and secondly to make something that doesn't carry the same humour as most of its other output or the depth in characters.
It may be because the whole concept of Cars was a difficult one to sell to adults. The characters were never as cute and cuddly as the likes of Toy Story or Bugs Life etc but the appeal to kids is plain to see. Shiny bright cars with big smily faces zooming all over the place is a captivating idea of anyone smaller than your kneecap. However it doesn't quite feel like it transfers as well to Planes.

The characters themselves are lazily drawn. They same old cliches are trotted out and this is basically a re-run of Cars' storyline just set within the world of flying rather than driving. Even the lead character Rusty sounds similar to Lightening and is certainly not as likeable. However for all the flaws this film has there are some positives which help keep this a little entertaining.

The flying sequences are superbly animated and just about thrilling enough for you to wish for more. The animation throughout is typically top notch and the running time is perfectly comfortable for the small attention spans watching.

In the great scheme of things Cars was never Pixars crowning jewel although a superior sequel went some way to address the originals flaws, so maybe Planes 2 can do the same. From an adults point of view the film felt a little cynical, but I can already hear an outcry of outrage from the under 8 community!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Film for kids and for those who are young at heart., 17 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planes [DVD] (DVD)
After seeing Cars, I wasn't sure who this film was going pan out. I know this film and also Cars had some bad reviews when released in cinema's. Now I liked Cars, and this film........ I was not disappointed. At some point I completely forgot they were planes, but characters. The story is a bit slow at first, but then it gets interesting. Some nail biting moments, and, at one point, I was rooting for the underdog, " that's Dusty Crophopper by the way." A good film for kids, and for people who are still young at heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fab young childrens film, 8 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planes [DVD] (DVD)
I have been to see this 3 times at the cinema with my 5 yr old she loves it so much. She even did a very exciting "show and tell" on it the parents of her classmates tell me as they persuaded their parents take them. Not as many adult jokes as in some Disney films but enough. Bulldog saying "I don't cry I'm British" had everyone in the cinema laughing. She is desperately awaiting DVD release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its a kids film & guess what the kids loved it..., 20 Nov. 2013
Yes this film is basically the same as cars but with planes... I don't think it would take a genius to work that out, but its a children's film and both of my sons aged 2 & 4 love it and will be receiving diecast planes for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another great movie from Disney that sky rockets., 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planes [DVD] (DVD)
If you like disney's cars or cars 2 or simply like cartoon airplanes, this one is for you. I wondered if Disney were going to make a film about planes but this one has succeeded beyond my expectations. There are also some good voices from familiar actors in this one, including two from the classical 1980s film Top Gun. I was absolutely surprised and delighted that they decided to provide their voices in this animated movie. There is also
some laughter as well, which is typical for all Disney animated film and that is why I liked them so much especially this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what's not to like I mean pixar are doing a good job with ..., 27 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Planes [DVD] (DVD)
what's not to like I mean pixar are doing a good job with there 3d animated movies and since I'm a fish in water when it comes to looking at how they make the movies and also watch it for what it is I can only say that it is a good created movie and :-) if your crazy about the cars movies and other pixar movies it's worth a peek :-) and yeah yeah yeah I know it's Disney who owns Pixar but what can I say I still look at Pixar as one stand alone company from when they were a company by themself :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fills 90 minutes, 1 Feb. 2015
This review is from: Planes (DVD)
A cliched copy of "Cars" - there are lots of amusing (not funny) side jokes and visual goodies but so predictable (but most films are anyway) as to lessen the enjoyment, but it fills 90 minutes or so.
Good production and animation though and does it really matter who does the voices? Why use well-known actors/actresses when there must be talented easy-listening voice-over people available? A minor gripe I know but that seems to be the theme of other reviewers here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 July 2014
By 
C. Barker "reflux" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Grandchildren loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Planes [DVD]
Planes [DVD] by Dane Cook (DVD - 2013)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews