Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Princess Light
I'm a huge fan of the Philips rechargeable non-dangerous candle lights so was delighted when I saw this children's Disney candlelight available. Unfortunately you cannot charge it on the Philips charger but it does come with its own charging cable via computer USB. Really quick to charge with a long use between charges. It's made from a durable plastic that resembles...
Published 8 months ago by SlayerKat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice, as long as you don't mind it randomly turning itself on
This is a really nice idea for a light - it looks like a candle but is completely safe for children, so it can be used as a gentle nightlight for them, or just a way for them to enjoy candlelight in their rooms.

It's a plasticky-looking little tube with a sweet drawing of Snow White on one side. It looks a little cheap, but then it is cheap, so that's to be...
Published 7 months ago by Miss


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars 6 year old thought it was fab!, 27 Feb 2014
By 
Charliecat (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Philips Disney Snow White Children's Candle Set - 4 x 0.06 W LED Candles (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I gave this to my 6 year old niece just after Christmas and she thought it was the best thing ever!
It's basically a small plastic cup with a tiny Led light in the base. It comes with a charge lead so it can be plugged into a computer and charged to keep it going. To turn it on you just turn it on its side and back up again or you can shake it like my niece did and that seems to work just as well. I'm not sure how long it will last because it feels fairly flimsy but it makes a sweet nightlight and without too much rough treatment should last a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I Like it, 8 Feb 2014
By 
This review is from: Philips Disney Snow White Children's Candle Set - 4 x 0.06 W LED Candles (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is good and easy to use. It charged via the USB port on my computer and lasted the night (it didn't say how long to charge it for so I charged it for about 2-3 hours and that seemed to do the trick) I really like the way it flickers like a candle and gave off a faint glow - not too bright but enough to give a small amount of light to a room. It would be great for a children's bedroom. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice, as long as you don't mind it randomly turning itself on, 23 Jan 2014
By 
Miss "crazyminx" (Coventry) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Philips Disney Snow White Children's Candle Set - 4 x 0.06 W LED Candles (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a really nice idea for a light - it looks like a candle but is completely safe for children, so it can be used as a gentle nightlight for them, or just a way for them to enjoy candlelight in their rooms.

It's a plasticky-looking little tube with a sweet drawing of Snow White on one side. It looks a little cheap, but then it is cheap, so that's to be expected! To turn it on or off you just tilt it (quite a long way) to the side. When on, it gives a soft yellow light that flickers slightly like a candle flame would. It's not enough light to illuminate a room or to read by, but the benefit of that is that it's not bright enough to stop a child from sleeping whilst it's on, and it provides a nice atmosphere.

If you use this as a nightlight it will need to be charged every day, which you can do with the USB cord via a computer, laptop or USB plug. There's no indication that the candle has finished charging, which is a bit of an oversight, especially as the leaflet recommends a ten-hour charge which is quite a lot to be doing every day! Presumably it doesn't always take this long to fully charge, but there's no way to know. I also found that the light kept turning itself on during charging, despite not being touched or tilted, which was a bit annoying. It also occasionally turned itself on when not being charged!

This is a sweet product but I think it could be improved by sorting out the charging issues and making it less likely to randomly switch on. It does make a nice, good value gift for a little girl though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Princess Light, 12 Jan 2014
By 
SlayerKat "Desperate Housewife" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Philips Disney Snow White Children's Candle Set - 4 x 0.06 W LED Candles (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I'm a huge fan of the Philips rechargeable non-dangerous candle lights so was delighted when I saw this children's Disney candlelight available. Unfortunately you cannot charge it on the Philips charger but it does come with its own charging cable via computer USB. Really quick to charge with a long use between charges. It's made from a durable plastic that resembles glass and gives the usual flickery of a real candle with the danger of a naked flame. You turn it on and off in the same way as the Philips Candlelights by tilting the cup up and down. My 8 year old daughter was thrilled with this and it also came in very handy when we had a powercut during the storms recently. I would like to get some more to make up a set. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kids love it, 12 Jan 2014
By 
A. Skudder (Crawley, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philips Disney Snow White Children's Candle Set - 4 x 0.06 W LED Candles (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is really a sort of electric candle for kids who don't like to sleep in absolute darkness. It doesn't give off enough light to read or do anything much, but just to give some comfort. I was pleasantly surprised to find that it does actually behave like a candle, flickering slightly and getting slightly brighter and dimmer rather than giving out a constant level of light.

We keep this for when our granddaughter stays over and she loves it, although she hasn't quite got the hang of just tipping it down and back to turn it on or off: she prefers to shake it vigorously for a few seconds instead, but so far it has coped well with such violent treatment.

What you have here is all the benefits of having a candle or tea light but without any of the fire risks. My only real complaint is that the USB charging cable connects to the light using a round pin and not a micro USB or mini USB socket, so if anything happened to the cable you couldn't use any other standard USB cable you might have hanging around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap plastic nightlight, 28 Dec 2013
By 
Rosey Lea (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Philips Disney Snow White Children's Candle Set - 4 x 0.06 W LED Candles (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a very cheap plastic nightlight with a thin transfer picture of a heavily made-up Snow White and surroundings wrapped around it (the transfer on mine includes some immovable black dusty bits and a green stain). It's the kind of thing you pick up for a 1 on a market stall.

The light itself is very weak, it's just a feint glow in a dark room and not enough to even tuck the bed in by. The light can only be charged by USB, the connector lead is supplied. The tilt to turn on works well enough, the tilt to turn off is a bit more unreliable and you have to twist your wrist 180 degrees.

It'll do, but at 6 (price today on Amazon) it's hideously overpriced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely to Look at, Safe too., 22 Dec 2013
By 
A. Roberton "Alan Roberton" (Hinckley, Leicestershire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philips Disney Snow White Children's Candle Set - 4 x 0.06 W LED Candles (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
What a lovely night light this is. It is run by rechargeable batteries and needs only the supplied cable and a USB connection. You can use the USB slot on a computer or even, like me, using one of those plugs that fits in the wall socket and has a USB connection on it.

Once charged the light will last all night, perfect for little ones. To turn the light on all you have to do is to tilt the glass to one side and hey presto, the light goes on - you switch it off the same way.

On the negative side, there is no way to discover if the candle is fully charged - perhaps some sort of red/green light could have helped, but this is just me being picky and not worth taking any stars from this useful and safe nightlight.

Kids will love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Small but good, 21 Dec 2013
By 
A. Williams "Barry Fan" (Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Philips Disney Snow White Children's Candle Set - 4 x 0.06 W LED Candles (Kitchen & Home)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a small neat little candle light made of plastic. Ideal for babies and very young children. I am using it as a little night light, the 1 watt is enough to bring just enough light into a room to see the child without disturbing them. You don't want bright lights in the room. This is quite substantial for a little light, very small but for 6 what do you expect. Comes with the cord and instructions. There is a nice little picture of Snow white on a yellow background. Nice little light, am using at present as dark outside and gives enough light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews